We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very bad experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a reservation for a king bed, instead of that we get the Queen room . The girl who works at the front desk told us that she has a king-size bed but keep them for other people,and only if they do not come we can get that!!! So,finaly we got Queen bed room on the floor where it was construction! Even valet staff scratched my car. Location is very good,and the room was decent,but window in the bathroom was broken and couldn't be closed. I think menagement has a lot of issues to fix.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    189
    122
    59
    109
See reviews for
43
231
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel! The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable, with frige in my room (key for not over spending on booze and food!). Also, the hotel was super cute with penguins and cool light ambiance throughout. This hotel is in the perfect location too, right in the middle of the ocean drive strip and across from the beach.
The staff was awesome as well! Super accommodating and kind. Christian and Dan, the front desk managers were super helpful along with Carmen and Flencia!
The restaurant staff was also very accommodating too. Strong drinks, good food, not too pricey, & not pushy or annoying. Eva and Stewart were Amazing! Scott was very nice and helpful too :)
I will definitely stay here next time I am in Miami Beach and would refer to family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Rose,

Firstly, allow us to say thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We are always very happy to see our guest have such a great time and grasp the full spirit of Miami Beach. We are happy to know that you found our rooms and staff to your liking. It was truly our pleasure to have served you.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back on a future stay!

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is great. But the rooms are old and not really dirty but don't give a true clean crisp hotel feeling you would expect for the price you pay. Same goes for the hallways and elevator. Just old and motel style not south beach Art Deco. Would try to find a different hotel next time. As you not only pay for the room but also a resort fee.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings Marselisa,

Allows to cordially say thank you for the time to share you review with us. We are always very appreciative of all of our guest feedback. As their experience is our number one priority. With that said. we assure you that our rooms cleanliness is on our high list of standards. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location. Being located in the heart of Miami Beach definitely has it's advantages.

We are disappointed in our property not meeting your standards, however, we can assure you that we are indeed a art deco boutique which also forms part of Miami Beach's Art Deco community. With that said, our rooms may not be as big when compared to a more modern hotel but we've always felt that being part of our charm.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Edgar, Raul and Stewart of the daytime Food and Beverage staff were fantastic; courteous, friendly and extremely confident. Also the woman, can't remember her name, on the evening shift was very helpful. The hotel has a fantastic location and has a relaxed, cool vibe. The only weakness was that our room wasn't made up until 6:00 pm. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Bill,

It's great to know that you enjoyed our food and beverage staff so much! We're in the business of building special moments and we are happy to know that we were successful in doing so. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful praises to both Edgar & Raul. We always love it when our staff is recognized by our past guest. It speaks volumes!

We apologize for any inconvenience from our behalf with servicing your room at the mentioned time. This is something that we are following up with the housekeeping manager. For future reference, we would had loved to known about it in the form of a request and we would had surely serviced your room at an earlier time!

Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you back for a future date.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Management
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Does art deco mean seedy? The elevator was filthy and the hallway was two shades of purple and too dimly lit with industrial throw rugs scattered throughout. The room, although clean, was not "artsy" it was a small box with a cheap, mirrored built in. The built in "dresser system" had a formica top and there was paint spatters all over it. And this was the "deluxe corner room" that we paid extra for. The beds were average but the pillows were extremely cheap and not comfortable at all. There was a plastic table between the two beds that served as a night stand. The cheap gooseneck lamp atop the table served no purpose as it shone either directly on the floor or ceiling, nothing in between. The mojitos were strong but delicious. I understand now why they were strong...possibly so that one doesn't notice the 20% gratuity that is automatically added to the tab. Once questioned, it was removed. There was an off duty manager drinking at one of the tables with some friends. The friends were extremely rude to the waiter and the manager was allowing it. We ordered a skirt steak XX (some fancy spanish word). When asked what the XX meant - the staff was dumbfounded. I watched our waiter walk over and ask the off duty manager. Imagine my surprise when I saw him "google" it. Come on people - if you are going to have a fancy description of a grilled skirt steak, at least know the meaning of the word. The steak was good but the mashed potatoes were lukewarm at best. I would not recommend this hotel. If there was a ZERO, this would be my rating!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel would be your best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

Firstly permit us to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Know that here at the Penguin we take all of our guest feedback very seriously as it gives us a glimpse in to their stay and opportunities for improvement. With that said, we are very disappointed to see that our property did not meet your standards. We can assure you that protecting our guest experience is our number one priority. Rest assure that our hotel has strong guest interaction policies in place and this oversight will be looked in to.

Thank you again for your visit. It was a pleasure to had served you.

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very well located! It's directly on the ocean drive but not on the noisy part of it! The hotel itself is quite basic but has everything you need!
Especially Elena from the front desk help us a lot to with our requests also in German witch made it easier for us to communicate! Thanks Elena!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Hale,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We will be sure to share your wonderful comments with Elena. Being located in one of the most favorite world destinations, we understand how important it is to be a multicultural property.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back for a future stay!

Alexeis Espinosa
Reputation Manager
Penguin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent a wonderful week in this charming hotel. Location is great , in front of the sea, and in the best part of Art Deco district in South Beach with a lot of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars on Ocean Drive. The room was big and clean. The staff was very kindly and helpful at any time and the lobby bar was very cute with a nice music. I love it and I will recommand it certainly.

Room Tip: Corner suites are sunny with a wonderfuld view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.