We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bed bugs beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times in the past. Usually an ok room with a great location for a good cost. Used to be much cleaner than in past years, this time there were no towels, stained sheets and we actually got bed bugs while staying here. They still have not refunded our stay even after we left early due to the horrific situation. Beware! I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We apologize to you and your friends for not meeting your expectations this time. We understand there are specific things we have to take care of and we are working on that.
At the Ocean Reef Suites we make our best to give our customers high quality services, we believe that our guest are the reason why we are here and for them we work hard every day trying to improve what they tell us is not good. We brought an exterminator after your claims and he gave us a certificate of inspection stating that everything was disinfected and no bedbugs were found in the hotel.
You used a third party to book our hotel and we reimbursed them for your whole stay after you stated in a letter that you were just not happy here and preferred to go and stay someplace else. We talked over the phone with the company when you were present; we believe that your complaint about the refund should be redirected to this company.
We hope we can serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    153
    83
    33
    16
See reviews for
71
140
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was in the Ocean Reef hotel from May 7 to 15, 7 nights and they had me to pay 100$+tax in case of breaking furniture or else and we are on the May 31 and I have no refund of this money wich I should have back!
Please telle me about them! Will they refund me ?
I am expecting money and news from that
Thanks
best regards
Suzanne

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we just want to clarify that we did not charge $100 upon check in, that is only the incidentals deposit and it is not a charge, it was just an authorization. When you made the check out we cleared it out. Please let us know if the hold continues so we can contact your bank to release it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was expecting worse than what I got after reading some of the reviews. I was going for cheap, but great location and that is what I got. From the pictures, I feared the bed was a futon, but it wasn’t. Sadly, the design makes it easy to bang your shins. The room was big and had a kitchenette. The décor was good. Our bathroom was missing a window pane which meant we had to keep the bathroom door closed to keep the outside noise and heat out of the rest of the room. I expected to hear more noise in the middle of the night, but I think maybe we lucked out… Valet is $20 a night and we had no issues getting our car when we wanted it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is about 1 block from Miami Beach. The location is perfect. We were going on a cruise so used it as a stopover hotel to stay near the beach rather than out at the airport. It worked out great. It is not the cleanest or the fanciest place but we were more than happy with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you! We are happy you chose us as well and would love to see you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just checked out of Ocean Reef Suites and I must say that we will be staying every time we come back to South Beach. the location is great the rooms are ok but the bathroom need work. The staff is very friendly and work with you .. Making sure your stay is the best. The only bad thing about this hotel is that the parking is very expensive so on top of your total bill add another 40-80 only if you are staying for the weekend. I also would recommend them to upgrade the bathroom. This hotel give you that home feeling but also keep you around all the attractions to make you realize that you are on vacation. Ocean Reef me and the group from Cincinnati will be back. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: If you like space and are traveling with a group of friends pay the extra money and book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you!!! It makes our day when people refer to us as "home" cause that's how we want you to feel. Warmest regards. We will be happy to see you again. When you book again, please mention you are a return guest and we will give you a discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight and were more than happy with our choice. The staff were all very friendly and courteous and I asked to see a room before we booked in. Stayed in the main block off the reception area on the ground floor. The room looked great as the floor was done in laminate wood flooring (so it was all spotless and we had no worries about stains or beasties). Actually Everything was spotless and the accommodation was so central we didn't have to waste precious time getting to the main areas. We managed a walk along the beach, some shopping, and eating (of course). We felt safe and the staff locked our bags away after check out to let us have a final few hours in south beach. I would have no hesitation in recommending the suites based on our experience but with the understanding that you need to expect noise as folk come and go past the room during the night and early morning. The furniture is ikea and the sofa bed was just ok comfort wise. Overall a great base for a short trip. We decided to forego valet parking and park across the road in the car park which has security staff on for 24 hours. It was so convenient and we could check the car was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the review and detailing your experience so well. We are sure this review will help other travelers who might be looking to stay at our hotel. Just one comment: our rooms have carpeted floors. You got the one suite we keep for guests who might have allergies - which, by the way, is a very nice room! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We choose the hotel for location AND price...realizing that because of the location even a low priced hotel was expensive. The location is good...not on the beach but then we were not paying for that. Easy walking to all the near activity...and in a safe neighborhood.

Front lobby was very attractive. Staff was friendly upon arrival. No elevator. Hotel is long and narrow. Our room on the second floor rear had cement walls for a view in both directions. Room (Junior Suite) was spacious and attractive. Nice flat screen TV (did not turn it on to see if it worked!) Bed was comfortable and clean.

Entering the room...the carpet was very stained...and gave you the feeling of not so nice of a place. Bathroom was clean...NO HOT WATER! In the shower...when management was told they said there was nothing they could do. The room was on the second floor and too far away for hot water...did not seem like a good answer to us. Kitchen sink had hot water....

Management was uncooperative in helping or making us feel better about the situation. No offer to reduce the price of the room...offered to allow us to leave with no charge for the second night.

Parking in area was very expensive and difficult. Would be easier to be there without a car.

Room Tip: Junior suite on second floor does not have hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
You are definitely right, not having hot water is unacceptable. We are looking into this case and how it was handled. This is not how our staff is prepared to respond and we will have a talk about it with everyone involved. We invite you to join the conversation by sending us an email. We would like to make amends, if you give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.