We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora to your Saves list
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are a couple and stayed at the hotel for 9 nights. The room was clean and huge.The staff was extremely kind and helpuful all the time. The location is excellent, close to Ocean Drive, the beach and Lincoln road. We would highly recommend it.
The only two things that need to be fixed probably are:
sometimes there was a bad smell coming from the toilet, but nothing major
there are not enough tables for breakfast and the poor woman serving the breakfast in the morning goes crazy with all the requests alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It’s always such an enormous pleasure to earn such a nice review and we thank you for taking the time to do so. We all strive to make our guests comfortable and knowing you will recommend us is very much appreciated. We have recently purchased new tables and chairs for our terrace and I have taken note of your comments regarding morning breakfast to ensure there is sufficient help. Thank you for making La Flora your choice of stay and we look forward to seeing you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    247
    69
    7
    1
See reviews for
103
314
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for one night. It was a terrfic location, just one block from the beach and steps away from the nightlife. The hotel was an old hotel that was well maintained and spotless. We had just come from Key West and were wrapping up our week with our final day in South Beach. When we walked into our room we both looked at each other and laughed. It was sparse and "Shaker Like". Just a double bed (they said it was a queen but I doubt it) a bed side table and a small dresser. The closet was small and so was the bathroom, but the room was adequate and clean. Absolutely nothing fancy at all. This was all acceptable because we spent very little time in our room, as we only had one day to see South Beach. We ran out to the beach which was lovely and just a short walk across Collins Avenue and down the walk to the beach. The night life is just 2-3 blocks away and we enjoyed Mangoes for dinner and the entertainment. We then walked back to the hotel and collapsed with exhaustion into our Horrible Bed!! The mattress was old and lumpy with little to no support and with every turn the box spring squeeked and moaned like a haunted house. We were too exhausted and it was too late to ask for a room change so we just put up with it for one night. At breakfast in the morning we talked with a couple who said their first room was on the second floor and the mattress was the same. They said they complained and were moved to another floor where the bed was perfect. I voiced my complaint at check out and the manager was more than lovely and gave me a free night with our next visit. I don't know if we will ever take advantage of this but it was a nice gesture.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It’s nice to see that your overall stay was enjoyable until your bed episode and of course who needs a bumpy bed that moans during the night ! My maintenance team and I went to your room and yes we could hear the moaning ... it was the box spring not the mattress which we replaced the same day in both rooms. Each and every hotel has its individual charm and La Flora Hotel is a true Art Deco Boutique historic building and I’m glad I was able to speak with you before leaving to personally apologize and offer a complimentary night which l hope you get to take advantage of if your travels bring you back to South Beach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at the La Flora to be told every travellers worst nightmare.

"Sorry, its kinda busy this weekend, so we don't have a room for you."

Too bad for us as we had a confirmed booking for three nights booked through Trip Advisor's website. And it was not cheap at USD$300 + per night thanks to the Basil Art Show being on all weekend.

To their credit, the lady at La Flora was very friendly (and so she should be) and arranged for us to stay at the hotel two doors away called "The Impala". This turned out to be a very sweet, lovely hotel built in the Art Deco style of the area. See "Impala Hotel" for our review.

La Flora, by all accounts, is a great little hotel.

We will never know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms. Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Firstly I would like to express my sincere apologies with not being able to fulfill your reservation and as the GM I am totally responsible for making sure all reservations are guaranteed and in this case l overlooked our allotment for the King Suite required. Although it could have turned into my nightmare then yours I acted swiftly to secure a King Suite (during Art Basel) at our next door Hotel Impala and from your recent review it was obviously my best move as your wonderful comments “We highly recommend The Impala Hotel” showed that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
La Flora is a great little Art Deco Hotel and I would really like for you both to contact me personally, Ms. Ros Gottuso and hoping that at some point you will return to Miami and have the pleasure of being our confirmed guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i loveddddd this hotel! the staff was very nice and the place was nice and clean. The room itself was lovely, big screen TV, comfy beds. I love the fact that you can change the temperture because i get cold and like to have some type of heat on lol. The bathroom was very spacious and i loved that! Overall i had a great time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Firstly, thank you for having an awesome experience with us and secondly for making La Flora your hotel of choice whist in South beach. Being able to have that overall experience and take advantage of all that we have to offer and knowing you will definitely be back makes us all look forward to your return … many thanks for a lovely review !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room was confortable, clean, quiet even the night. The staff is very nice and helpfull, mainly Carlos.
There is a valet parking but either a public parking next and other options too (Collins Avenue is difficult to park!).
The hotel is very near Ocean Av and Lincoln Road (just 4 blocks), good option of restaurants and stores in the neighboorhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
As the GM I am very proud that all our reviews reflect such excellent guest services all round and thank you for your kind words regarding all our staff and Carlos in particular who enjoyed taking care of all your needs. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us a nice review.
We look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel lobby rocks, salsas & rumbas until midnight so don't plan on turning in before then! La Flora offers HUGE rooms with giant screen TV's and oversized baths. For $169. we stayed in room 209 right above the lobby so it was very loud until midnight. Solution was easy, we enjoy the party! South beach is a step back in time to the 50's so set your expectations. This is not a chain hotel but a true art deco boutique. Our room was actually a two room suite and had a large living area with couch, tables, two chairs, desk, kitchenette w/small refrigerator. Double doors separated the bedroom where a very large screen TV hangs on the wall, floor space to accommodate a full size chaise lounge, dresser, two bedside tables and a separate closet with ironing board and iron! The lobby also offers a free continental breakfast. The staff is friendly, attentive and very helpful. The location is perfect. A Starbucks is less than a block away, the beach is one block and the colorful flavor of Espanola Way and Lincoln Streets about 5 blocks.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Enjoying a little Salsa & Rumba on a Saturday night is a must when in South Beach and of course being able to experience it in our lounge bar is wonderful. La Flora is a true Art Deco hotel dating back to 1929 and as previous guests have mentioned … this is not your run of the mill luxury but comfortable clean with friendly staff to assist in your everyday needs and the location is just perfect.
It was my pleasure to meet you all and thank you for your kind review … until the next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in this art deco boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach. The service was excellent. Luis the front desk agent offered great service, all hotel staff was kind and attentive. This hotel is an excellent choice for those looking to enjoy the famous South Beach nightlife as well as the beach,shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean,the beds are comfortable and the rates are reasonable.
Would definitely come back to La Flora Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
A lovely review and knowing you enjoyed your stay with us is very rewarding !
Our staff are available 24 hours a day including myself to take care of all our guests needs and thank you for your special comments for Luis … he and every member of staff know how to make our guests comfortable and I will certainly share your kind words with him.
We thank you for enjoying the La Flora experience and look forward to seeing you again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.