We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It's not my first time at this hotel. I like this hotel reason that this hotel is very close to the beach and very clean, especially good service with reception (Carmen) . I advice to all customers who wants to stay close to beach.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    210
    141
    63
    116
See reviews for
54
266
61
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time using this as a little pre-cruise location. Valet parking was over priced, but I think that is true of all South Beach. Walking distance to all the shopping, dining and art deco locales! Included breakfast was just enough.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

It's great to know you found our awesome location so convenient and as result having a great overall experience. Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving us your feedback. We hope to see you back really soon!

Kind Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family made a drink stop here and what a find great drinks and the best service in South Beach. Britney was our server and was most helpful. Not only great service but filled with tips to enhance our stay. We are booked at another hotel but thanks to Britney we will b back

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Sourboy,

We really appreciate you stopping by and I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with Brittney. It was our pleasure to have served you and we truly hope to see you back really soon!

Kindest Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a lot of fun with the penguin theme. Definitely stands out from other hotels!
The rooms were clean and spacious. 2 bottles of water was in the room every day. Showers were good.
We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and it was really good. Specially enjoyed their pizza that we could split when we weren't that hungry.
The location is the best - a little bit higher up on ocean drive so that you get away from the party during night but still only a few minutes walk to get to the party and restaurants.
Staff was great, very service minded.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Sudding,

As we understand it, everyone loves pizza, right? So we make sure that ours is extra delicious and top notch! It's always great to find a guest that's had such a wonderful and full experience through out their stay. We really appreciate your time with us and I will be sure to personally share your wonderful comments with the rest of the staff. Thank you again for leaving us with your feedback and for the opportunity to serve.

Kindest Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in March. The hotel is in a great location, across from the beach, and in the thick of restaurants and bars. We had a standard king room on the ground floor. Noise was not an issue but our room was quite run down. Chipped paint, black mould in the tub/shower, smudges of dirt on the drapes were all things that regular maintenance should remedy. Bedding and other areas of the room were clean. Staff were generally helpful and courteous.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm very glad that you enjoyed our very convenient location, clean rooms and courteous staff. However, I do apologize for any oversight you may have found in your room from our side. We can assure you that all of our rooms thoroughly inspected before being turn in to our guest for check in. I have gone ahead and shared your comments with the rest of the managers. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve.

Kindest Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
The Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eva was our server for brunch on sunday 3/29/15, she was very attentive, helpful, and an all around amazing server! We came here two days in a row and will definitely be back! The food was very filling and delicious. We are from connecticut so it is nice to find a place that we were willing to come back to to enjoy our stay. The patio added a nice touch and view to our dining experience.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Megan,

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our service so much. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Eva and sure hope to see you back really soon! Thank you for the opportunity to serve.

Kindest Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel during a very busy time (music festival and spring break) which was probably the reason for the crazy price per night. But we had a very pleasent stay. The room was nice, big, clean and we had a nice view over looking Miami beach. The staff was nice and helpful and the breakfast which was included was ok as well. The location is just perfect as you are right at ocean drive, by the beach and close to nice shops and restaurants. I would recommend the hotel and stay again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.