We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location: great location - right on Collins. Close to the beach and nightlife attractions and restaurants.

Rooms: clean and comfortable. A bit tight and no real "closet" space, but you can definitely make due. The hotel is quiet and the furniture and bedding is pretty modern/updated (think Ikea).

Staff: I didn't interact much with the staff, but I went during Hurricane Isaac (I missed my flight due to delays and called to cancel my first night's reservation since I couldn't make it to Florida at all) and didn't have any problems getting my first night's stay refunded since I couldn't fly out there. It was a relief! I talked to the person at front desk and they were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. Weather conditions often force travelers to make modifications on their itineraries and we are always ready to help them because we want to be part of the solution, not the problem!
Our suites have spacious closets (many have even two) The studios, though, have a reduced area because they are smaller (yet more affordable!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    160
    90
    34
    21
See reviews for
84
157
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We don't have expensive taste - a quiet, clean spot to sleep is all we need. Our room was well appointed (although the bed was VERY soft, leaving us with backaches), and we liked that there was a small kitchenette. The rooms was clean....ish. Not so dirty you felt grossed out, but we noticed hairs in our bathroom from the start of the trip to the very end, so not ours (there before us) and never swept. The shower was clean, but had some mildew-looking black stains right across the middle of it.

There was an odd shiny "splash" pattern on the ceiling by the light.....we're hoping that was a champagne bottle that went astray ;) but chose not to think further about it.

The carpet seemed clean, the room smelled ok, but there was a hump in the carpet showing it was a bit worn and stretched out. Again not a huge deal (especially for what we paid), but just not fantastic.

Our big problem was a double-edged sword - we wanted to be near the beach and in the action spot, but wanted sleep. However, the windows in our room were extremely thin, and the thumping from the party places a street behind prevented us from sleeping both nights, even with earplugs.

Front desk were friendly and helpful. Lobby is adorable - too bad just a little of that didn't extend to the room. Housekeeping tidied, but I wouldn't say it was a thorough clean. I'm sure if we had asked they would have checked it out, but for our one-day-two-night stay it didn't seem worth it.

All in all, we got what we paid for, but we got a great sale rate. I wouldn't necessarily choose to stay there for the regular rate. And I wouldn't stay there unless you are young (we are 40) and ok with being out in the night-life rather than laying in bed praying for the pounding dance music to stop (which it doesn't until around 3am).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Point made. We understand your position and thank you for your honesty. February through May is peak season in Miami, because there are many events and activities coming to town. Unfortunately, you stayed during Spring Break. Although we love the young crowd, we also know their nightly activities disrupt the rest of the visitors (not only in our hotel, but everywhere). Perhaps you were unaware of this yearly event in the US. If you decide to return, we invite you to plan your trip during a quieter month. We will promise your nights will be restful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time trying to find accomodations that were affordable, clean, and convenient for my Mom and sister who were coming to visit overnight in Miami after their cruise. This was the right place. I had read a number of reviews, including some mixed concerning cleanliness or condition, but we were very overall satisfied. It is basically a studio apartment- a great crash pad, frig, dishes, table and chairs, fine enough for the 3 of us, and very close in walking distance to everywhere you want to visit in South Beach. Marcello was unbelievably courteous and kind at the front desk as I explained that they were coming from a cruise, and if at all possible would either like to check in early, or at least secure their luggage. Fortunately their room was free that morning and they had a chance to rest before stepping out for the day of exploring. I was delighted to receive his personalized attention and concern for their arrival, and would encourage you to contact him directly. The beach was steps away, as was the parking garage for our car. The little convenience store was nice on the premises, and any kind of bus tour or sight seeing can be arranged from the little storefront. Overall, if you plan to spend most of your time taking in the sights and don't need the glitz or glitz prices, you will be pleased with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for you review and your kind words about Marcelo. He's definitely a gem :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first visit to SOBE so most of the planning was done online. We chose this place because the majority of the reviews raved about the location, and since we were on a girls trip and didn't rent a car we wanted to be close to everything. I wasn't sure what to expect, but based on the reviews I didn't expect much. So we booked our package through an online tavel company and we told we would have pay a $6 per day resort fee only when we arrived. Well we were charged a $100 refundable deposit. At first the guy at the front desk was really short with us about the fee, but he came around a was actually courteous and helpful. The rooms were okay, but could have been better. The bathrooms need to be upgraded. The sink drained slowly and we did not have any face towels. We called for some and they arrived promptly, but we were there for three nights, and they were never replaced. The curtains were dirty, and the glass globe on the ceiling fan was broken. In addition there was a Waterbug/German Cockroach in our room as well. Overall the hotel served its purpose, we had a place to sleep while in SOBE. The location is good, it's not too crowded, but is very close to Clevelander's, Mangos and shopping. I did like the fact that the hotel has a front patio that you can sit out and enjoy a drink and see the action. Would I stay here again? Maybe, depending on my budget, but I would prefer to stay in a nicer hotel on Ocean Dr. One last thing, you do not need a car to stay here, but I would suggest that you schedule and airport shuttle to and from the airport instead of walking to the Metrobus stop with luggage like we did when we first arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and sorry there were things about your stay that didn't meet your expectations. I will try to address them one by one. First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to SoBe. Regarding the $100 fee, it's not a charge, but simply a deposit that we hold until you return your room keys. It's called "Incidental's deposit" and it's only used when guests mistreat the rooms (which rarely happens) Our staff should be clear about it and we will make sure they are from now on! Bathrooms: Yes, unfortunately we still haven't upgraded them. It's our lowest point right know but, we hope we are not judged solely on that, cause we try hard to make it up in every other possible way. The cockroach: here in Florida they are known as "Palmetto bugs" cause they are typical of this geographical area. They are most common during the warmest months of the year. We want to make clear that these bugs DO NOT LIVE in our hotel. They crawl around at night in streets and alleyways and, once in a while they manage to get inside buildings through AC ducts or windows. We are terribly sorry you got to meet one of these creatures and can assure you we have pest control agents spraying our premises periodically. Lastly, thank you for your advice on transportation. This is a question many people ask :) Warmest regards from everyone at the Ocean Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend made a reservation to this hotel. We were there last week. The Hotel has a great location since it's only minutes walking to the beach and the nightclubs. The staff at the hotel was so nice and diligent to help us with any issue we could have. Specially the Front desk guy, Marcello, he is extremely nice. Every time we needed something he was willing to help, answering our questions, calling the valet parking for us, giving us the address to so many places in the city. He actually suggested even places to eat. we were so delighted in the hotel, that we are planning to comeback in the summer and that's our place from now on. We actually felt like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you! Once again, Marcelo gets a special mention, and it's cause he really does go out of his way to help our guests. He truly represents the high standard of customer service that we are known for, and that we instill in every member of our staff. We are glad you felt at home. Our doors are open to welcome you back whenever you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We reserved this hotel through hotels.com. When we arrived we did not have a reservation. Although one hour before we arrived, relatives stopped by to visit and they did have a reservation for us. My daughter overheard a conversation indicating that they had given our room to a guest that arrived a day early and the hotel was booked full. The hotel blamed hotels.com, but it was obvious to us what had happened. Hotels.com was more than accommodating in locating a new booking for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

Dirty toilet, broken tv, damaged window, locked out of our hotel room for over an hour, long delays in getting car from valet.


We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013. At first glance things seemed fine - the room was fairly spacious and easily accommodated the 3 of us ladies. But the minute we walked into the bathroom things started going downhill. The toilet & the water in it was a dirty yellow-brown. The TV in the bedroom was broken and the window wouldn't close completely. We brought the deficiencies to the staff, who at first seemed fairly pleasant, but we soon found out the truth. The front-desk informed us that there was nothing they could do to fix any of the deficiencies and that we'd have to "deal" with it throughout our 4 night stay. We asked for a small deduction in the final bill as a sign of good faith but they refused. We asked for & received the manager's email & phone number but was informed that she was on vacation and would not be able to respond until after we left. With no other recourse, we promised to contact the manager.

The second day we were there, when we came back to the room mid-day, our electronic keys wouldn't open the door. We again went down to the front desk and their master electronic key was unable to open the door. We were essentially locked out of our room completely. When we complained to the staff that this was unacceptable, the man at the front desk got very angry with us and said, "There's nothing I can do!" and walked away. After about another 45 mins, a housekeeper finally came up with a physical key & unlocked the door for us.

The third day we were there, we got a phone call around 7 am that our car was waiting. We had not called a car. Apparently, the valet thought that we'd called for our car when in fact someone else had. We found out later that the person who had called for his car was rushing to the airport and ended up waiting almost 1 hour for his car to arrive because of the mix up.

And on the day that we left, we waited over 45 mins to get our car.

Do not stay at this hotel. It may seem worth it given the price, but you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.