We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Spot the Has Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Jumbo Drink!
Ranked #88 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Funky Spot the Has Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The price is right and the place is just what one would expect in South Beach. Plenty of neon lighting and quiche rooms that scream art deco are always a pleasure to return to after a beach visit or a sweaty walk. The street over features a parking garage that will house your car for $20 a day which is cheap considering valet parking. I will return some day.

Room Tip: If you don't like tiny elevators that hold only 3 people at a time than choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    180
    113
    55
    107
See reviews for
39
216
55
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love this place- we will come back again again all the wonderful humans that work there are incredible - Eva is the best and her staff is top notch. We love Stuart, he is off today - all I can say is I am happy he will be back tomorrow - MY BD!. And tonight we are eating with Timothy, adds to our fabulous dinner. Now staying another night - Everyday we have met more staff at this hotel and with each new person, another reason to come back again! David has been serving us breakfast and lunch - always perfect attention to detail. Christian was kind to help us reserve another night and this morning Jet and Carmen confirmed the details and helped us with a new room for our stay! Our rooms are being cared for by Joseta. Another reason to return!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Susan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments to our staff! Reviews such as yours always put a smile on all of our faces. Susan, it was our pleasure to have served you and we hope that your birthday was an awesome one. I will wholeheartedly be sure to share your review with the rest of the staff.

We are looking forward to your return!

Always appreciative,

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Take a room with a Veiw is your best bet. The Veiw is fantastic - this hotel has a retro feel. In the entrance is their sit down area for their restaurant. I had a fish dish that was wonderful. Perfect location for everything Miami. I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top room with a Veiw facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our view so much! Being located on Ocean Dr (South Beach’s Art deco district) definitely has its advantages. You can feel the retro, being that it’s also a historical area filled with hotels from the 1930’s and 40’s!

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you back soon!

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's my first trip to Miami so I didn't know what to expect. Aneesa, Jet, and Florencia had amazing customer service! The location of the hotel is great, easy walking distance to everything. Definitely exceeded my expectation and had a great experience. Thank you for making this Miami trip so fun!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Richard,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our staff and I will be sure to share your wonderful graces with them. It’s always great to see our guest taking full advantage of everything our location has to offer.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to see you back for a future stay.

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We reserved a standard room, but Carmen, one of the receptionnists, gave us an upgrade for the whole stay!!!! (12 days)!!! She was very nice and helpful. ( also the other receptionnists were always very friendly, helpful and funny)! The service at the restaurant is just GREAT! All of them were very polite, paid very much attention to the customers, are friendly and helpful. We never had a better service!!! We will visit them again, for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Kristina,

It was our pleasure to have made your experience that much special! It’s great to see that you enjoyed our restaurant and its staff. Great service is the base for all hospitality! Thank you for staying with us as long as you did (12 days, wow thank you) it was our pleasure to have served you.

We hope to see you back soon,

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great... the location is on ocean dr so it's on the shore line,straight to the lommen park in 14th.. the place looks new with modern design and of course art deco outside..gives free great and fresh breakfast and couple of drinks too. smart plan to keep your car in parking in cheaper price.
im 26 old and i been there with my mom for vacation and i'll back here for sure.
it's important to say that Florencia the pretty girl on the front door take care of us and helped us to make our dreams vacation come true ..
thanks.(2014)

Room Tip: just ask Florencia :)all the room are new so its easy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greetings from The Penguin,

Bracha, we will be sure to let Florencia know of your kind words, I’m sure that she will be flattered. Thank you for allowing us to make your vacation that more special. Creating memories is what it’s all about!

We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, welcome drinks, and our location! Believe us when we tell you that it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon,

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am so glad I chose to stay here! The location is perfect... you get welcome drinks, the staff is SUPER friendly and accommodating, the restaurant on site is good, and everyone who works there is happy and awesome! The bartender, Stuart, is great! Stay here! You won't regret it! Can't beat the price for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexeisE37, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Lauren,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Believe us when we tell you that we are SUPER happy to know that you had such an awesome time. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Stuart!

We hope to see you back really soon!

-The Penguin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.