We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora to your Saves list
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Friendly and helpfull staff upon arrival, showed us a map of the area where to go and all of the attractions and made a great recomendation for dinner.
We were suprised at the size of the room and how modern the style and furnishings were, and even on the second floor it was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was included and they kept our luggage in lock up untill we were ready to leave.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Everyone enjoys a surprise and its makes us very happy that your overall stay was a nice surprise. Reviews like yours makes us feel very proud of our staff and how they take care of our guests needs in a friendly efficient manner and as a team we strive to make a good impression. Thank you for staying with us, your kind review and high recommendations .. until the next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    245
    69
    7
    1
See reviews for
103
313
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel La Flora. I typically like to stay at 4 or 5 star hotels when I travel, but due to the outrageous pricing during Ultra Music Fest, I had to downscale a bit. The staff and location of Hotel La Flora were excellent. The room itself was tiny and the strangest thing was there was not one mirror outside of the bathroom! This made it a bit difficult to get ready but overall it was a wonderful stay. I also missed a pool but the hotel was only about a block from the picturesque beaches, restaurants and clubs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It’s so nice to be pleasantly surprised especially when your used to the 5 star hotels and then a little change brought you to a lovely hotel that offers a wonderful stay with 5 star charm !
Thank you for your kind review and hope to see you both again ….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came to Miami Beach for part of our honeymoon. I spent a lot of time researching hotels in South Beach to find the right one for us. I was looking for something with the right location, price, and quality. La Flora had great reviews, so I settled on it. We were not disappointed and we plan to stay here again on our next trip to Miami Beach. There were plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping and sight seeing around the hotel within walking distance. The beach is 2 blocks away!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor to be away from the noise in the lobby. There is a bar in the looby t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We love our Honeymooners and very happy you made the right choice with no disappointments.
Being able to search travel sites and find location, price and quality is one of the wonderful blessings with Tripadvisor … and you plan to come back !!!
Once again congratulations with bundles of love and happiness and we await your return !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Hotel La Flora in November last year. We had a double bedroom on the third floor at the back of the building. The room was a good size and had everything we needed. It was also really quiet so I can really recommend rooms on higher floors. The staff were professional and helpful. We had an issue with our toilet which they came and sorted out quite quickly.

The breakfast was lovely. Each day we had a plentiful breakfast of bagels, eggs, cakes and cereal. It set us up well for every day in Miami beach, we hardly had appetites for the rest of the day!

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Everything is in walking distance and the beach is literally a 5 minute walk away. Lincoln drive is about a 10 minute walk away.

Overall, we had an excellent stay at Hotel La Flora and wouldn't hesitate to book it again if I were to return to Miami Beach. Being extrememly good value for money certainly doesn't hurt either!

Room Tip: Request a room on as high a floor as possible and one facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Another nice surprise … 4 months later and it was so nice to have you both as our guests and all the British twang that you brought with you ! This type of review shows all that we offer our guests in a perfect comfortable package ... location, easy walking, clean, helpful staff and just right for your pocket and you wouldn’t hesitate to come back … and we all look forward to your return !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved La Flora hotel from the warm welcome until the sad moment we had to leave!

Trying to find a nice hotel in a great location at an affordable price, we truly struck gold with La Flora. The hotel was in a great location, only steps away from the ocean in the heart of south Miami Beach. It had a contemporary airy beach vibe with touches of art deco. It was pristine clean and well maintained, which is something we really appreciated. Our bright spacious room with a big comfy bed and a modern bathroom met all our expectations (we would have happily moved in for good!).

And, we have to give special thanks to Ros, the general manager, and her staff, who made us feel sincerely welcome and at home! We were really impressed by the attention they gave to us; they showed genuine interest in our visiting plans, making great suggestions for places to see and visit, as well as helping us make them happen. We really felt that they did not only have the goal of ensuring that their guests were happy, but that they enjoyed working there as a team, and took pride in their work and enjoyed exceeding their guests’ expectations.

If there is one thing we would have changed, it is to have written this review sooner because La Flora truly was an amazing experience and the perfect getaway from New York!

We stayed in October for 5 nights as a couple.

We can’t wait to be back!
K&P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a nice surprise … 5 months later and having you both back would be our pleasure, great to hear from you and remembering us after so long with such a lovely review ! l remember you so well and the contagious laughter that followed …. and yes we all take pride in offering our guests a welcoming smile and it doesn’t stop there, but for you after such a long time I can happily inform you that the same La Flora Team are still happily working and eager to make all our guests feel at home …. Hurry Back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights before travelling on to The Keys. Booked it because of the trip advisor reviews and I am so glad I did. It is an unbelievable price for the location and for what you get. We had a large room on the second floor very tastefully decorated. White in abundance which made the room feel and look cool. As well as the bedroom there was also a separate seating area. Breakfast was simple and bagels were heated by a charming lady. All the staff we came into contact with we're very friendly informative and extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience the delights of staying on Collins Ave and being within walking distance of all that South Beach has to offer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are so glad you did too and it was our pleasure to have you both as our guests and once again Trip trumped the cards ! Offering our guests comfortable accommodation’s, perfect location and five star charm allows every member of staff to assist in all your needs to thoroughly enjoy South Beach. Thank you for your lovely review ... until the next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked for two 2 night stays at La Flora either side of a cruise. We chose the hotel based on feedback on this site, and we were not disappointed. It is comfortable, well located and met the needs of us and the family we were travelling with ideally. General Manager Ros could not have been more friendly or helpful, particularly by extending the use of our room on our last day. The concierges Terren, Carlos and Lewis were also most helpful with taxis and with any of our enquiries. The rooms were ideal, with a very comfortable bed, large TV and two free bottles of water. Coffee making facilities would have been nice, but coffee was at least available from the Breakfast bar at 07:00 hrs.
As others have said, the hotel is ideally situated on Collins Avenue, close to Ocean Drive and South Beach, and for some good shopping. There are plenty of local restaurants, including the Cafe Del Sol where we ate, and the Diner on 10th Street.
Interestingly the soundproofing in the hotel was excellent. On one occasion the bar was full of youngsters when we were retiring, but with the firedoor closed we heard no noise one floor up at all, which was reassuring.
Our only issue with our stay was the price of the drinks at the bar. On each of our stays we were given a voucher for a free drink, which was restricted to Gin, Vodka or Wine. The Gin and Vodka were non-proprietary labels, although they were also stocked. On buying a further two Vodka and tonics, I was served the same cheap alcohol and charged $10 per drink which I found excessive, and almost twice what I had to pay on the cruise. I gathered later that the bar is run as a separate franchise from the hotel, but I don't think their pricing policy helped the hotel at all, and we didn't take any more drinks there.
Do not let this put you off - La Flora is a fine hotel, and my wife and I would certainly stay there again if we are lucky enough to visit Miami from the UK again

Room Tip: None of the rooms have much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Wow what a nice review and we all enjoyed making your first stay comfortable and enjoyable which made your return stay a piece of cake and we all thank you for your compliments as each and every member of staff excels to make our guests feel at home ! On the bar side I can only apologize, and I have spoken to the Bar Mgr. Juan with regards to pricing and he has clarified that all bartenders should always offer a regular or high end liquor and the normal price for a regular Vodka & Tonic is $8 and what does that mean for you and your wife … next time you’re in Miami the drinks are on us, hoping we are lucky enough to have you back again …. Until the next time !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.