We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora to your Saves list
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great location, room was comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and I appreciated the free cocktail coupon at check-in. Very nice breakfast offered in the morning in beautiful lobby setting. I would like to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
And what makes a beautiful hotel … firstly, having wonderful guests’ and secondly a warm welcoming smile with friendly customer service and once you pass that stage then everything else full’s nicely into place ! Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    245
    69
    7
    1
See reviews for
103
313
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joinville, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of South Beach and offers rooms very clean and comfortable.

The location and price are definitely the strengths of this hotel. Everything is on the 3-5 minute walk. The beach, restaurants, bars, stores, tatto shops, Lincoln Road, the Espanhola Road... Everything!

The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. However, the lady who served breakfast was rude and impolite. This is the main negative point.

The breakfast was simple. A continental breakfast. We were told about it, so it was no surprise. Anyway, with bread, boiled eggs, muffins, cereal, the breakfast was sufficient. No luxury, but the tables in the external area provided very pleasant environment.

The hotel is old, but we can say "vintage" because it is very clean, well decorated and organized.

For the price we paid ($ 100 per day), the hotel was quite good.

In this area, the prices tend to be much higher.

Recommended for people on a tight budget, but do not give up a hotel with comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Vintage is a modern translation for an historic building and the La Flora is just that, and still boasts the original Art Deco style façade and once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do apologize for the impolite breakfast server but I can assure you it was not her intentions as we have been extremely busy and now I have added another person to assist.
Your comments are very much appreciated and we really enjoyed having you as our guest’s.
We look forward to seeing you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week after xmas. The room was nice and very CLEAN which can be hard to find in miami. Desk staff/management were top notch and accommodating. Cleaning staff were very friendly as well. Good location one block from ocean drive. You can't ask for more from a place like this (not a large high rise).
I saw a review regarding noise from club mansion. We stayed in a room at the end of the hall, closest to the alley that separates the hotel from the club. While we could hear it, it was not shaking the room and could not be heard over the central air. Its a non-issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Everyone needs a clean and friendly hotel and yes it can be hard to find but I’m glad you found it with us and receiving top notch customer service is a huge bonus ! La Flora is a Art Deco Boutique hotel centrally located in South Beach with 5 star charm and from all of us … thank you for spending a little time to enjoy all we have to offer and for a lovely review … we look forward to seeing you all again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice room, helpfull staff, clean and tidy.

Only a few steps to ocean drive, shopping, dinner and beach! Would go there definitely again.

Included were: Internet/wifi and breakfast, welcome drink (u can choose - we had vodka-cranberry)
Valet parking 25$ per day, but there are cheaper parking spots around

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor on the very end away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Yes we are in a perfect location and as the GM I have to compliment all my staff equally as each
and every review has great words for the high quality and care that they offer to all our guests.
Thank you for your kind review and recommendations, we look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are a couple and stayed at the hotel for 9 nights. The room was clean and huge.The staff was extremely kind and helpuful all the time. The location is excellent, close to Ocean Drive, the beach and Lincoln road. We would highly recommend it.
The only two things that need to be fixed probably are:
sometimes there was a bad smell coming from the toilet, but nothing major
there are not enough tables for breakfast and the poor woman serving the breakfast in the morning goes crazy with all the requests alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It’s always such an enormous pleasure to earn such a nice review and we thank you for taking the time to do so. We all strive to make our guests comfortable and knowing you will recommend us is very much appreciated. We have recently purchased new tables and chairs for our terrace and I have taken note of your comments regarding morning breakfast to ensure there is sufficient help. Thank you for making La Flora your choice of stay and we look forward to seeing you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for one night. It was a terrfic location, just one block from the beach and steps away from the nightlife. The hotel was an old hotel that was well maintained and spotless. We had just come from Key West and were wrapping up our week with our final day in South Beach. When we walked into our room we both looked at each other and laughed. It was sparse and "Shaker Like". Just a double bed (they said it was a queen but I doubt it) a bed side table and a small dresser. The closet was small and so was the bathroom, but the room was adequate and clean. Absolutely nothing fancy at all. This was all acceptable because we spent very little time in our room, as we only had one day to see South Beach. We ran out to the beach which was lovely and just a short walk across Collins Avenue and down the walk to the beach. The night life is just 2-3 blocks away and we enjoyed Mangoes for dinner and the entertainment. We then walked back to the hotel and collapsed with exhaustion into our Horrible Bed!! The mattress was old and lumpy with little to no support and with every turn the box spring squeeked and moaned like a haunted house. We were too exhausted and it was too late to ask for a room change so we just put up with it for one night. At breakfast in the morning we talked with a couple who said their first room was on the second floor and the mattress was the same. They said they complained and were moved to another floor where the bed was perfect. I voiced my complaint at check out and the manager was more than lovely and gave me a free night with our next visit. I don't know if we will ever take advantage of this but it was a nice gesture.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It’s nice to see that your overall stay was enjoyable until your bed episode and of course who needs a bumpy bed that moans during the night ! My maintenance team and I went to your room and yes we could hear the moaning ... it was the box spring not the mattress which we replaced the same day in both rooms. Each and every hotel has its individual charm and La Flora Hotel is a true Art Deco Boutique historic building and I’m glad I was able to speak with you before leaving to personally apologize and offer a complimentary night which l hope you get to take advantage of if your travels bring you back to South Beach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at the La Flora to be told every travellers worst nightmare.

"Sorry, its kinda busy this weekend, so we don't have a room for you."

Too bad for us as we had a confirmed booking for three nights booked through Trip Advisor's website. And it was not cheap at USD$300 + per night thanks to the Basil Art Show being on all weekend.

To their credit, the lady at La Flora was very friendly (and so she should be) and arranged for us to stay at the hotel two doors away called "The Impala". This turned out to be a very sweet, lovely hotel built in the Art Deco style of the area. See "Impala Hotel" for our review.

La Flora, by all accounts, is a great little hotel.

We will never know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Firstly I would like to express my sincere apologies with not being able to fulfill your reservation and as the GM I am totally responsible for making sure all reservations are guaranteed and in this case l overlooked our allotment for the King Suite required. Although it could have turned into my nightmare then yours I acted swiftly to secure a King Suite (during Art Basel) at our next door Hotel Impala and from your recent review it was obviously my best move as your wonderful comments “We highly recommend The Impala Hotel” showed that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
La Flora is a great little Art Deco Hotel and I would really like for you both to contact me personally, Ms. Ros Gottuso and hoping that at some point you will return to Miami and have the pleasure of being our confirmed guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.