We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Back to School ....
Ranked #17 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague for one night in November 2012, prior to a conference at Doral. The room was very, very spacious: bathroom, living area, 2 beds, and windows onto the street and on the side. The hotel is very convenient to everything that South Beach offers - 1 block to the beach, and there is an excellent Italian restaurant, Spiga, just next door.

The room was recently renovated to a nice finish, very comfortable and clean, even though not luxurious. The price of the room seemed to be a little on the high side, but as mentioned, there was plenty of space, and I know that hotels in the area can be very expensive for what you get, so I would think that this hotel provides good value.

I made the reservation by phone, and spoke with Ros, the manager, who made me feel very welcome. Overall, the service at the hotel was excellent! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
So nice to hear from you and I clearly remember chatting with you and finalizing your reservation and for myself as the GM it is a pleasure knowing you had an excellent time by your wonderful comment’s. Although only one night you did get to experience all we have to offer and I see you enjoyed the famous Spiga restaurant. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    198
    61
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
265
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here with my husband my 2 year old daughter and had the most wonderful stay! The room was very spacious with a mini kitchen and separate seating area, the staff were friendly and so accommodating We couldn't of asked for more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Such a lovely short review with wonderful praise, we thank you and your family for enjoying your stay with us and when you have children with you it’s always nice to have a little extra space to swing those toys. Our wonderful staff offer customer service in a friendly efficient manner and we are all extremely happy that you enjoyed the extra 5 star treatment … Until the next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel was conveniently located, rooms were comfortable and spacious but not luxurious.
But exceedingly quirky:
At check in they insisted on making copies of both of our driver's licenses " so we will know who is in the hotel in case of fire." Insisted on payment of $25 in cash at check-in for valet parking service. Made a big desl of giving us two free drink coupons but when we ordered a beer and a glass of wine were told neither of those were usable as our free drink. Put a coffee maker in the room but no coffee to use in it. Etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Quirky, its definition shines through as either a little strange or cool and in this case it’s cool, because if you’re looking for a 5 Star luxurious hotel this is not for you but if you are ready to enjoy an historic Art Deco Boutique hotel providing simple pleasures with a 5 star charm then this is the place to be with outstanding service, centrally located and a cool vibe … We continue to offer our eagerness to correct any problems on our part to make all our guest’s stay comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Miami as an adult and boy was this a great location for us to be in. Your a stone throw away from the beach and a host of great places to eat. Your also close enough to walk to where the night life is and it's located far enough away that the music will not effect your sleep. The rooms where nice,clean and tidy. They had everything you need. They where styled basic & modern (how you would think ikea would style a room nothing fancy just clean and comfortable).
The staffs service was second to non they where all genuinely nice and it was refreshing.
There was an English lady there that was a manager or poss the owner, I can't think of her name right now but thank you making our stay at your hotel for my 30th birthday a great one.
Thank you all Cherisse & Elliott

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Our central location is a great starting point for a wonderful getaway and welcoming our guests and making them feel at home is next and we are so happy we made your first visit to South Beach enjoyable and refreshing. Thank you both for choosing to stay with us, it’s always so nice to have a celebration and offering a little birthday cheer is part of our customer service. We thank you for your kind review and look forward to seeing you both again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Miami Beach. We were taking a three day cruise and wanted to spend a night in South Beach after hearing so many things about it. The hotels in the area were all pretty expensive, but La Flora was very reasonably priced for its location. The staff was fabulous! All 4 front desk people we were exposed to bent over backwards to help. They answered many questions and helped us pick out some excellent sights to see and places to visit. The rooms are simple, but very clean. The room itself looked new, and everything worked very well. Can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel room with hard wood floors. It was only a short one block walk to an amazing beach, there were hundreds of restaurants within a close walk, and a hopping club just two blocks away. We had a great time and highly recommend La Flora!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Overall you had a great end to your cruising vacation and I’m very happy you had the pleasure of staying the last night with us at La Flora to explore a little of South Beach. Our mission is to provide a warm welcoming smile and offer friendly customer service to the point of being fabulous and making sure all our guests are comfortable. This past year we have changed and improved many fixtures and fittings and continue each and every day and we are glad you had a great time, thank you for your kind review and high recommendations !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotels at South Beach are expensive. A hotel like La Flora would probably cost a lot less most other places but on South Beach I would consider it of very good value.
At my early arrival I got a nice reseption and great service. When my room was ready, it was spotless and looket like it had been renovated reasently.
Its one block from the beach and all its caotic tourist restaurants.
Collins Avenue has a bit of traffic but it was not notable in my room. And the beds were great.
Only thing to be negative about was that the toilet was broken and I had to open it and stick my hand in the water (not the toilet...) and pull the plug. I didn't bother telling the reception until the next morning when I was leaving but it seemed like a hotel where they would fix this right away.
Bottom line- I would defenitly recomend La Flora, for South Beach it's good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Being centrally located, clean and customer service top notch what else could you ask for …. and what else could we ask for but a guest who takes on his own maintenance and pulls that plug and bottom line would definitely recommend !
A pleasure to have you as our guests and we thank you for a shining review … until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Miami Beach and mostly stay in smaller boutique hotels. I had to book a last minute business trip to Miami Beach in January; and read the past reviews of the Hotel La Flora on this website. I thought La Flora was worth a try as it was highly rated by past visitors and very economical. The hotel lived up to my expectations. The people, who worked here were lovely and very accommodating. My room and ensuite bath were large for a hotel of this type and everything was spotless.

The only annoyance was the ubiquitous SoBe "resort" fee of $11.20/day; but you do get free bottled water, continental breakfast, a welcome cocktail and beach towels.

I definitely would stay here again and have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Unless you like noise, rooms on the south side are best as there is a parking lot on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Expectations are sometimes hard to live up to and I’m so glad they did for you as we strive to keep our standards of customer service and housekeeping to the highest level. Your wonderful review and recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return !!!
p.s. Wi-Fi is complimentary too …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.