We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cardozo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cardozo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cardozo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed four nights here. Great location but although the room was large it was very In adequately equipped. Poor lighting. Poor storage. The fridge overheated. Noisy aircon and an intrusive extractor fan somewhere was always in the background. Difficult to drop off luggage and on the date we arrived no valet parking. Overall expensive for what it provides and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    49
    29
    27
See reviews for
27
101
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Gloria Estefan's swank location on the water is the place to be seen or to catch a shot of Miami's crazies. Try the seafood pasta more food than I could handle at a fair price included a 2 lb lobster .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did not stay here but we did stop for drinks. Dazzled by the fact that it is Gloria Estefan's hotel and they self publicise that they have the best mojitos we (party of four) decided to stop for drinks. We should have moved on when we were told that the only drinks we could have were in the ridiculously large tourist glasses that cost $29 ( plus tax and plus obligatory 18% gratuity) but we still fell for it. the couple opposite us had normal sized Mojitos but these where not available to us (tourist and mug written across our foreheads?). Rubbish drinks, rubbish service and huge bill. Don't do it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After finding a Groupon for a pretty good deal we stayed at the Cardoza from 11/15-11/18. We arrived at the hotel from Ocean and had to walk through the cafe area with our bags. Once we arrived in the "lobby" which was quite small, we were greater by a very friendly hostess who was able to give us good information on some of the local restaurants, but was not aware of some of the places we had previously read about. Reading reviews from previous visitors we asked for one of the upgraded rooms. The room had very dark wood walls and flooring, the beds were some of the lowest beds I've ever seen but the bed was comfortable and so were. We called and asked for a different room as we had originally asked for rooms close to others in our party when we booked and when we called to confirm our reservation and was told all the rooms at our price level were already booked and that they would try to move us if the other party did not check in. The beds were super low but the mattress and pillow were comfortable. We didn't spend too much time in the room. The hotel is in a great location on Ocean Ave there are a lot of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The things I didn't like about the hotel were the bathroom was horrible and looked like the stopped the renovations after the room. The tub looked rusted and the stopper was broken. The water temperature kept changing from hot to cold in the shower. We complained and they had the guy who was also doubling as the bellhop come in to check on it. He told us we had the water turned too far towards the hot and that's why the temperature kept changing. Also there was a roach crawling in our tub one evening. The maid did a good job at cleaning but only left two towels and two washcloths in the room each night. With 2 women who like to take showers in the morning as well as during the evening it would have been nice to have more, most hotels give you at least four. Although the drinks were good at the hotel(they had "specials" buy 2/$25 get a free shot), there was no nightlife and no place to get any food after a certain time in the hotel. For the price I might stay again but I think the Cardoza has passed its prime. Customer Service and Location are the best things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Walk to locations not on Ocean for cheaper food choices and don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cardoza just for 1 night but should have stayed longer! Our room #202 was absolutely incredible. The room is located at the front of hotel which is on Ocean Drive. From our window we had the view of the beautiful South Beach and could watch all the hussle and bussle of all the activities on the street. Spent the day on the beach which was 100 feet from the front door. Came back to the hotel and had a gigantic drink (they are not stingy on the alcohol) because our heads were spinning from the drink! There was so much to do on Ocean Avenue we really didn't get to spend too much time in our room so would have loved an extra day just to lounge in the room!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel on Ocean Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Cardozo hotel and I were not a match. This may say as much about me as the hotel. Let me say that as a 25 year old I would have been in heaven. As a man in his 50s not so much. Finding the check-in location was a bit difficult since I walked in through the cafe. if you enter by the side street you will be there. The location is right in the middle of the action, and the action in the cafe/restaurant below was fast and furious. It lasts well into the night. The rooms are small and not special. My room was very basic although attractive and clean. The bed was simple and relatively uncomfortable. The closet was tiny and there were only 3 hangers in it. The bathroom had an interesting South Beach decor but was so small it required some interesting maneuvers to use it. The service was quite good and friendly in contrast to some experiences related here. The noise from the hall was essentially unfiltered by the door to the room and there were lots of people roaming the halls all night. Do not, repeat do not, get a room by the ice machine. I probably slept 3 hours --- but again I am not sure this is a hotel meant for sleeping.

Room Tip: Do not take a room near an ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Here's what the Cardozo Hotel has: friendly, helpful staff (esp at the front desk and cleaning crew), and a wonderful location. I cannot, however, give it a favorable review as it was sorely lacking in so many other areas. The mattress, for example, was completely encased in plastic with such a thin mattress topper that the bed itself felt hot all night long (cranking the AC did not help). The room decor, while very hip with its gorgeous wood and low-slung furniture (Japanese style?) was not designed for comfort. The floor is hardwood with one thick, woven, sisal-style area rug (not made for bare feet). The room has 1 upholstered stool but no chair and also no mirror except over the sink in the bathroom. The bathroom, stocked with nicely scented products, only provided 1 bar of soap, which had to switch locations between the sink and shower, and the bathroom paint job was sloppy. If you want morning coffee, forget about it. The highly regarded grill doesn't open until 8:30 and, even then, charges $4 per cup for very mediocre coffee. Seriously. We ended up walking down the street to get coffee at the divine "Oxy" at 9am for superior java. If you want a late night snack or breakfast in bed, also forget about it. There is no room service and not even a menu for ordering take out from their own restaurant! I was deeply disappointed in Gloria & Emilio Estefan's hotel and would not stay there ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cardozo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Hotel

Address: 1300 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardozo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Cardozo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardozo Hotel Miami Beach
Cardozo Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardozo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.