We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Magnificent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Worth for stay there. Excellent location. For couple marvelous. Staff are very helpful. Florencia, Sean and Carmen amazing with their hospitality. It would be nice to back again and spend a few days there. Ela i Mirek

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    171
    112
    53
    106
See reviews for
36
205
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is a great place to stay. I have stayed here 2 times prior to now & I will stay here agajn. It is right in the heart of south beach, at a price you cant beat. The staff was friendly, helpfull & accommodating. The receptionist Florencia made checkin a breeze & was very helpful & willing to change my room if for some reason I was not satisfied with the one she gave me. No this is not a 5star luxury resort, but none are on south beach. Great bang for the bucks..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Positive points:
- Good location, right on the ocean, close to Miami Beach downtown
- Polite and nice staff, both reception and restaurant

Negative points:
- Dirty bed and pillow sheets

First night staying there, we noticed that the bed sheet was not clean, spots on it and hairs on the pillow sheets. We called the housekeeping, they sent us two sets of sheets, again one set was dirty, spots and hair. Seemed like they do not wash the sheets, they just fold it nicely and that is the room service they refer to. The other day, we came back to the room, room looked tidy, we got a room service, but guess what, they did not change the sheets at all, as I said the just make it tidy! Hotels should CHANGE the towels and sheets with CLEAN ones when they do a room service. And guess what? we called the housekeeping again, asked for new sheets again, and the same story of having dirty sheets with people's hair between.........that made us really crazy.

Will not go back to such a low service place anymore.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location, perfect for relaxation and close enough to party life. Staff was amazing with their hospitality. We arrived very early but they were so kind and let us check in at no additional charge. We are definitely going back to this hotel on our next weekender getaway. Daryl and Christie

Room Tip: Ocean view room is the perfect way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Christie and Daryl,
Relaxing at the beach all day and enjoying the best of South Beach at night, sounds about right to us! We’re thrilled to hear you were impressed by our fantastic location and wonderful service team. We’re happy we could offer you an early check-in; we know how nice it is to have a comfortable space to relax, as soon as you arrive. Thank you for the kind words and wonderful review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Penguin; we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our maid Josefa made us feel at home with her kindness and what a priceless thought with the animal towels. Over all great experience. The only thing that could be better will be to have enough free parking:)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Navarror,
Thank you for the fantastic review! We love hearing that a member of our great team went above and beyond to make you feel welcomed. We’ll pass your praise on to Josefa; it’ll make her smile! Parking in Miami Beach is a challenging endeavor at times, so we happily offer our guests secure and convenient valet service. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you back at Penguin soon. We look forward to offering you another “great experience”!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Service at the Restaurant!! Eva was Amazing! We will definitely be coming back to see her!! And will be staying at this hotel next time we're in town! Thanks Eva! See you Sunday!!

"You can't sit with us!"

- Your LA Girls

...................................................

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Jaymeulrich,
Thank you for the 5-star review! We love that Eva made such a great impression. We’ll pass your thanks on to her; it’ll make her day! We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at Purple Penguin Café. We do hope you come visit us again soon; we’d love to make your next experience even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My thanks to Phillip Muniz, Manager at The Penguin Hotel-Last Saturday night we had dinner in your restaurant. My conversation with you was so enjoyable. Our waiter, Carlos was just wonderful and very polite. Kudos to Carlos. We also had a chance to be introduced to the chef. We would definitely go back again to say thank you for being such great hosts. Service and food was excellent. Thank you again. Carol Ann

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Carol Ann,
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a stellar review! We’re glad you enjoyed our delicious food and attentive service. We love hearing that several of our dedicated team members enhanced your dining experience with great conversation. We’ll pass the thanks on to Phillip and Carlos. It’ll make their day! We’d love to see you for another delicious visit, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.