We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, poor facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, poor facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Planned to spend holidays with my family in a warm place, and what better place than south beach, and in SoBe what a trendiest place than Ocean drive? Well, truth be told I booked a little late so no all hotels were available, still the hotel looked good and had good reviews on the net, so I gave it a try. To shorten: no parking, broken elevator, painting falling from walls, small rooms (noisy in the mornings and you can hear everything that goes on the hallway), not so fond of a mirror wall. It's a shame because all of the staff is super friendly everyone from the front desk, waiters and maintenance; the food in the restaurant tastes good and well, the location is superb! It's an outdated, excellent located and friendly hotel. Bottom line: if you don't mind that much about where you leave your bags & sleep and you're all in for location, this is a your option.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    189
    123
    59
    109
See reviews for
44
231
58
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have enjoyed my sty at Penguin Hotel Miami
Acceptable Price at such best Area
Close to Ocean, cool View.
I loved the service with respectfull and friendly staff, I like to mention Carmen at Reception Area.
Thank You Carmen
Regards

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Marcos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's always such a great feeling when our guest have such a full experience in our property.

We will be sure to share your good graces with Carmen, i'm positive that it will bring a smile to her face.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back really soon!

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay was excellent. Florencia was EXCELLENT with suiting my needs. All the staff were excellent and the lady at the front was very friendly and kind. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable the hallways had a unique look. The lobby was VERY CLEAN. and neat.The view was AMAZING. I am going to come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the top floor for a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

A big thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very happy that you had such an awesome time. We will definitely share your good praises with Florencia as I'm sure that she will love them. We truly love it when our employees are mentioned by name in a positive light. It speaks volumes on all of our efforts to help create a memorable experience for all of our guest.

Thank you for awesome feedback and we hope to see you back on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a reservation for a king bed, instead of that we get the Queen room . The girl who works at the front desk told us that she has a king-size bed but keep them for other people,and only if they do not come we can get that!!! So,finaly we got Queen bed room on the floor where it was construction! Even valet staff scratched my car. Location is very good,and the room was decent,but window in the bathroom was broken and couldn't be closed. I think menagement has a lot of issues to fix.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings Pecky,

Firstly permit us to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. All of our guests feedback are very valuable to us. With that said, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our location and your room. We hope that you were able to take full advantage of our convenient location.

Pecky, we want you to know that we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused by the bed type. Unfortunately, sometimes due to reservation type, special request, or no availability we sometimes are unable to fulfill all of our guest request. However, this does not mean that all hope is lost and we would had loved nothing more than for an opportunity to change that brow upside down. We are also sorry to hear about your experience with the valet service. If you can please contact us directly so that we may hear what happened in better detail.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back on a future stay.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel! The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable, with frige in my room (key for not over spending on booze and food!). Also, the hotel was super cute with penguins and cool light ambiance throughout. This hotel is in the perfect location too, right in the middle of the ocean drive strip and across from the beach.
The staff was awesome as well! Super accommodating and kind. Christian and Dan, the front desk managers were super helpful along with Carmen and Flencia!
The restaurant staff was also very accommodating too. Strong drinks, good food, not too pricey, & not pushy or annoying. Eva and Stewart were Amazing! Scott was very nice and helpful too :)
I will definitely stay here next time I am in Miami Beach and would refer to family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Rose,

Firstly, allow us to say thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We are always very happy to see our guest have such a great time and grasp the full spirit of Miami Beach. We are happy to know that you found our rooms and staff to your liking. It was truly our pleasure to have served you.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back on a future stay!

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great. But the rooms are old and not really dirty but don't give a true clean crisp hotel feeling you would expect for the price you pay. Same goes for the hallways and elevator. Just old and motel style not south beach Art Deco. Would try to find a different hotel next time. As you not only pay for the room but also a resort fee.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings Marselisa,

Allows to cordially say thank you for the time to share you review with us. We are always very appreciative of all of our guest feedback. As their experience is our number one priority. With that said. we assure you that our rooms cleanliness is on our high list of standards. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location. Being located in the heart of Miami Beach definitely has it's advantages.

We are disappointed in our property not meeting your standards, however, we can assure you that we are indeed a art deco boutique which also forms part of Miami Beach's Art Deco community. With that said, our rooms may not be as big when compared to a more modern hotel but we've always felt that being part of our charm.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Edgar, Raul and Stewart of the daytime Food and Beverage staff were fantastic; courteous, friendly and extremely confident. Also the woman, can't remember her name, on the evening shift was very helpful. The hotel has a fantastic location and has a relaxed, cool vibe. The only weakness was that our room wasn't made up until 6:00 pm. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Bill,

It's great to know that you enjoyed our food and beverage staff so much! We're in the business of building special moments and we are happy to know that we were successful in doing so. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful praises to both Edgar & Raul. We always love it when our staff is recognized by our past guest. It speaks volumes!

We apologize for any inconvenience from our behalf with servicing your room at the mentioned time. This is something that we are following up with the housekeeping manager. For future reference, we would had loved to known about it in the form of a request and we would had surely serviced your room at an earlier time!

Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you back for a future date.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.