We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is about 1 block from Miami Beach. The location is perfect. We were going on a cruise so used it as a stopover hotel to stay near the beach rather than out at the airport. It worked out great. It is not the cleanest or the fanciest place but we were more than happy with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you! We are happy you chose us as well and would love to see you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    160
    89
    34
    20
See reviews for
84
156
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just checked out of Ocean Reef Suites and I must say that we will be staying every time we come back to South Beach. the location is great the rooms are ok but the bathroom need work. The staff is very friendly and work with you .. Making sure your stay is the best. The only bad thing about this hotel is that the parking is very expensive so on top of your total bill add another 40-80 only if you are staying for the weekend. I also would recommend them to upgrade the bathroom. This hotel give you that home feeling but also keep you around all the attractions to make you realize that you are on vacation. Ocean Reef me and the group from Cincinnati will be back. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: If you like space and are traveling with a group of friends pay the extra money and book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you!!! It makes our day when people refer to us as "home" cause that's how we want you to feel. Warmest regards. We will be happy to see you again. When you book again, please mention you are a return guest and we will give you a discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight and were more than happy with our choice. The staff were all very friendly and courteous and I asked to see a room before we booked in. Stayed in the main block off the reception area on the ground floor. The room looked great as the floor was done in laminate wood flooring (so it was all spotless and we had no worries about stains or beasties). Actually Everything was spotless and the accommodation was so central we didn't have to waste precious time getting to the main areas. We managed a walk along the beach, some shopping, and eating (of course). We felt safe and the staff locked our bags away after check out to let us have a final few hours in south beach. I would have no hesitation in recommending the suites based on our experience but with the understanding that you need to expect noise as folk come and go past the room during the night and early morning. The furniture is ikea and the sofa bed was just ok comfort wise. Overall a great base for a short trip. We decided to forego valet parking and park across the road in the car park which has security staff on for 24 hours. It was so convenient and we could check the car was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the review and detailing your experience so well. We are sure this review will help other travelers who might be looking to stay at our hotel. Just one comment: our rooms have carpeted floors. You got the one suite we keep for guests who might have allergies - which, by the way, is a very nice room! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We choose the hotel for location AND price...realizing that because of the location even a low priced hotel was expensive. The location is good...not on the beach but then we were not paying for that. Easy walking to all the near activity...and in a safe neighborhood.

Front lobby was very attractive. Staff was friendly upon arrival. No elevator. Hotel is long and narrow. Our room on the second floor rear had cement walls for a view in both directions. Room (Junior Suite) was spacious and attractive. Nice flat screen TV (did not turn it on to see if it worked!) Bed was comfortable and clean.

Entering the room...the carpet was very stained...and gave you the feeling of not so nice of a place. Bathroom was clean...NO HOT WATER! In the shower...when management was told they said there was nothing they could do. The room was on the second floor and too far away for hot water...did not seem like a good answer to us. Kitchen sink had hot water....

Management was uncooperative in helping or making us feel better about the situation. No offer to reduce the price of the room...offered to allow us to leave with no charge for the second night.

Parking in area was very expensive and difficult. Would be easier to be there without a car.

Room Tip: Junior suite on second floor does not have hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
You are definitely right, not having hot water is unacceptable. We are looking into this case and how it was handled. This is not how our staff is prepared to respond and we will have a talk about it with everyone involved. We invite you to join the conversation by sending us an email. We would like to make amends, if you give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location: great location - right on Collins. Close to the beach and nightlife attractions and restaurants.

Rooms: clean and comfortable. A bit tight and no real "closet" space, but you can definitely make due. The hotel is quiet and the furniture and bedding is pretty modern/updated (think Ikea).

Staff: I didn't interact much with the staff, but I went during Hurricane Isaac (I missed my flight due to delays and called to cancel my first night's reservation since I couldn't make it to Florida at all) and didn't have any problems getting my first night's stay refunded since I couldn't fly out there. It was a relief! I talked to the person at front desk and they were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. Weather conditions often force travelers to make modifications on their itineraries and we are always ready to help them because we want to be part of the solution, not the problem!
Our suites have spacious closets (many have even two) The studios, though, have a reduced area because they are smaller (yet more affordable!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We don't have expensive taste - a quiet, clean spot to sleep is all we need. Our room was well appointed (although the bed was VERY soft, leaving us with backaches), and we liked that there was a small kitchenette. The rooms was clean....ish. Not so dirty you felt grossed out, but we noticed hairs in our bathroom from the start of the trip to the very end, so not ours (there before us) and never swept. The shower was clean, but had some mildew-looking black stains right across the middle of it.

There was an odd shiny "splash" pattern on the ceiling by the light.....we're hoping that was a champagne bottle that went astray ;) but chose not to think further about it.

The carpet seemed clean, the room smelled ok, but there was a hump in the carpet showing it was a bit worn and stretched out. Again not a huge deal (especially for what we paid), but just not fantastic.

Our big problem was a double-edged sword - we wanted to be near the beach and in the action spot, but wanted sleep. However, the windows in our room were extremely thin, and the thumping from the party places a street behind prevented us from sleeping both nights, even with earplugs.

Front desk were friendly and helpful. Lobby is adorable - too bad just a little of that didn't extend to the room. Housekeeping tidied, but I wouldn't say it was a thorough clean. I'm sure if we had asked they would have checked it out, but for our one-day-two-night stay it didn't seem worth it.

All in all, we got what we paid for, but we got a great sale rate. I wouldn't necessarily choose to stay there for the regular rate. And I wouldn't stay there unless you are young (we are 40) and ok with being out in the night-life rather than laying in bed praying for the pounding dance music to stop (which it doesn't until around 3am).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Point made. We understand your position and thank you for your honesty. February through May is peak season in Miami, because there are many events and activities coming to town. Unfortunately, you stayed during Spring Break. Although we love the young crowd, we also know their nightly activities disrupt the rest of the visitors (not only in our hotel, but everywhere). Perhaps you were unaware of this yearly event in the US. If you decide to return, we invite you to plan your trip during a quieter month. We will promise your nights will be restful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time trying to find accomodations that were affordable, clean, and convenient for my Mom and sister who were coming to visit overnight in Miami after their cruise. This was the right place. I had read a number of reviews, including some mixed concerning cleanliness or condition, but we were very overall satisfied. It is basically a studio apartment- a great crash pad, frig, dishes, table and chairs, fine enough for the 3 of us, and very close in walking distance to everywhere you want to visit in South Beach. Marcello was unbelievably courteous and kind at the front desk as I explained that they were coming from a cruise, and if at all possible would either like to check in early, or at least secure their luggage. Fortunately their room was free that morning and they had a chance to rest before stepping out for the day of exploring. I was delighted to receive his personalized attention and concern for their arrival, and would encourage you to contact him directly. The beach was steps away, as was the parking garage for our car. The little convenience store was nice on the premises, and any kind of bus tour or sight seeing can be arranged from the little storefront. Overall, if you plan to spend most of your time taking in the sights and don't need the glitz or glitz prices, you will be pleased with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for you review and your kind words about Marcelo. He's definitely a gem :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.