We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Patron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Eva was our server for brunch on sunday 3/29/15, she was very attentive, helpful, and an all around amazing server! We came here two days in a row and will definitely be back! The food was very filling and delicious. We are from connecticut so it is nice to find a place that we were willing to come back to to enjoy our stay. The patio added a nice touch and view to our dining experience.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    207
    137
    63
    115
See reviews for
52
259
61
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during a very busy time (music festival and spring break) which was probably the reason for the crazy price per night. But we had a very pleasent stay. The room was nice, big, clean and we had a nice view over looking Miami beach. The staff was nice and helpful and the breakfast which was included was ok as well. The location is just perfect as you are right at ocean drive, by the beach and close to nice shops and restaurants. I would recommend the hotel and stay again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night and I was pleased with the overall service and product. The price was a bit high for a 3 star property but it was a busy weekend. If you are looking for a place to crash for the night, this is a good option.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Tatiana,

We're happy to know that you truly enjoyed your overall experience. We really appreciate you taking the time in leaving us your comments and we hope to see you back sometime in the near future. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

front desk was not helpful at all about anything they were always depressing gave us hard time we asked for bigger room one guy on front desk told us as that there would be an available rooms the day after but when i went to front desk other person told me he knew nothing about my inquıry and she just gave to room someone else minutes ago it was so unprofessional that we have been promised but not delivered, he didn't take any notes for morning worst of all he deceived us by making false promise, this was so unprofessional and i have never had a such trouble that one receptionist doesn't know any idea about what the other receptionist said , i would definitely stay again here after such treatment and irresponsibility and i wouldn't recommend for anyone there way more beautiful hotels in the south beach ,also free breakfast for guests were so bad it's very limited and you get only 2 slices bread with egg or something as continental breakfast

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good times at the Penguin for sure. Eva is so much more than a server. She has a wonderful attitude and is just plain fun. Our service was great, the food was excellent and the hotel's staff really took care of us.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Kent,

And thank you for allowing us to partake in some good times. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with Eva. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm very glad that you enjoyed our delicious food and hope to see you back really soon!

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
The Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best part of The Penguin is checking out. Our room, No. 301, didn't have a mirror other than the small one in the bathroom. Housekeeping missed our room the first day. And when they do show up, all they do is make the bed and put fresh towels in the room -- nothing gets wiped down including the bathroom. Don't expect coffee before 7:30 in the morning, if that. The restaurant staff is completely uninterested in the art of service. Some were cordial, but excessively slow. Others did not provide the courtesy of speech. In short, keep looking for a better booking. This is the experience of two very well-traveled women with resources.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Tracy,

Firstly allow us to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of our staff, I'm disappointed that we did not meet your standards as a property. We promise that we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and feedback like yours is a great asset to have while doing so. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team. Be sure that they have been heard and taken in with heavy consideration.

Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you and we truly hope to be given a second chance in the future.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
The Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved our server Eva' s energy. She was really on it and made our meal more enjoyable. The food was pretty good too. Excellent service and good food in a beautiful location by the beach on Ocean Drive. You really can't beat the people watching from here.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherR434, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

Thank you for leaving such a kind comment for Eva. I will be sure to share it with her as it will bring a big smile to her face. Thank you so much for dining with us and we hope to see you comeback for a second round really soon!

Kindest Regards,

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.