We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We got in to early and the front desk told us she will help us get a room and we go ahead and have breakfast at their hotel, so before we got serve our breakfast the front desk told the waiter that she have a room for us, my partner got up and did all the info and stuff and get back to eat his breakfast, then after that we went to the room shower and relax and when out shopping. Have to tell this a very simple place but so close to everything it was clean and great service. Specially Carmen Guzman she was so awesome with us great service and clean rooms girl you rock .She offer to hold our luggage until the room was ready after a red eye flight we were tired location location so close to the beach

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are thrilled that you loved our location and that you felt so well taken care of! Your praise of our staff, especially Carmen, made our day! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to her. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    229
    157
    73
    122
See reviews for
70
302
71
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

+Check-in was fast simple and easy

-Hallway to room didn't smell great

+Room itself was a good size, overall clean, view of the ocean

-Mini-fridge was off when we got there, though i wouldn't say this was entirely their fault. The plug was just loose from the socket and just needed plugged all the way in.

-Turned a/c off for a second and it would not turn back on. Tv remote didn't work either. From the time i called the front desk to the time it was fixed was about 90 minutes. Whites on the tv were way blown out as well, but i just wanted to get on with the stay instead of having maintenance there for most of it. Tv was watchable, just not ideal.

-Could easily hear someone in the next room through the wall on their phone.

+Location was great, right down the road from every bar and right on the beach.

+We got 2 welcome drinks on arrival. ordered 2 Cuba Libre's (coke and rum). It was pretty good. Wasn't watered down or cheap.

-only 2 outlets on the entire room, 1 had the tv plugged in, the other was by the bed with the fridge plugged in.

+Overall stay was comfortable. Still cheaper than most hotels on the beach.

-They were charging $30 to valet park my car. Parked it myself in the parking garage down the road for $20.

Didn't have breakfast, so no opinions there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are very happy that you loved our location and the welcome drinks. We apologize for the maintenance and noise inconveniences you encountered. We are always striving to improve and your comments help us know what we need to focus on, thank you. We will take each of your suggestions into careful consideration. We hope to see you again the next time the beach calls to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed on our way to a cruise. Our room was on the first floor right next to the kitchen. Nice room but noisy until after midnight. Free continental breakfast did not look very good, we ended up dining at the Penguin instead of the offered freebie. Overall the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We hope you had a great cruise! We are very sorry for the noise from the kitchen and any inconvenience it caused you. It sounds like you enjoyed the Purple Penguin Café! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Carmen @ front desk was very personable & friendly! Went out of her way to accommodate me as I needed 2 beds as was traveling with another adult. She did some rearranging & came up with an a fabulous solution! Live in Ft. Myers, FL & go to South Beach 4-6 times a year and really appreciate Carmen's friendly welcoming personality. Room was clean, airy & bright. Welcome drinks were great & bartender very friendly. Complimentary breakfast was okay. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Dave. We’ll be sure to let Carmen know you appreciated her help and thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. Friendly and welcoming is always the goal and it’s awesome to hear we achieved that. Please come stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Located in the heart of the busy Art Deco district, as expected, this old building has small rooms, small bathrooms, and narrow hallways. We had two 3rd floor Ocean-view rooms, one with a corner view. Both rooms were updated with great beach and Ocean Drive views.

The staff is very nice, helpful, and friendly. Have a long lunch on the patio and get to know everyone, it's part of this hotel's charm (and the food is very good.) While you're there, order the unlimited Bellini's (Champagne w/ peach puree) and people watch! Great location for that!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to corner ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Cheers to you, BeachingItAgain! Thanks for the helpful tips and the kudos to our staff. We’re so glad you liked our updates. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The front desk personnel were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean and an awesome value for its perfect location. Nothing fancy, but I had a good stay here. I didn't even get to take advantage of the freebies-wifi,breakfast, welcome drinks, but I have a feeling I'll stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It is always fantastic to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us! We can’t wait to see you again when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demaileron
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is by for the best location in South Beach! It is worth it to stay here. This place is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean.

Just a wonderful staff, excellent rooms, and walking distance to all major attractions. Just be warned that parking is a bit tricky, as it is anywhere in South Beach.

I truly look forward to my return!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed our location; we love it here! For your next visit; we do offer valet parking if you’re interested. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#64 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ocean
#125 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.