We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life saver with huge rooms and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora

Save Saved
You added La Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Flora
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sun Sand & Save
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A life saver with huge rooms and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at La Flora recently when we were stranded in Miami. We were due to fly to Ny during Hurricane Sandy the day it hit and the hotel we were leaving had no rooms left to extend our stay. La Flora and their perfect staff came to our rescue and we wish we had stayed here all along.

We wish we could remember the name of the lady who checked us in and helped us throughout the stay - she was one of the nicest people we have ever met. She was so empathetic of our situation and immediately made us feel welcome and more at ease just with her general kindness.

The room was humongous and always very clean. The location is also ideal for to access anything in the South Beach area. We would most definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who is considering going to Miami. Thanks La Flora!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Being stranded in Miami is not such a bad thing … but being rescued in Miami is fabulous and allowing us to make your unexpected stay welcoming and comfortable was our mission. Now let’s talk about the lady who showed you kindness, understanding and empathetic of your situation that made the rest of your stay perfect … Taryn … as the GM I thank you for those wonderful comments and I have shared those with her and I know that each and every member of our team made sure you had an excellent stay.
Your review and recommendations are truly appreciated ... until the next time !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    184
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
67
245
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I spent a great week at this lovely hotel in South Beach. The staff and GM were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them and it was like staying with friends! Our suite was spacious and clean and we loved the walk-in shower we requested. The included continental breakfast was more than adequate for us, although some people may not have agreed. The location of this hotel is fantastic - close to the beach, Lincoln Road, Washington Avenue - all the places you need to be! And the Art Deco Hotels are all amazing - we loved it all!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Who needs friends when you stay at the La Flora Hotel !
Thank you for a wonderful review and it’s great to know that you both thoroughly enjoyed all we have to offer from start to finish. Central location is always a must and once we gave you your directions … then South Beach became your oyster. Thank you for taking a moment from the rest of your travels to review us we look forward to the next time .... You’re Friends !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at La Flora Hotel in Miami Beach. The hotel was very nice and clean. It is close to the beach and Lincoln Road. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included. The room was a little small, but very comfortable and clean! I recommend this place.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor but towards the back and away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Each and every member of staff at La Flora are happy that you got to enjoy our friendly, clean, comfortable hotel and their friendly manner to take care of you and go that extra mile to make your stay complete. Thank you for sharing your kind comments and recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at La Flora on four separate occasions in October 2012.

The service is excellent. Tarin who is the lady behind the front desk is by far the best person i have encountered in the tourism industry. The Tarin and the general manager is very knowledgable and helpful not only with south beach but also the florida keys.

The rooms are exactly what you want. It is by far the closest and cheapest accom next to the beach. Please dont think becuase you are going for a cheaper hotel that you will get any less in terms of service, room, cleanliness or even breakfast.

I highly recomment this hotel to couples and familys alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Amazing is one of the nicest compliments and we really appreciate your wonderful review and knowing you all had a fabulous time that you kept coming back makes us very honored. Your exceptional compliments for Taryn are also amazing and the customer service that she and all the staff offer is detailed from the very first welcome smile ! Thank you for high recommendations and when your travels bring you back this way again we will all be here to welcome you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is close to everything. Breakfast was not so great, but there are plenty of places to eat out anyway. The valet parking was speedy, but you have to pay in cash only and we were not expecting this. It wasn't however a problem. The only negative comment I have is that the rooms are tiny, we were mid road trip and because parking is valet, we needed to bring all our luggage in. This meant we didn't have a lot of space. In all, it's a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Sounds like you both had a nice stay and the couple of niggles that you refer too are relatively easy for me to explain as we like our guests to be happy and comfortable …we may have one or two rooms that are average size otherwise they are very spacious and breakfast is complimentary continental which has a variety for all taste buds and enough to get your day going ! Being in a central location provides easy access to explore everything South Beach has to offer. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were wonderfully received by the friendly staff, they helped us with everything all the time. Our suite was spacious and clean. They were very helpful with the valet parking and our lost valuables. Thanx La Flora! Jan and Johan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jan & Johan,
Your kind review makes us all proud that we contributed to making your stay in South Beach the best ! As the GM l am very happy you enjoyed our friendly customer service and the quality of our rooms was to your satisfaction. A warm thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you both again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable and friendly. Pretty much all we needed for a weekend in South Beach. The staff at the front desk were great, check in was quick and efficient. Valet parking was expensive but seeing as we're from London, we weren't as shocked as we could have been. The king size room was spacious and we had great storage space. The bathroom was good, however I would suggest a lower bath tub to step in and out of, it was almost dangerous trying to have a shower after a few drinks in the room! The hotel itself was small, with a basic breakfast served on the bar however it is Miami, you have to expect it! The free welcome drink was a lovely touch and although the cocktails were not the greatest, the bar was very decently priced. Personally I found the hotel a little cold LITERALLY, the AC was always on full blast. However it may have been because we visited when it was a little cooler and unfortunately a little rainy! There are plenty of great restaurants in the area and the beach is a 5 minute walk away. A great hotel if you're looking for a value for money hotel in the South Beach area which is clean and where the staff are great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros G, General Manager at La Flora, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Clean, comfortable and friendly are excellent ingredients for a great stay and we are very happy that is all you needed to make your weekend enjoyable. Personally myself as the GM and also being a fellow Brit, l sometimes find the Lobby AC a little chilly but I put it down to our blue blood ! Our wonderful staff offer customer service in a friendly and efficient manner and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in a lovely review. Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora

Address: 1238 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Flora 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Hotel is one of the most breathtaking examples of Art Deco architecture in South Beach and is centrally located on Collins Avenue between 12th and 13th streets, just steps from the beautiful beaches of Miami's South Beach and within walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants, and nightlife that South Beach is famous for. Under new management since February 2012, the hotel has recently received extensive upgrades and has become one of the most noteworthy and well reviewed South Beach boutique hotels. Upon arrival at La Flora Hotel, you will notice the stunning, historic Art Deco style façade of the building. Once you step into the lobby, the original 1929 terrazzo floor and marble wainscot will further accentuate La Flora’s rich history. Our friendly staff will greet you with a warm smile and will only be focused on meeting all of your needs. The guest rooms at La Flora present a warm and inviting sanctuary for relaxation. Plush beds appointed with comfortable and luxurious white linens offer a perfect place to rest after a long day of playing and partying. New 40” flat screen televisions, refinished furniture, and new hardwood floors offer the finishing touch for a design that is consistent with the flavor and style of South Beach and the atmosphere that you would expect.South Beach is world-renowned as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. It offers an exciting nightlife, world-class cuisine, and an appealing and stylish crowd. La Flora Hotel puts it all within comfortable reach and invites you to experience it all in style. With its ideal location, La Flora Hotel places you in the best spot for all of the South Beach action you wish to handle.With the combination of its service-oriented staff, central location, beautiful Art Deco architecture, and upgraded appointments, your stay at the La Flora is sure to be an exciting and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.