We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sun Sand & Save
Ranked #16 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Budget Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Miami Beach and mostly stay in smaller boutique hotels. I had to book a last minute business trip to Miami Beach in January; and read the past reviews of the Hotel La Flora on this website. I thought La Flora was worth a try as it was highly rated by past visitors and very economical. The hotel lived up to my expectations. The people, who worked here were lovely and very accommodating. My room and ensuite bath were large for a hotel of this type and everything was spotless.

The only annoyance was the ubiquitous SoBe "resort" fee of $11.20/day; but you do get free bottled water, continental breakfast, a welcome cocktail and beach towels.

I definitely would stay here again and have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Unless you like noise, rooms on the south side are best as there is a parking lot on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Expectations are sometimes hard to live up to and I’m so glad they did for you as we strive to keep our standards of customer service and housekeeping to the highest level. Your wonderful review and recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return !!!
p.s. Wi-Fi is complimentary too …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    189
    50
    7
    1
See reviews for
69
249
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent 1 night here and can't wait to get back. The location is perfect. The rooms are simple but clean. And the service is fantastic. Thinking about buying a place in MB and got some great advice at the front desk. Thanks for the insight! Made an offer on a place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
What a nice end to a wonderful one night stay …. although not quite long enough to enjoy all that South Beach has to offer but we really appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to your return and hope that your offer is successful … Hurry Back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed @ Hotel La Flora Feb. 1st-3rd and enjoyed my stay immensely! The hotel itself is immaculately kept, with inviting decor. The staff was always very friendly and accomodating. And the location is prime! I have to travel back to Miami Beach for business this coming weekend so I booked @ La Flora again. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: You may want to request a room that does not face the parking lot if car noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
So nice to hear that you enjoyed your first visit and you’re returning so soon.
Being an Art Deco Boutique hotel secures the quaintness, a welcoming smile from our staff secures being comfortable which for you as the guest secures a great stay !!!
We look forward to seeing you very soon and thank you for your wonderful review and high recommendations ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

stayed at this hotel 20th - 24th jan right in the middle of south beach at a very reasonable price the manger Roz and her staff were more then helpful i had a delayed flight and she let keep room til 6pm free of charge the rooms were large and very clean would recommened this hotel thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
A pleasure to hear you all enjoyed your stay,our friendly staff enjoyed making your stay comfortable and I’m glad we were able to assist with the late checkout as being delayed at the airport is not a pleasant experience especially with a child, so glad you were able to enjoy a few more beach hours. Thank you for your recommendation’s and when your travels bring you back this way again we will be here to welcome you all !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london- Tuscany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This family owned hotel is so far the best I have been in Miami Beach quality Price.
The location is the best you can expect as is on 12st so in the center of South beach and on Collins so you do not get the noisy clubs from Ocean drive.
Parking is next to the Hotel but they also have Valet parking.
Rooms are very clean, comfortable and Miami art deco style. Staff is very very Kind and available, I really had a good time in this Hotel and I will go back for sure.
Wi fi is available in all the rooms and common area.
I have a hotel in Italy and I have to reccomend this hotel to my friends

Room Tip: suites are nice and Big
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Just wonderful … we are all pleasantly charged at such a lovely review and we sincerely thank you for taking the opportunity to stay with us and for allowing us to impact you as we have.
What makes us one of the best is having wonderful guests who appreciate what we have to offer and allowing us to provide a warm welcoming smile, friendly customer service and as I have said before … then everything falls nicely into place !!!
Thank you for your kind review and recommendations, we look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

For how reasonable the prices were my husband and I were not expecting anything extravagant, but this hotel surprised us! La Flora is very quaint and so well put together and inviting. It may not be the fanciest place on the block but we felt right at home. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Eventhough we only stayed one night in South Beach we fell in love with this place. But the best part was definitely the staff!! I have never experienced such great service from so many staff members. Their kindness was not something you can teach or fake, it was genuine. They were so helpful with finding transportation for us and with other information. The breakfast was good and fresh. The lobby is gorgeous. I absolutely adore this place. If we ever visit South Beach again we won't hesitate to book here.

The only warning is that it can get quite loud outside at night because it is right in the middle of all the action, so if you are a light sleeper or want peace and quiet, I would keep this in mind. Its not the La Flora's fault, just comes with the amazing location near the beach. Also, keep in mind that it is an old building so it does show some age, but I feel like it adds to the Miami feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Everyone loves a surprise and making our guests feel at home is that “unexpected extravagance” that we offer, we also throw in a little 5 star charm … and keep in mind that yes we are the older building but age should never be divulged but on this occasion the secret to aging well is ... upon arrival you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building and once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history and this is I believe is why you fell in love with this place and it’s all genuine !
Hurry Back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel because of the location and couldn't not have been happier in that regard. This hotel is within mere blocks from everything.

The hotel staff was AMAZING; super friendly and helpful as soon as we walked in right up until we left. I enjoyed the continental breakfast every morning I was there and was very happy with the options (standard fare of bagels, boiled eggs, cereal, coffee, orange juice). The lobby is nice and trendy with a bar and tables. Good ambiance.

The only thing keeping me from being 100% satisfied with my stay is the housekeeping. The floors were not cleaned daily, especially in the bathroom where we saw hair and dust accumulate over the three days we were there. Also, the bathtub did not drain well and by the end of a 10 minute shower, the water was up over my ankles. Not normally a problem, but after being at the beach all day, one tends to get dirtier than usual. The tub got really cruddy. I told the front desk and the next day it drained a little better, but not great. It took about 15 minutes to get above my ankles. So my complaint is not about the staff, but about the plumbing.

Overall, not a bad place. It's a 2-star hotel, so I wasn't expecting much, but if they fixed the plumbing and cleaning issues, I would have sworn it was 3 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It’s a pleasure to read you had a good experience overall even though you had a little interruption with the plumbing/cleaning that took away a few ticks on the ratings but you may not be aware that on the odd occasion here in South Beach the old piping sometimes has digestive problems and in this case when our maintenance attacked the tub there was a good part of the beach stuck down there waiting for a bucket and spade … and as expressed in past reviews cleanliness is well rated and I certainly apologize for any hair, dust or sand that gathered and hope this will not deter you from returning to fulfill your overall experience …. Thank you ladies for staying with us and we look forward to the next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.