We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Art Deco district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Monticello
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location in Art Deco district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel is located between 14th and 15th street on Ocean Drive in the heart of the Art Deco district. It is an old hotel that has been remodeled. Park your car as traffic is crazy. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We had room 401 the rooftop terrace. Odd room with noisy window AC unit which is mounted so high you can't adjust the controls. There is no in room coffee. The terrace off of the room is huge and overlooks Ocean Dr. Valet parking is $40 and there is a $20 additional fee when you check in. A continental breakfast is included.

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 6CPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for two Nights, location was good. Helpful staff. The wi-fi did not reach ro our Room on third floor. Breakfast included but what acctually is included is pretty poor, you can add stuff if you pay extra. Four slices of bacon is 4$ e.g

You can park just outside on ocean Dr for 4$ /hour.

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were frankly stunning here. Friendly helpful attentive. The location is super great. The restaurant and bar are excellent made better by top notch staff. Breakfast was included as was really good. The location is great to be in the heart South Beach and a short walk to Lincoln. The rooms are smallish but nobody is there to hang in the rooms. Also could use some polishing... it feels like spring break took its toll in general wear n tear. For the price we paid it was a steal of a deal. But beware the onsite extra charges... thou everyone does it so it all evens out. Oh ya that was NOT a king bed.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms in the front. Pick a higher floor to get any kind of view on the sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Penguin hotel has a great location right on the beach and walking distance to all the great shops Miami Beach has to offer. The staff was extremely helpful and super nice. Misti who is a server here at the hotel was very helpful and a great employee at the Penguin, she gave great advise about the area.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location in the heart of South Beach but not too crazy. Service was exceptional especially our waitress Misti. Misti had some great ideas on things to do and other places to eat. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and clean.

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in January for three nights. For the most part it was good value for money staying on Ocean Drive however it did have its quirks. Main quirk was finding out only upon check-in we had to pay a "resort fee" of $20 a day. It would be best to let guests know costs all up front/before hand- I don't like surprises. Second quirk was the "included" breakfast after paying the "resort fee" . The breakfast was skimpy. A small amount of scrambled eggs, one slice of toast, coffee and orange juice. When I wanted bacon I was told it would be an extra 2$ and an obvious push to tip the waiters for plopping a diet breakfast on my table. Nickel and dime-ing customers is bad form I believe.
However, after those hiccups I was pleasantly surprised. The room was modern, very clean, great bed/pillows, and good bathroom. Also,for a side building facing room it was not horrible.
The "resort fee" did include useful amenities such as daily beach towel, a bottle water, wifi, and a first day welcome drink. Again knowing this up front would have been more welcoming. The front desk staff did have a rough edge when I questioned the fee I must say.
All in all for an Ocean Drive location ,,,after we left We had a good stay .

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get an alley way facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent cold weekend in Miami however, weather paled in comparison to the warm welcome given by Bill Courey was the reason we chose the Penguin for breakfast (among the endless along Ocean Drive) AND the reason we came back for more on day 2! The food was terrific, waiters attentive and loved the people watching. Asked for some tour suggestions from one of the waiters and his recommendation for the Duck Boat Tour did not disappoint! Thanks gentlemen for adding some warmth and hospitality to our unfortunately cold, rainy, windy weekend!

Room Tip: Didn't stay in hotel, only ate at the Penguin
See more room tips
Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgewater South Beach
#18 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#160 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing