We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND GETAWAY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
“WEEKEND GETAWAY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had stayed at this hotel for 1 nightabout 18
months ago, and since then, saw this hotel on an
episode of "Hotel Impossible" when it was
supposedly renovated. We were excited to go back,
but we could not tell a difference. We entered our
room, put a hand on the bed and
it immediately squeaked loudly. We touched several areas on the
bed and it was the same throughout. The front desk Karla was very helpful who
allowed us to look at another room, which had what
appeared to be a full-size bed. Our final option was
on the first floor by the stairway, which was
supposedly a new mattress. This bed also squeaked very loudly, but since it had more light,
we chose it over the others. The other rooms were
filled quickly. In this room, we experienced a
defective A/C unit. The room was sweltering, so we
tried to stay outside the room as much as possible
until they fixed it. It took calling maintenance 3 times and 3 technicians until it was finally replaced
the following day. It was no fun sleeping on a
squeaky bed in 90 degree Miami weather!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Cai. Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you saw us on "Hotel Impossible," as we have certainly made many improvements since then. Although, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us fell short of expectations. We apologize for the issue with the mattress in your first guestroom, and we are glad that Karla was able to accommodate you with another room. We are sorry for the problem with your air conditioner in your guestroom as well, and we will certainly address this with our maintenance staff. Again, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    173
    119
    60
    107
See reviews for
33
198
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location its across the beach but lacks of essential things in the rooms. For example tvs work poorly, there are very few plug ins to charge your electrical devices, and there aren't many housekeeping employees so room service is slow and regular. And the best rooms are the ones that have an ocean view i recommend to book one of those if you choose to stay at this hotel. Any way if its your first time in Miami and your spending 5 to 7 days this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy that you liked the location of our hotel and your oceanfront guestroom, but we are disappointed that some of the amenities we offer fell short of expectations. We also apologize for the issue you had with housekeeping and we will be sure to address this with our staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything about this experience was repulsive. The hotel was incredibly filthy, the clientele scary, parking a nightmare. I booked a room with two double beds and arrived to one double; the staff was unable to offer a solution. I was completely disgusted by the entire experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello, Emily. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback, but we are sorry to hear your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be. We apologize for the issues you faced with parking, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel and service from our staff. We can assure you we will discuss these issues with both our housekeeping and front desk staff, so to avoid this happening again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friends and I wanted to do a girls trip to Miami for the 4th of July. We found this hotel on Groupon, and I am so happy we chose to book it! The location was perfect! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early on check-in day, and they let us keep our suitcases behind the front desk, so we could walk around the neighborhood until our room was ready. We called for extra bath towels each night, and they arrived at our door in minutes. We wanted to print out night club tickets one night, so we e-mailed them to the front desk, and they had the tickets ready for us when we went downstairs to leave. The rooms felt very clean, and the staff did a thorough job cleaning them daily. We had no problems with the TV, the air conditioner, or the beds.

I actually thought the hotel restaurant was one of its best features. The wait staff was very pleasant, and the happy hour was one of the best on Ocean Drive. Hotel guests receive 30% off food on breakfast and 20% off food on lunch and dinner, so it was fairly inexpensive as well.

We knew that there would be a $19 + tax per night resort fee, as this was stated on the Groupon deal, so we were not upset by having to pay that. The fee basically covers WiFi, two generously sized welcome drinks, two small bottles of water that are replenished each day, and beach towels, which was actually really nice because we would come and go from the beach, and they allowed us to replace our old towels with new ones each time. The rooms are so reasonably priced that even with the resort fee, this hotel is still a great value.

I definitely would stay here again, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a safe and clean place to stay on Ocean Drive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello, Sarah. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are happy that you made the choice to stay with us and that you and your friends were pleased with the cleanliness and amenities of your guestroom and especially your Happy Hour drinks and meals at The Purple Penguin Café. We are also thrilled to hear our staff was so accommodating, especially with your early check-in and club tickets. We are also glad you were able to take advantage of our location, and we hope you were able to see a lot of the city while you were in town. Thank you again for your review and we hope you come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely not "upscale" but it was adequate. It is pretty typical for the Art Deco hotels. Staff was friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable, ocean view was great from the room! I would stay again- only if the price is good. Great location really!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the service from our staff, as well as the cleanliness of your guestroom and comfort of your bed. We are also happy that we could accommodate you in a room with a view, as it certainly enriches the Miami experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked online air fair and hotel as a package. When we arrived they said we hadn't paid and tried to double charge us. After a long day of traveling we just wanted the room. Honestly it is not worth the price or hassle. With so many options don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us fell short of expectations. We apologize for the billing confusion and hope that our front desk staff was able to quickly remedy the situation for you, as these issues can arise when booking through a third-party website. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us and we thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The corridor smells pot. The bed was making so much noises and was not confortable. The air conditionning made so much noises that we closed it. There was 40$ of hidden fees per night after we booked through Priceline.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Patrick. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you faced with our hallways and the noises in your guestroom, as well as the charges to your bill, and we will be sure to discuss them with our staff. We realize how important it is to know what charges to expect when you stay with us, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.