We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, on going renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location, on going renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Love staying in a small boutique hotel vintage buildings in South Beach. Always up for trying a recently renovated hotel, decided to give the penguin a try. Check-in process was a bit confusing the valet is independent from the hotel and charges $25 a night to park your car. It's apparently $30 a night if you ballet through the hotel at the front desk. A 19.00 a night per person resort fee includes breakfast, wifi, towels, and a few other things. The resort fee feels a little excessive for this hotel, especially sense it doesn't have a swimming pool or complementary loungers on the beach like the bigger hotels do.
We loved the room, clean, modern, and one of the bigger rooms we have had in sobe.
The bar was under renovation during our stay, but the great location and access to all the other area bars made up for it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Katie,
We’re thrilled you loved our Ocean Drive location; we couldn’t agree more! It’s also great to hear that our cleanliness, room size and décor all impressed. We apologize for any confusion you experienced while trying to park with valet. We’ll take all your comments, including your thoughts on the cost of parking, into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again for some more South Beach fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    168
    110
    52
    106
See reviews for
36
200
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The location of this Hotel is very convenient. Right in the heart of south beach, one block away from the beach, close the shopping mall of lincoln road. The staff made my stay very pleasant, the supervisor raisa was very friendly and attentive, so was josefa from room service. I will definitively be back my next vacation and recommend this spot to my friends in new york.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Robert,
Thank you for the fantastic review and 5 stars! We’re excited you loved your stay with us and that our team took excellent care of you. We’ll be sure to share your compliments with them. Our location never ceases to keep us happy; we’re glad you enjoyed it. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen/ NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had an amazing time at Penguin Hotel.
When I arrived and asked for an ocean view I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to the most amazing and huge roof top terrace room overlooking the beach and ocean.
Thanks to Carmen and Jordan I got this amazing room and had the most fun and wonderful time there.

Room Tip: Ask for Carmen or Jordan and if you can have a ocean view or upgrade to the Rooftop Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic stay. Your praise for Carmen and Jordan is greatly appreciated; we know it will make their day when we share your kind words with them. It’s great to hear that you loved the ocean view from our rooftop terrace; you can’t beat waking up and looking at the ocean! We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff made my stay worry free and very pleasant. Carmin from the front desk and Josefa in room service were amazingly friendly. I am from a country where hospitality is taken very seriously so I was happy to have chosen this place for my stay. Even the supervisor on duty was excellent. Keep up the good job!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Lian,
Thank you for the excellent 5 star rating. We’re thrilled to hear that our team took excellent care of you and made you feel welcomed. We’ll happily share your compliments with them; we know it will make their day. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy the South Beach life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We are very happy because every things in this hotel are very good, actually I world say excellent! The peopple in the front desk and the restaurant are so nice! Very nice place to spend a marvelous vacation!
I will recomend this hotel for all my frends in brazil.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Wow! You’ve truly made our day, thank you for the fantastic review! We’re thrilled to hear that you loved your stay with us; your recommendation is the highest compliment you can give us. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The location of this Hotel is mind blowing. Right on the Ocean drive and minutes away from the Beach. Since it is on 14th St, it is much closer to Lincoln Rd.

To be frank, I was quite skeptical in booking this Hotel as the reviews were not too great. But I must say that you should not be mislead by them. This Hotel is simply superb in terms of location, service, staff friendliness and Hotel amenities.

They serve free cntinental breakfast at their sister Hotel - President, which is right behind Penguin on Collins Ave.

I booked the city tours thru the Hotel and that was reasonably priced and great experience.

Very satisfied with the room, it's amenities and service.

I think it's very difficult to get the above package in the Price that I got the deal. I will surely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for giving our hotel a try; we’re very happy to have pleasantly surprised you! It’s fantastic to hear that you loved our location, value and amenities. Your praise of our staff is appreciated; we will be sure to pass your praise along to them. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Penguin Hotel at the end of April. The hotel is right in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Upon checkin you are required to leave a deposit even though our room was paid in full and on check-out an additional $19 a day is charged as a resort fee (This was noted when we booked but not sure what we got for that $19). The room was comforatble but is in need of an major update. The hallway to the room was like something out of a horror movie. The front desk staff were great, especially "Florencia" (I hope I got that correct). Housekeeping is problem. I think they have only one housekeeper so if your room in not cleaned when you return from the beach it goes uncleaned for that day. We came back at 4 pm for a rest after spending the day at the beach and our room was still not cleaned. Since we wanted to rest for an hour or so our room was not serviced. Breakfast is provided but you have to walk around the block to another hotel and if you want hot food you have to pay for it. coffee, juice, bread/toast, cheese, pastry, orange slices, cereal and yogurt are complimentary. Lunch and dinner are available at the hotel's restaurant and a small discount is given but the service at the restaurant in the evening was very unfriendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Our fun location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you enjoyed it! Thank you for your praise of Florencia, yes- you remembered her name correctly! We will pass your compliments onto her; we know it will make her day. We are sorry to hear that you were under impressed with your room and breakfast. We also apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to your room not being cleaned. We are always striving to improve, and your feedback is invaluable to our reaching that goal, thank you. For future reference, our resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.