We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my second time staying here. If location, location, location is your thing in proximity to the beach, this spot is perfect. It's literally steps away. You're also steps if not blocks away from great restaurants and nightlife. The rooms are small but simple, neat and clean. Besides, you don't go to Miami Beach to stay in your room!! ☺️

The first time we stayed they didn't have a restaurant and bar. We just went back a week ago and now they do. This is where they need to improve. The service for breakfast was slow and the servers, well.......they weren't rude BUT they weren't friendly either. The breakfast was mediocre and it took my husband forever to get two drinks for us. So the rest of the time we ate and had drinks at other spots along the strip. But my overall rating of the hotel is very good because of the location. I would stay there again. Just make sure you ask questions about parking, possible resort fees, etc. so you're not caught by surprise.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    214
    144
    65
    116
See reviews for
57
275
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had such an amazing time at the penguin hotel. Martha from front desk was such great guidance. She accommodated my family of 4 to great tours of Miami. Clean rooms and great service. love the staff!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night whilst in Miami. Perfect location, clean and tidy rooms. Staff friendly and happy to give advice about the best places to visit. Very reasonable price for our stay. Valet parking was spot on and we even got a free beer each at the hotel bar!

Great night in Miami and perfect spot for the bars and beach. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to this place to eat with my husband and was so fun Raul Rodriguez made the best Bloody Mary in my life. He is very nice and professional I recommended this hotel for everybody....

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I usually don't wrote reviews, but I felt it was a good time to start. This hotel is a little older and could use some minor updating to make it better. That being said, it's really the staff that make this place very good. From Gus at the front desk being extremely helpful when we arrived really late in the night, to Sindy making us feel at home during our breakfast. This place has a great thing going and will have us coming back again for sure.

If you're travelling to Miami Beach and want to ensure a hassle free time....please do yourself a favour and book The Penguin Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 304. It faces the beach and has windows all across the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is a perfect place to enjoy Miami Beach, nice people like Carmen who made very comfortable our stay!!

Wowww in front of the beach and so close to go shoppong, dance, restaurants, etc.

I recommended the hotel special if you wanna be relaxing!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recommend the Penguin Hotel to any visitor who wants to stay in Ocean Drive. The staff and the Housekeeping team are always friendly and ready to go above and beyond. I want to make a special mention to Carmen at the Front desk who is always engaging and quick to help you with whatever you need with a smile. Josefa who is in housekeeping and is always very friendly, and does a great job with passion to ensure your room is clean and neat. Finally Risa the supervisor who seem always focus and business , but never busy to say Hi! When she see you. Great team..

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.