We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you get More what you paid for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sometimes you get More what you paid for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yet again this cozy place was my hotel selection during WMC2014(last week of march). Booked very last minute and got a very low price (again!)- other hotels were 400$ a night and up...
As soon as we arrived , the front desk was very happy to assist us and showed us to our room in less than 5 minutes(in most hotels it takes forever and a half) :)
The atmosphere here was still the same - friendly and helpful staff, quiet and clean rooms with nice sets of crispy white towels every day(and the most comfortable beds I ever slept on :) )
Each morning everyone is more than welcome to join for a free breakfast and also if you missed breakfast hours- they do leave freshly made coffee on the bar stand for next 2-3 hours.
The Hotel is still smoke-free, but you are welcome to smoke on their little terrace. The bartender will even bring you an ashtray. Did I mention that the terrace's furniture is super comfortable too?
I absolutely love this place and recommend it to anyone who's planning on staying in South Beach Area. The Location is in the middle of all the action , no matter which time of the year you traveling in - just 1 block away from the famous Ocean Drive and the beach itself.
As for me- this place got me totally hooked and I will be back next year, if not sooner.:)
Thank you La Flora (or should I say La Lovely :) ) staff for making my stay amazing again . XOXOXO :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    164
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
56
201
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel based on previous reviews as we were spending a few days in Miami prior to a cruise. The hotel was very convient for all the attractions of South Beach and more than lived up to its reviews. All the staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, down to printing out some late cruise info that was e-mailed too late to print before we left home.
We were luck enough to be upgraded to a suite on arrival and this was superb. The free breakfast was basic but more that adequate for us. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but no-one had to wait for their breakfast. The complimentary cocktails went down very well.
I had read that there may be some noise at night so came prepared with ear plugs and eye mask and slept really well in very comfortable beds.
If ever we return to Miami we will definately return here!

Room Tip: Our corner suite was large and sunny but could be noisy. Hence ear plugs. Made it great place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the hotel before leaving on a cruise. Carlos at the front desk was extremely helpful and made sure we were comfortable for our visit. He directed us to the beach area and assisted in our transportation needs. Diane who tends the bar at the hotel was wonderful. She is very personable and gave us some great insights into the South Beach area including some great dining options. On top of that she can mix a wicked cocktail!The complimentary breakfast was a great way to kick start the day. This was our 40th anniversary trip and the hotel experience helped make it an unforgettable event.

Bob & Anne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights and loved it. The staff is very friendly, especially the bartender. Along with making great drinks, she's welcoming, friendly and fun to chat with. The hotel has free wifi and the room was very comfortable. A bit small, but the hotel was built in 1929, so that's to be expected. They work with a cab company, so we had no problem getting transportation to the airport. The only complaint I have is that they didn't have extra blankets! Granted, it is Miami and it was 75 degrees outside, but I like to sleep with a bunch of blankets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rarely if ever give reviews, but the staff and service of this place compelled me to add my 2 cents. I stayed here for a week and Diane the bartender is an amazing person with a great attitude and quite skilled at specialty cocktails( I even offered her a job at a restaurant I manage in NY) . Please check her out at Happy Hour!!! The front staff ( Carlos and team ) were great in executing a surprise for my best friend's birthday and really made it special for her with their attention. I was concerned about sleeping with the noise at nights especially since I travelled in March, but happy to report my room faced none of that difficulty. A great added benefit is their continental breakfast. My friend and I enjoyed ours sitting on their outdoor patio basking in the early sun rays. Definitely a breakfast treat while on vacation and coming from the freezing temps in NY. I have been coming to Miami's south beach area for over 10 years and stayed at several other hotels but have never experienced such exceptional service. Already planning my next visit and thankful I don't have to spend weeks shopping around for value and quality. Kudos to management for assembling this team!!!!

Room Tip: Never near elevator door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Imhad the pleasure to revisit this wonderful, perfectly located hotel. I had encouraged my brother and his wife to also stay at LaFlora while we were attending a wedding in South Beach. We all had a wonderful time. Hotel and South Beach were very busy as it was spring break. The complimentary breakfast is a added attraction as well as complimentary Happy Hour!! The staff is very accommodating and the friendliness of everyone makes for an enjoyable stay. You cannot beat the location and have i recommended LaFlora to several of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall an excellent place to spend some days in Miami South Beach. Very centrally located - you can walk easily everywhere, close to beach and Ocean Drive with all it's restaurants. But what I liked most about the hotel and my stay there, was the people who worked there - extremely friendly and efficient. So helpful and always ready to give you a hand if needed! Many thanks to Carlos, Diane the girl in the bar, and the British lady who runs the hotel! I shall be back soon !!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (401) facing the parking lot, and it was very quiet because there is hardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach
Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Fastbooking, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.