We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with super staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sun Sand & Save
Ranked #16 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location with super staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Having just left a very luxurious cruise ship we travelled to la Flora South Beach Miami not sure what we would find. We were pleasantly surprised as this wasn't an expensive hotel we chose it for the location of the Art Deco area that we really wanted to see.
It has a nice feel and the lounge/ reception area was well decorated and furnished in keeping with the theme of the area. Carlos on reception gave us a warm welcome and was extremely helpful with all our questions eg, where's best to eat, see and shop. We only stayed two nights but crammed so much in with the help of Carlos (thanks again if you read this Carlos)
We had a small suite, we didn't book this but were pleased with it, although a little tired looking it was clean and comfy with big rooms with 2 double beds.
We also had the breakfast in the morning which had a choice of bagels, cereals, fresh fruits, juice and coffee, we didn't expect this.
If we return to South Beach we would stay again as we were also give a discount for returning.

Room Tip: Only one street from Ocean Drive which was great for people watching but cheaper to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    191
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
69
252
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice art deco district boutique hotel located on Collins near 13th street. Staff is very friendly and helpful, including Carlos and Evelene. One block off Ocean Drive, metered parking lot next door and parking garage nearby, rental bike rack 50 yards away (on 13th), Starbucks around the corner on 12th & Washington, C store & liquor store nearby and the best authentic cuban restaurant (David's Cafe) just down on corner of 10th. We took cab from airport for flat rate $32 and it took about 20 minutes door to door. Easy walk to restaurants and shopping including Espanola Way. We walked to Lincoln but that may be a bit far for some.

Room Tip: South side away from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

So I drove down to Miami (I live in Sarasota) for the first time a week ago. I met a good friend from NYC there with plans to celebrate my birthday. This hotel was new for both of us, and from the time we checked in until we checked out 4 days later, it was seriously one of the best experiences I've ever had in a hotel! The hotel is lovely - small, but in an incredible location right near Ocean Blvd. It's simple but had everything we needed - fridges were standard which was a relief as I had medication that required it. The staff were just amazing! Very, very helpful, courteous. They handled an requests we had in a timely and professional manner. From the front nice desk people, to the courteous valets to the wonderful manager Roz. She hand delivered a bottle of champagne on ice to my door on my birthday - gratis! She gave us excellent recommendations for dinner and the staff gave us some nice options for dancing/ clubs. The complimentary breakfasts were perfect - casual and yummy, with plenty of options. I cannot say enough about how enjoyable our stay was at La Flora! We will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The accommodating personality of the La Flora staff and its location - just one block from the action and people-watching wonderland of Ocean Drive - make this a good value for the money. The rooms are not luxurious, but certainly do the trick in a city where you are going to be out and about enjoying the art deco atmosphere most of the time anyway. The "Continental Breakfast" was a delightful surprise with various cereals, muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, etc. in plentiful quantities. We were there on Art Deco Weekend and, while there were spots with parking meters
adjacent to the property, they were filled most of the time. Other options were a parking garage across the street (full) for $20 or valet for $25. After driving around fruitlessly, we opted for valet, which we wished we'd done in the first place. The valet service was as helpful and pleasant as the front lobby staff. La Flora has a nice bar in the lobby with plentiful seating, just as there was on the front porch. If you go on a busy weekend, you should know that just down the street from the parking garage across the street is a hotel that offers underground parking for $20. It's a short walk to the La Flora and wasn't full.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We took a group of 16 retirees to South Beach for 4 days to experience the area and stayed at the LaFlora hotel because of the location, variety of rooms, the free breakfast, the large lobby with comfortable chairs and lounges, and especially the warmth and caring of the General Manager, Ros, and the other staff. The visit far exceeded our expectations. Ros was able to accommodate some last minute (upon arrival) room changes and everyone was very happy with their accommodations. She even threw our group a champagne party one afternoon, to the delight of all. The location, between 12th and 13th on Collins, one block from Ocean Drive, is central and within easy walking to Lincoln Street and all of the bars, restaurants and attractions. Thanks, Ros and your staff, for making this trip memorable and fun for everyone. We will return.
Earth Travel Pals, Myrtle Beach, SC

Room Tip: King room very large with sitting area. Some rooms have separate bedrooms. Rooms on south side are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Got a suite to celebrate my 23rd birthday and it was a complete success.very spacious room, super friendly staff, and located right across the beach.parking meters conviently located on property but I recommend just doing vallet.if no spaces available, parking garage right across the street.I did think it was strange that there was no oven or microwave but I guess I can expect that from a nonfamily hotel.overall, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Pedro do Sul, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and I must say it was very pleasant. Evelin and carlos at the front desk are very attentive and helpful, the room was very clean and for a miami beach hotel it was very quite and calm. We will definitely be visiting again

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;