We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel--Awesome Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute Hotel--Awesome Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night on Monday December 10th. The rooms are small but they are decorated really cute. Also if you are on vacation especially in South Beach you will probably not be spending much time in the room anyways. Also, the front desks girls were very nice and friendly, which unfortunately is not the norm in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hey Leianna,
Awesome review! We do have a group of amazing people working here; unlike other places in South Beach we strive to always make our guests feel at home. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    176
    112
    55
    107
See reviews for
38
211
55
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

we love the ocian drive perfect located for the beach, lovely restaurants and close to the lincoln road. the penguin is okey and the stuff very friendly. but overall we had already better hotels for similar prices in this area. so i have to say our stay was this time ratter disappointing, over all the creapy corridor and old fashion standard in rooms and lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hey Studerni,
Sorry about your disappointing experience! Better luck next time with a different hotel! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I arrived without a prior booking, which was our plan, but they charged us $50 more than the rate I could have had on this site. The location is superb, although one night's car parking will cost you $20, even if you barter and $34 if you don't. The hotel is a throw-back. The corridors feel like something in a prison and although the rooms are clean, they are really basic and tacky. The worst part of our stay was the bed; it had a depression in the centre which left my wife and I feeling like we we clinging on to the side of a hill on either side of the bed! We complained in the morning and were told by the man ager, that all the rooms were like this - no discount!

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the rooms and the beds first, or just pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Angus,
We are currently exchanging all beds at the Penguin. I apologize if you still had to sleep on one of the old beds. The information you received from our manager is completely incorrect and not all rooms have the same bed because as I said, we are replacing them as we speak and this process should be completed by mid December 2012. In regards to the valet parking, I'm not sure what you meant by $20 or $34. It is in fact $30/night for valet service otherwise you can try street parking but we do not recommend that as meters are free only from 3 am to 9 am, meaning you'd have to keep feeding the meter until 3 am. It is $1.75/hour for the meters. Thanks for staying with us though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You definitely get your bang for the bucks here! The rooms are very bright and clean. Obviously there have been upgrades to this older building. No view from the room, but alas you can sit in the front under the awning and people watch! The full breakfast menu was awesome, I had the omelet for $8 and it was great! They do have a free continental breakfast but we didn't make it in time. The free cocktail at happy hour was a nice way to wind down from a day of running around. The bartenders were funny and personable. The reservationist was very informative and could answer any questions, like how to and how much to get from the airport to the hotel. Only down side was the front desk staff never broke a smile. The place is solid and you don't hear any neighbors. I would highly recommend the hotel and would return myself.

Room Tip: The room with one bed is rather tight, and did not have a window. The room with two queens was much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hey Happycustomer01,
Thanks for your review! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

There were stains and hair on my sheets! I asked the front desk the next morning for them to be changed, they were not. I then found the card in the room which you lay on your bed to have the linens changed, again they were not. This is the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed at! Location was great & the patio restaurant was nice, but I cringed having to go to my room!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Heh 86,
This must have been a huge misunderstanding...If anything, I can tell you that our most common "flaw" is to change the bedsheets too often, even when guests don't request this service. I am extremely surprised to hear that the opposite happened to you. In any case, I apologize for what you had to go through while staying with us. On the other hand your room phone has a button that calls Housekeeping Dept directly; you could have requested your bedsheets to be exchanged immediately and we would have done so in less than 10 min. Thanks for letting us know about our inconvenience though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On the plus side, it's on the ocean front and has air conditioning. The bathroom is clean. Otherwise, it's basically a dump. There's an overhead light but no reading lights. The drapes don't completely close. The floor is grey tile and doesn't look particularly clean. There's exposed piping in th room. The hallways look dumpy. Taxi fare from the Amtrak station is about $40.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
My dear Solo_Female_12,
We are so sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay at the Penguin Hotel. In regards to some of your concerns, I've got to say you are one of the only guests that have requested a reading light in South Beach....South Beach is a party place, not too many guests come here to read but I understand your point. The exposed piping you mention are called sprinkler system and yes, even though they are as ugly as they come, we cannot cover them otherwise in case of fire, our guests would be in great danger. Aside from that, I'm glad to hear you thought are bathrooms were clean and our location was good. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lust in Space huge bed, great room with great views not of the beach but great bodies stripping off next door. The room was clean and a quite place to sleep after a noisy night on the Drive. The staff were great and really helpful and friendly. Bonus was the guest Happy Hours many thanks for that.
We had a great stay and beginning to our wonderful trip around Florida. Thanks for the great tips for eating on the Keys and I hope the guy who's kids were reading the Hunger Games decided to read himself. Anyone who decides to stay here should go with a free spirit and remember that Miami is for Fun and an experience well worth having. If we ever return to Miami the Penguin will be where we stay. Thanks for the Fun.

Room Tip: Lust in space huge bed a good quite nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you Gina for this review! You are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.