We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was precious and the service excellent. Our server, Jesus was very charming and provided us with great service. I plan to come back next Fall. This hotel is near Lincoln Road which is the best shopping in Miami Beach. My two teenage boys were able to walk to restaurants, shopping and beach activities without any worries

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    168
    110
    52
    106
See reviews for
36
200
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the penguin hotel for business so most of my time was spent at the restaurant they have a woman there Eva she was such a happy woman every time I seen her always put a smile on my face whatever th e y d o they better not let her go she w a los in everyone turns there mood completely around thanks Eva keep up the great work :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a week-long stay and had a decent stay. The room was a bit small for us, but we were comparing it to a different hotel in the area. I find the resort fee to be a bit more than a few other hotels in the area because they include beach towels, continental breakfast and two welcome drinks in the fees. I believe the handout we were provided mentioned the fee paid for wifi access and discounts on their food during our stay. The continental breakfast is rationed out. We were able to pick from a menu of items that included only one of the following: a bagel, pastry of the day, toast with eggs, parfait, or cereal. It's a great way for the hotel to encourage patrons to try their food, I guess. The two free drinks were watered down quite a bit.

During our previous visit, we stayed at a hotel next door to Penguin, which had rooftop access that allowed us to watch the sunrise each morning. It is definitely something we wish we could have experienced again.

Overall, it was great to stay here because it is close to the beach and close to where all the action is in the Art Deco area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Clean rooms. Great customer service! Its like a well oiled machine. Everything works here. Management definitely knows what its doing. I have no negative comments. Will recommend to everyone i know. I have stayed at Starlight and this Hotel runs circles around them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This relatively small hotel is actually the sister to the President, where we had stayed the year before. The atmosphere is nice- it's happening, but quieter than the raging parties a few blocks south, so getting to sleep at a decent hour was never a problem.
The waiter could have used a bit of training; we waited ten+ minutes to be served for breakfast (it's not a huge area to wait on, mind you), and we ended up walking over to the President, where we were promptly served.
Room was simple but decent, though the shower definitely could have used a bit larger of a
wall to guard against splashing out. AC definitely worked: outside was always super hot+humid, and coming into in the room could even feel like a shock.
Don't come here if you're looking for five-star fanfare, but if being right on the beach in one of the most beautiful architectural areas of the world is your thing, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Zebulon,
“Right on the beach, in one of the most beautiful architectural areas of the world” is definitely our thing! We’re thrilled to see we’re not alone. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our fantastic location, welcoming atmosphere, refreshing indoor climate, and sleek, carefully designed rooms. We appreciate your feedback and will take your suggestion about a higher shower wall under careful consideration. We are very sorry you didn’t receive the high standard of service we pride ourselves on during breakfast. We hope we can make it up to you on your next visit. Please consider us the next time you return to our beautiful city; we’d love another opportunity to impress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose The Penguin because we wanted to be on the beachfront, I had read other reviews on Trip Advisor and it seemed ok for our 2 night stay. We were in the room opposite the kitchen and I was so scared it would be noisy, but we slept very well. Beds were really comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean - bathroom a bit small, but fine for a night or two. Nobody came round to make up the beds etc. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Merl,
We love seeing the word “perfect” in a review by one of our valued guests! We’re glad you chose Penguin for our beautiful, beachfront location. We are happy you were pleasantly surprised by our quiet atmosphere and clean, comfortable rooms. We are sorry to hear you weren’t impressed by the size of our bathrooms. We also sincerely apologize, if your room was overlooked by housekeeping. That’s truly an unusual occurrence. We hope you’ll return, whether for a short or lengthy stay, and enjoy another great breakfast and experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on Ocean drive right across from the beach and a few blocks away from Wet willies, restaurants, night clubs and boutiques. Stayed one night before our cruise;resort fees included continental breakfast, welcome drink, bottle water, wifi and beach towels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Criusintheworld,
Thank you for the review. We love our fabulous location too! There are so many fun things to do nearby. We’re thrilled to hear you also enjoyed our delicious continental breakfast, welcome drinks, bottled water, fresh towels, and convenient wifi. We hope you had a wonderful time “cruising the world”, and we hope you return to South Beach again soon. We’d love to see more of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.