We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location low quality rooms .. Poor customer ser” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location low quality rooms .. Poor customer ser”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel on nov 24-26
We first got in the hotel around 11am man in the front desk said he cannot let us check in becaus its too early and check in time is at 3pm it would have been ok if he was nice... but No he made us feel that it was an iconvenience for him to be there early so we just head out to grab some lunch... So after lunch we went back in the hotel around 250pm when we got back he said our hotel is note ready until 330 pm so waited again for another half hour .. Not enough staff to clean the room.. So when we finally got into our room ... Room was good size.. And great location in the heart of south beach.. Free slow wifi.. With full kitchen ..Cleanliness of the room is next to nothing and bathroom also not so clean .. Over and all the furniture from ikea start to fall apart .. So bottom line .. If you want a great location average price an dont care about quality and cleanliness of the room this is your place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We apologize for letting you down. This is not what we are known for. We take customer service very seriously because, over the years, we have built a reputation that was the product of a sincere desire to serve and to provide our guests with a wonderful vacation experience. If our work doesn't reflect that then, we need to review it. Be sure, we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    160
    86
    35
    18
See reviews for
75
145
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New-Brunswick Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just came back from a one week vacation in Miami Beach. We stayed 2 nights at the Ocean Reef Suites and hated it... Before booking this hotel, I read all the good reviews on this Hotel and for the first time i was really disappointed with my pick...Our room was dirty (around the bed, all the curtain, the carpet, bathroom curtain, the bathroom was nasty (bath all cracked and painted with wall paint), our pillows were old brown- yellow, our bath towels had holes in them and most of them weren't white anymore (during my stay i saw 3 rooms and they were all like this)...I've been in a lot of different hotels and this was one of the worst i've been in...There is renovation going on at the hotel, so hopefully it will get better. This hotel has a lot of potential but they need to invest some money...The location is perfect, walking distance from the Beach, in the middle of Washington Ave and Ocean Drive. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Sorry but we hated the hotel and would never return...

Room Tip: Avoid the Front and the Back, Very noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We understand how you must have felt, and apologize for not giving you the exceptional service we are known for. The renovation work has taken a toll on us, but we are confident once the work is done everyone will love it. Please, give us another chance. We would like to talk with you, and make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Long story short, the hotel is dirty. There were brown stains on the walls and carpet, the air conditioner vent was full of dust, the tub drain was partially clogged, and worst of all there was no hot water. The best you could get was tepid, at best before becoming cold again. And the bushes outside the hotel smelled of urine.

Plus, just because you have a microscopic kitchenette and an ikea table for two next to the bed, you can't call it a "suite".

Location is good, but the parking sitch is clusterballs. Park at the lot across the street, cause if you use their valet it'll take at least 20 min for them to get your car.

If you've made a reservation here I suggest you cancel it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are terribly sorry to know that you weren't happy with our hotel. We have been under construction and there's more renovations to come. That's why things have been messy around here. Yet, it is for a good cause! Once it's all done, everyone will enjoy the benefits. Regarding the little kitchen and table for two, what you describe is one of our studios, not the suite. Our suites have a large kitchen and a table that seats four people. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding with respect to that. We apologize and are willing to work with if you wish to talk to us personally about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I must say that this Hotel is perfect for people on a budget. I stayed there with 3 friends in a suite/ room (we were all girls so sharing a room was not a problem) for 2 nights. We checked in around 2pm and were given the room straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful and spoke spanish which made things easier for all of us (we do speak english but having someone speaking your own language is always good!). The location is fantastic, the decor is stylish, and again the staff just fantastic, blending friendliness and efficiency in just the right amounts.

Overall a great little hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
You are so kind. Yes, our rooms are like small apartments, perfect for families or friends ready for a fun vacation. Speaking Spanish is almost essential here and we like making our guests from Latin America feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very Good hotel, right in the middle of everything.
Good, multilingual staff. Excellent service. Great area, full of shops and bars
Traveled there on business, but will definitely come back to explore the city more from there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We would love to have you here once again, especially on a leisure trip. We hope 2013 brings you back. It will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 1 night only, the location is great, just a few blocks from Ocean Drive. The staff is very helpful, the room is clean and comfortable. There're many parking lots around with fair prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks! Parking is something sometimes travellers worry about. True, South Beach is designed so people can walk to places. Yet, there's no need to stress if one has a car because of the many parking lots in the area and also the valet parking service, which is available 24 hours. Once again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uaberg@telia.com
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Noicy aircondition, but friendly service. Er had a good stat in Miami with the Beach nearby and restaurants and shopping ad well. As Swedish guests we liked the IKEA furniture. The valet parking service was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.