We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postive feedback - dining experience - staff-polite, professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Postive feedback - dining experience - staff-polite, professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My thanks to Phillip Muniz, Manager at The Penguin Hotel-Last Saturday night we had dinner in your restaurant. My conversation with you was so enjoyable. Our waiter, Carlos was just wonderful and very polite. Kudos to Carlos. We also had a chance to be introduced to the chef. We would definitely go back again to say thank you for being such great hosts. Service and food was excellent. Thank you again. Carol Ann

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    170
    112
    52
    106
See reviews for
36
202
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel and thought it would suck but I was wrong employees are very nice and if you have questions they help you out. Got in my room quickly. I loved my room was on the first floor wasn't loud at night. Bed was very comfortable very modern room.had a safe and a refrigerator. Will be back again. Thanks penguin also great view of ocean drive beach is 1000 feet away. Will be back. Also get a drink for free and free breakfast

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Pros:
The hotel is literally across the street from the beach. It is within walking distance to clubs, restaurants, and nearby shops. Housekeeping kept the room fairly clean. Most staff members were friendly and attentive to guest needs.

Cons:
The check-in time for 3pm was not honoured and we had to wait until 5pm to finally enter our room. The standard room with 2 beds is VERY small for 3 girls. You can literally touch the bed when you open the door to the room. Luggage had to be stored between the beds and wall. The faucet in our bathroom was not functional.

There is an EXTRA RESORT FEE NOT included in Expedia's charge for your stay. The EXTRA RESORT FEE includes beach towels, breakfast and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello angmoi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful, beachfront location, friendly team, and clean rooms. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a delayed check-in. We do our very best to accommodate all our guests and ensure their satisfaction and comfort. We are sorry to hear the size of our rooms didn’t meet your expectations, and we genuinely regret any inconvenience you experienced due to broken faucet in your bathroom. We appreciate all your feedback, as it helps us identify issues we need to address and improve. Thank you! For future reference, our standard resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls. We apologize for any confusion over this and genuinely hope you give us another chance to make you a big Penguin fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The next 2 reviews below are accurate and duplicate my experience. Park on the public ramp located at the NE corner of 13th & Collins = $20/24hrs or take your chances with the independent valet service (bad reviews). This cool, unique hotel is the best deal by far of lower cost level, old deco style hotels between 2nd & 16th Street. Walk right across Ocean Drive and 1 block thru the park and your feet will be on Miami Beach sand. Not a large place by any measure, the halls were blue neon lit and overpowering cinnamon deodorized. Smokers only out front on the sidewalk. The back door bottom floor was the only escape path and had a fire alarm trigger. The standard queen room was small by modern standard, but quite comfortable and quirky. All white decor with an enormous flower painted on the wall. Other side was completely covered in mirror tile, not only the walls, but the furniture & doors also. Easy walking distance to all the South Beach nightlife, restaurants and shopping. Do not miss the WEAMuseum! Your "resort fee" $19 included: welcome cocktail pp, beach towels plus the coffee and food in the morning. From the lobby or front porch, enjoy the million dollar view while being served a multiple choice of continental breakfast by effeminate waiters. Featured on Season One of Hotel Impossible on the Travel Channel.

Room Tip: The first upgrade from basic room was $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello ruzz2112,
Thank you for the great review! We think we’ve come a long way since our cable debut. We’ve embraced our unique identity, added charming amenities, and filled our team with friendly, dedicated members. We’re thrilled you named us the best, affordable choice in our area! We’re delighted you enjoy our location, comfortable, “quirky” rooms, breakfast variety, and amazing views. We apologize if our valet services and room size failed to impress you. We are also sorry if any aspect of our layout concerned you; we assure you, the safety of our guests is our top priority. We hope you choose Penguin again; we would love to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the food was great! the presentation was nice eye candy. the manager Phillip was very attentive and concerned. Jesus the waiter was friendly and concerned with everything. the secret needs to be told.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was great...from the front desk service to my waiters. The front desk lady who greeted me "Anessa" was very kind and welcoming to me, as well as accommodating me with my stay. If I need anything or have any inquires I call up the front desk right away and they'll get me what I need to make sure I have an awesome stay.This hotel has some if the best staff I've seen so far. I would defiantly come back again; for the dining and to stay here at the hotel! I recommend this place to everyone it's kid friendly and the environment overall is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Tajanae,
Your “awesome” review made our day! We’re thrilled our fantastic team made you feel welcome and took such good care of you during your stay. We’ll pass your praise on to Anessa; she’ll really appreciate it! We’re also happy you enjoyed our delicious dining and great atmosphere. We agree; it’s the perfect vacation choice for the entire family! Your recommendation means a great deal to us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for one week. The rooms and especially the bath rooms were renovated. Surprisingly very clean!! cost-performance ratio was convincing! perfect location, breakfast, beach towels, 2 welcome drinks included, free wifi, very nice waiters/waitresses. i have actually nothing negative to tell about this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Ringi,
Your excellent review has us all walking a little taller and prouder here today! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful location, clean rooms, tasty breakfasts, and helpful amenities, like complimentary beach towels, welcome drinks and speedy Wi-Fi. The next time you’re planning a trip to our beautiful city, we hope you consider Penguin. Our dedicated team would love the chance to offer you another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.