We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Penguin Hotel to your Saves list
Penguin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed her with a few mates on a Thursday and Friday in late Sept. Saw some previous poor reviews for the hotel, but we just wanted somewhere clean, convenient & well located at a good price where we could sleep. Room cost just $68 per night plus $15 per room resort fee (which paid for itself as it included towels, beach chairs, in-room safe, breakfast & a free drink at happy hour), booked on internet. Only parking is valet & incurs a $30 per day charge. Don't know what some people expect for their money! Put on review about lack of pool, but same firm own President literally round the corner & guests at The Penguin can use those facilities too.
Excellent location on Ocean Drive right opposite beach & a short walk form nightlife. Rooms more than adequate & ours were both kept clean. All staff were friendly & helpful, especially Fabio on reception. Would definitely stay here again & use money I save to spend on having a good time in Miami

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Martin_boro3,
Thanks so much for writing this comment. It's so incredibly honest and I am so glad to hear you were able to understand our true value: low rates, great service, amazing location. Come back soon and take advantage of our special discount for Trip Advisor reviewers. Please mention this review next time you book with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    189
    122
    59
    109
See reviews for
43
231
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service here at the Penguin. This hotel is in a great location. Rates are very reasonable. Highly recommend this hotel. Clean and quaint. Fabio checked us in and was a HUGE help, and very accommodating. A++++ (I never write reviews, but had too for this hotel) hope it helps!
LB

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Lebadgwell,
Fabio is a great asset to our reception team and our hotel in general, thanks for recognizing that. Should you come back to Miami Beach, please make sure to book with us directly and mention your Trip Advisor review for a super-saver discount. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Penguin from the 22-25,2012. I loved the location right across the street from the beach and night life was close enough to walk too. The hotel was cute and clean, and the rooms are a perfect size. My favorite part of staying here was the staff they made us laugh all weekend even when we wanted to cry cause there was so much rain lol. Thank you supervisor "goatee" and "the best salsa dancer ever". I would def come back here. See you soon! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks Chi_Chii, awesome review of yours!! We are all great salsa dancers here so come back soon for more classes....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in The Penguin from Sept 23-25. Booked online and payed 75$ per night. It is a nice location just 3 to 4 block away from all the nightlife, which is nice. The rooms where ok for the price. The service was good also. I was a little scared for all the negative reviews but I was surprised that it was not bad at all. This is definetly not a 5 star hotel but it is pretty good for the price. It was pretty clean and we always had new towells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Patricia,
I love honest reviews like yours. We offer very competitive rates and nowadays this is one of the most important reasons to book a room. I am glad you had a good experience while staying with us.
Thanks for writing this comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is really charming, it is just across the beach, the rooms are so bright, the idea of mirrors facing the bed makes is a nice trick to give impression of bigger room, however the conditioning system needs to be improved because it is very noisy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear HARBeirut,
Thanks so much for your comments. It'd have been very helpful if you had mentioned which room number you stayed in so we can take care of this issue immediately. If you see this message, please email me with this information. Thanks again and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had two rooms at the Penguin hotel on Ocean Drive for one night pre-cruise. I don't understand those who consider the rooms to be small or dirty. Our rooms were great -- clean, bright and comfortable -- loved the unusual décor -- and having another sink in the bedroom was very useful. Couldn't wish for a better location. An easy walk to Collins and Lincoln with many restaurants and bars just steps away from the hotel and right across the road from the beach. We also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that the bathroom door was made of glass so the lights from outside shone in. We draped a towel over the bathroom window to block some of the light. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was pretty sparse -- we just grabbed a coffee and went somewhere else for breakfast. Overall, though, we loved the hotel and would stay there again -- and for longer. Great price, too, for South Beach.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in a dark room, ask if there are rooms with wooden bathroom doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Ruth,
Great review! Thanks so much for all the compliments. It was very interesting to read your comment about light coming in from the bathroom window because most bathrooms are Penguin face to the sides of the building and there are no light poles there. Hmmm..I'll definitely look into this. Thanks again. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We didn't stay here, but popped in for a drink whilst staying in Maimi and visiting South Beach.
It was Happy Hour and wehad a great time sampling the "Penguin Cocktail" which came in a penguin shaped cocktail shaker! We also had great value canapes.
Our server was Timothy, who looked after us admirably and was great fun. We loved sitting on the terrace watching the sun set over the beach. The music was great and it was not so frenetic and noisy as some of the larger bars were. We loved it and will definately return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Peykake,
So you were one of the lucky ones that had tried our amazing "Shake your Penguin" cocktail?? How great is that??!!! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. It means a lot to us and you are right, Tim is great. We love him too!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.