We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We got this hotel for a good price for 3 of us and the size of the room and the facilitiesa available were good. Although a new bathroom is definitely needed. It could have been cleaner and it needed more windows but we were in Miami to party and sunbath so we hardly used the room for more than sleeping, chaging and making lunch! Location wise it is amazing! And if you want to go and experience Miami and not pa a fortune for a hotel then this is your place. The noise was low and the staff when we saw them were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for new room with new bathroom and windows! As long as you make this aware at the beginning then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    149
    82
    30
    16
See reviews for
76
146
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We paid way too much for this place. It was good location but the walls were thin which caused the multiple noise disturbances during the late evening/early morning. We stayed on the second level so you will hear trash trucks everyday. No parking, no elevators, lack of towels in the bathrooms or shower mat. We totally were not impressed but it was a place to stay close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We wish we had known you were not fully satisfied while you were still at our hotel. That way we would have had a chance to make amends. Regarding the price, during February, March, and April our town hosts special events every week which attract lots of visitors, but also increase rates. That is everywhere, not only in our hotel. We invite you to visit us again, perhaps during a quieter time, and you will enjoy our great weather at an affordable price. Plus, returning guests get a 10% discount. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really like the design of this hotel and the location is great but if you're out partying all day you would want to get a good night sleep... however, the walls are really thin which makes it almost impossible to happen... I woke up everyday @ 5 am bc of trash pick up day and a lot of noise from outside of the building ahhthh it drove me nutssssssssss !! and the curtains does not even cover the whole window which makes it so bright in the room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are terribly sorry to hear you had trouble sleeping. Ever since we changed the windows in the rooms facing the back and the front of our hotel, complains about noise coming from the outside stopped. Had we known you had this issue, we would have changed you to a quieter room right away. Please accept our apologies. We try to prevent inconveniences and are also quick to solve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was a bit concerned seeing other negative reviews but I must say that this place worked out great for us. I would definitely stay again. The combination of the location, price, service, room were perfect for us, two adults and a teenager. We are people who do not like to plunk down alot of cash for a hotel because we spend most of the time outside and would rather spend our money on restaurants, attractions, etc. Took all of two minutes to walk to ocean avenue, the beach, and the many restaurants and taverns along that avenue. Lincoln Ave and Espanola Way were about a 10 minute walk. The room was clean and spacious. We had the AC on at night and since I never travel without my sound machine, we didn't hear a peep outside, although i imagine we would hear conversations outside and vehicle noise without those. Beds were very comfortable. I parked in a garage that was one block away which was $20 a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your leaving a review and hope it will help other travelers who, like you, are looking for a great place to stay at an affordable price. It was a pleasure having you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If your looking for a nice hotel close to the action this is it... It isn't fancy but its comfy and clean.. The staff is amazing and the rooms are spacious.... I will definitely stay here again when I return to Miami in the fall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are excited to hear you'll be visiting us again in the fall! Miami has a lot to offer all year round. The last quarter of the year has nice (not so-hot) temperatures plus, more affordable prices. Send us an email when you start planning your next trip and we will make sure to give a 10% return guest discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this place,close to every things ,the attention was great specially from the guy in the front desk Marcello.He took care of all our questions and help us finding all the places that we were looking for,in our vacation time!We will back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you, Lore. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Marcelo has been with us for many years and is indeed a valued member of our team. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg,MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Another couple along with my wife and I stayed here for 3 nights this past week - mostly based on the reviews from TA. I can honestly say that this was the worst experience I have ever had with a TA hotel that was reviewed so well.

Our friends arrived a few hours before us and when we called them to ask how the hotel was - all they could say was just wait and see for yourself.

We arrived and checked in very quickly and easily and went to our room. At first glance - not bad. A decent sized suite with table, chairs, microwave etc. The nice thing about this room was that there was a tv in the sleeping area and another in the living area.

We went next door to look at our friends room. They specifically requested a room with 2 tv's as the wife has trouble sleeping and watcheds tv - so if the 2nd tv is in the living area it won't wake up her husband.

Their room only had 1 tv although they specifically requested a room with 2. Their ceiling fan had soooo much dust on it that it could not have been cleaned in at least a couple of months. The bathtub was worn and stained and was just dirty. The ceramic tiles in the bath were cracked and disgusting.

On the table was a little candle holder with 3 votive candles in it. This was all burned out and looked like someone had poured curdled milk in it.

Overall their room was something you would find in a rent by the hour motel if anywhere.

We went to the front desk and asked if they could switch rooms. They could but the only room available did not have the 2 tv's she requested so my wife and I took that room and they took our room.

The next morning when we met our friends for breakfast they told us that while the appearance of the room was better - the toilet was not bolted down and the seat was not tightened so when you sat down it would move significantly. When trying to take a shower - the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. They could not get the valves to mix the water properly.

The room we took on the first floor at first glance was ok. However the shower floor was disgusting and gross- so much so that I wore my flip flops into the shower each day. The shower curtain was filled with soap scum. There was never a bath mat or anything to walk off onto. The room had a very dank smell and the place overall just felt gross.

To their credit, when my friends complained and showed them what their original room looked like (through pictures as the manager did not have the time to take a look at it in person) they were comped one nights stay.

The gentleman that was on the desk over the weekend (Marcel?)was extremely helpful and tried to do the best he could to make our stay pleasant. He is the biggest asset this place has.

I see no need to return to Miami or South Beach but if I did I definitely would not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We apologize to you and your friends for not meeting your expectations and understand there are specific things we should be taking care of. We are not making excuses for that. We just want to make you, and any future visitors, aware that our rooms have only one TV (only two rooms out of the 36 in our hotel have 2 TVs) Although we try to honor special requests as much as possible, we don't make promises we can't keep and we are always honest with our guests about it. With this, what we are trying to say is that it shouldn't be a surprise to find one TV in your room because that's what we offer. Again, we apologize and make a commitment to improve the areas of our service we are having trouble with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.