We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sun Sand & Save
Ranked #16 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were soooooo pleased with this hotel. obviously recently renovated as the rooms were a delight, very bright, clean and airy and the bed was lush. we found the staff really welcoming and helpful when needing recommendations for bars, restaurants etc. we had stayed elsewhere on Collins a couple of years ago and were very disappointed with it; so this came as a refreshing surprise. Complimentary drink went down a treat as did the freebie breakfast - hangover bagels - cant beat em!! we will definitely recommend this one to our pals. Thanks to the staff for all your help/advice etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is always nice to have a refreshing surprise and so glad you found it with us !!!
Each and every member of staff strives to make an impression and we are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel to the point that you will return and being avid golfers I’m glad you found a golf course within a good proximity of the hotel to your liking. Now let’s talk about the Hangover Bagels which I have to say we found very amusing … must have been the bowl of Mojitos on Ocean Drive ! Many thanks for a lovely review and a pleasure to have you both as our guests …. Hurry Back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    189
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
69
249
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Location location location! This hotel has the best location - next to the beach, market, restaurants and most important of all next to the bus stops. All the buses you would need to see Miami and Sobe stop nearby. There's a parking next to the hotel , but we only used the buses.Hotel staff is friendly, always smiling and willing to help :) The room and bathroom are well sized. After reading so many reviews about Miami hotels being a mess, this was a welcome surprised - spotlessly clean and immaculate. Loved our stay, and if we had to return, it would be La flora!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Everyone loves a welcoming surprise and so glad you found it here with us and enjoyed all we have to offer from a welcoming smile to a comfortable clean room in a central location. The wonderful pleasure with Tripadvisor is that you can really get the feel of other guest’s reviews and we feel that our wonderful guests have summed us up very nicely. Thank you for your kind review and being one of those guests and we look forward to your return …until the next time !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the La Flora about 2 years ago & the new management definitely put some money into this place since. The rooms are clean, have new beds, mattresses, light fixtures, furniture, flooring, TV's, have WIFI & are freshly painted. The new "look" is a modern art deco style. The location is good just south of 13th street & 1 1/2 blocks west of Ocean Drive...where all the action is. There is a municipal parking lot next to the hotel & a parking garage on 13th St., between Collins & Ocean Dr., which is the one I used ($20/day). I was also told that the rooms are going to be getting new refrigerators....which they had (old ones) when I was there 2 years ago but were gone this visit. Room rates averaged $202/night for the 3 nights I was there (April 2-5) but it was still peak season & spring break, too. Nice feel of the old art deco age but w/a modern remodel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the south side away from the parking lot & back from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Yes a big difference and with lots of tender loving care we are back in the top mix of hotels in South Beach offering a clean fresh modern art deco style in a perfect location and super friendly staff ! So glad you took a chance to come back and experience the improvements and from all of us thank you for sharing your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you with your sunny smile again … hurry back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

(Late posting for March 12-15 visit) I am so glad I read other reviews including room tips for my Spring Break visit, since I requested a quiet room away from the adjacent parking lot and the lobby. My room location was perfect for a quiet stay even though outside on the streets it was crazy busy and noisy late into the night. Zero noise from Club Mansion, maybe closed? I arrived after midnight for check-in, and was greeted by a friendly male staffer. He cheerily volunteered recommendations on night clubs and bars. It was great to have a thermostat controlling the A/C rather than a window box fan. I would have preferred a hot tub and/or a pool but had read the reviews so knew they didn't exist, since obviously square footage is at a premium in this area so close to the beach. The breakfast worked fine with the female toasting bagels behind the counter-I can't understand complaints from other reviews-what's the big deal, you tell her the type of bagel and she toasts it for you. Simple breakfast options but adequate for a small stomach/appetite-milk, juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs, although they were out of some items. If you decide to self park, the city owned parking garage is about a 5 minute walk and reasonable prices but no multiple in/out privileges-pay each exit. For me the self park worked great, since I was making numerous trips each day and didn't want to wait for valet parking-there is a warning sign in the lobby to expect to wait for valet, based on logistics. The elevator is extremely small and difficult to get the luggage cart in/out-forget two people plus cart, only one person fits with cart. If I visit SoBe again I will consider staying here since overall it was an enjoyable stay. If they had a hot tub or pool it would be a no-brainer to come back here since I look for those amenities.

Room Tip: Read other reviews about avoiding rooms near the parking lot and staying on the south side, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I’m so glad you did read the other reviews and your overall stay without the hot tub and pool (although we are one block away from the biggest pool in the world) was enjoyable and that makes us very happy !!! March is a month of madness with various musical events, Sony Tennis, and of course Spring Breakers which l have to say was relatively quiet with the hustle and bustle all around. A warm thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you consider us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Getting here from Miami Intl airport. Flat rate taxi $32 one way includes toll $1.25 plus tips. Takes under 30 mins to get to South Beach. Cheaper if one person travels by airport shuttle for $20 pp one way.

Hotel – on main drag of shops, restaurants, night clubs and centre of art deco district. Near 13th street and in the centre of South Beach area. Only one street behind the main beach. Taxi pulls up on the street in front of hotel as there’s no drive in entrance. Small property, no pool but fine as everyone heads to Miami beach. Breakfast starts later and finishes earlier than usual 7-9.30am. Smoking at front courtyard of entrance. Lovely to sit on these cane furniture and people watch. Renovated art deco building. One slow lift services the 3 floors. Friendly and helpful staff. A kettle for the room is offered if needed. One free drink voucher given per person. Check out 11am.

Vicinity – Ocean Drive is the street by the beach, although it is not on the beach itself. Heaps of restaurants which aren’t expensive. Collins Ave is a street behind Ocean Drive. This is also the shopping street which really begins at 5th street with brand shops. Washington Street is the next street behind Collins. Lincoln St is adjacent and a few blocks up. Hotel is on Collins and 13th Street. Lincoln is between 16th & 17th streets, so about 10 mins walk up – more shops and eating strip. Espanola Way is adjacent just after 14th street, just like little South America with restaurants. Walk down beyond 1st street to South Pointe, lovely park. To the right - views of Miami and to the left - views of beach line. Great photos of sunset and city as well as Miami beach. Walk may take about 30 mins or more.

Room – no safe deposit box or coffee/tea facilities. Hardly any shelf space for toiletries in tiny bathroom. Noisy a/c. Free wifi and continental breakfast. Room smells lovely and fresh. Bed comfy but pillows like padded cardboard. 10/10 for toilet paper placement, only because there’s nowhere else to put it. Paper-thin walls, heard the Americans who were loud across the hallway. Creaky bed and floors, light coming through wooden blinds with no curtains from next building. Water pressure weak even for 2nd floor.

Breakfast – huge bowls and mugs. Continental breakfast but includes hard boiled eggs and small muffins as well. Only toasted bagels offered and done by staff, so a bit of a queue when crowded. Finishes at 9.30am so can be crowded at about 9am. When crowded, there’s seating in the courtyard at front entrance but the morning sun is very hot and there’s no shade. Should have some awning for protection from heat and glare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for a very impressive, detailed review and considering you only stayed one night we thank you for all the information as potential guests need good feedback and knowing you enjoyed our location, hotel and very good staff is our pleasure … until the next time !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked online & couldn't be more pleased with our find. Miami Beach is booming right now and this hotel was a great pick. Clean, comfortable and small rooms and helpful staff with a great location very near the beach made for an awesome mini break

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Our location is a hit for everyone … you’re in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle and the beautiful beaches are just one block away and all of this comes with considerate staff who are eager to make yours and every other guests stay comfortable.
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just returned home from our 3 night stay at La Flora. From our first call to our checkout, Jose, Ros, Taryn, Luis, and Carlos were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. A sweet woman toasted our bagels each morning. Room 307 was spotless, comfortable, and quiet. We walked up and down the beach and the boardwalk and all over the interesting streets of South Beach without needing our car. An excellent variety of great restaurants with $8 to $85 entrees were nearby. We crossed 2 little streets and were swimming in warm, turquoise water. At night we lounged on the outdoor sofa, watching life pass by. We miss it already and can't wait to return!
Thank you to all of you who made our vacation wonderful!

Room Tip: It's quiet on the third floor and there's a quick elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Sounds like you had a fabulous time and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests from your arrival to departure and l am so happy you had the pleasure to encounter every member of staff and the sweet woman toasting your bagels (our dear Gilda) to make your vacation wonderful !!!
A very warm thank you for your lovely review and from all of us … Hurry Back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.