We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“middle of everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“middle of everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very Good hotel, right in the middle of everything.
Good, multilingual staff. Excellent service. Great area, full of shops and bars
Traveled there on business, but will definitely come back to explore the city more from there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We would love to have you here once again, especially on a leisure trip. We hope 2013 brings you back. It will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    148
    82
    29
    16
See reviews for
75
145
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 1 night only, the location is great, just a few blocks from Ocean Drive. The staff is very helpful, the room is clean and comfortable. There're many parking lots around with fair prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks! Parking is something sometimes travellers worry about. True, South Beach is designed so people can walk to places. Yet, there's no need to stress if one has a car because of the many parking lots in the area and also the valet parking service, which is available 24 hours. Once again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uaberg@telia.com
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Noicy aircondition, but friendly service. Er had a good stat in Miami with the Beach nearby and restaurants and shopping ad well. As Swedish guests we liked the IKEA furniture. The valet parking service was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach, fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is wonderful for the type of wknd I like in SB. The evening was a little loud around 2am when the people outside our room started wondering in and speaking loudly. But the size of the room was great, having the kitchen is a big plus, it felt like a little apartment. We were able to make 3 outfits changes the day we stayed b/c we were so close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks a lot! We can say many things about our hotel, but what really matters are the testimonials of travelers like you, who were able to make the most of their time because of us being so conveniently located. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Front desk personnel were terrific. Accomodating and pleasant. Marcel let us leave our bags since we arrived early. When we came back 6 hours later after a tour, they were waiting just as we left them. Then the internet room next door had slow internet and we were allowed to print boarding passes at the front desk free of charge!! Location is great. The down side: the shower didn't drain and we had water up to our ankles and the radio/clock didn't work at all. We had to go down and ask for a wakeup call as we coudn't set the alarm. The TV had a lot of stations, the room was fairly clean.. but with carpeting it is always holding some dirt. You need to leave your car in the street and the valet picks up and takes to the lot for a fee of $20 a day. You must call early as it takes at least 20 minutes for car to arrive. All in all we were satisfied with our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments, the pros and the cons. We are happy you were overall satisfied with our performance and, by no means we ignore the fact that we could have done better. We know some of our bathrooms need our attention. It's a difficult process, but we will get there. Warmest regards from everyone at the Ocean Reef Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We decided to do a last minute vacation for my boyfriend's birthday and we chose to stay at the Ocean Reef Suites September 7-14 and our stay was just okay. When we got there to check in the front desk person was not welcoming at all. It seemed like we were bothering him or taking his attention away from something. He handed us our keys and told us to walk across to get to our room. We walked in and we were confused but it was okay. I began to notice all of the scuffs and food marks on the wall and I become skeptical of this place. We sat on the bed and to me it was very uncomfortable. The pillows were just plain terrible. The circuit breaker SHOULD NOT be in the bedroom facing the bed!!!!! The windows were absolutely filthy and the bathroom could've be remodeled. The hot water didn't work 95% of the time. The shower was weirdly designed and sink could have been bigger! There is so much space in the suite that could've been utilized. It seemed like the design of this place was rushed and not thought through enough.

I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends. I will stay if you make changes to the suites.

Room Tip: Go next door to Lords of Nash!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize. It is certainly nice to read positive comments about our performance but, reviews like yours are the ones we pay most attention to, because they remind us there are areas to work on. We know we can improve and we will. We hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff can seem a bit unfriendly at check-in, but they're actually really nice and helpfull!

location: the location rocks!! you're just 2 blocks away from the beach, and in the heart of south beach! you won't be able to find a better location.

rooms: rooms were spacious and clean! the kitchen is brand new but the bathroom was a little bit dated. whatever you do, don't look at the windows. They were disgusting! they were so dirty you couldn't see through them, and when i tried to open the window it just broke and fell down. That i wasnt expected. But we quickly found a solution to that which was to just close the curtains. Except from the windows, the room was nice. To be honest we didnt care to much about that.

would definitly recommend this hotel as its nice, centraly located and have amongst the best rates in south beach. Yes you can find cheaper, but i doubt you'll like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you like us and recommend us. We looked into the window situation and had the maids pay more attention :) Best regards and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.