We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviere South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riviere South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Riviere South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1424 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very nice hotel. Happy hour to guest was very nice! Room was kinda small. Didn't like the bathroom set up! Very nice staff and valet!! Right in the middle of everything. Only a couple blocks away from Lincoln rd. Would not book again but very nice for the 3 day stay we had!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t find our rooms to your liking. Hopefully that won’t stop you from booking with us again. We also have Suites available which are much more spacious that the standard rooms. Feel free to contact us directly should you find yourself in Miami Beach again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    149
    59
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
87
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel has nothing special to it, it's in good condition but nothing big I would say average. Rooms are small, I was told the deluxe suite had two separate rooms one with one Queen bed and the other sofa bed, but when I checked in I was told they only had one room with two beds. Traveled with family and friend, it had great liason to everything, Lincoln Rd, the beach and restaurants. You can save money by staying around downtown Miami cheaper and better hotels. Most parking garages around the beach are 20 a day or a dollar per hour. Stay was ok.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our property. We are sorry to hear that your stay was just okay. Being in a central location in South Beach is one of the factors that affects the cost of the hotels in this area. We apologize that you were not able to stay in a Suite. Unfortunately there are only a few of those units and they sell out fast, so we can only guarantee them to those who booked that specific room. Should you come back to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact us directly and we will assist you with booking a Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Four 21/22 year old Australian girls who stayed for three nights in July 2014. The best way to describe this hotel is 'okay'. The room was clean and the hotel was in a great location, our room was quiet. The bathroom is exceptionally tiny and our door did not lock nor would it stay closed on it's own (not at all practical for four people sharing a room). The shower is spacious but the tiny sink and mirror area made most tasks difficult. The hotel staff are reasonably helpful, however we did have to request extra towels and toilet paper on several occasions before they were brought to our room. The complimentary breakfast is reasonably basic but has a few staple choices. The air conditioner was unfortunately very noisy and windows could not be opened which was a bit of a pain. Overall probably not spacious enough for four people with big suitcases but we managed given it was only a few days. Would probably pick a different hotel should we return to Miami.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to review us. We apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay. We really wish you had let our staff know about these issues so they could have taken the appropriate action to resolve them. All of our rooms have bathroom doors with locks, and all of the windows in our rooms can also be opened. If you were unable to do this then there may have been something wrong with the locks. We would be happy to accommodate you again. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to Miami Beach. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The only thing I really enjoyed about this property was the location, it's easy to walk everywhere from here. Unfortunately, the hotel is loud at night - and not because you're in South Beach, per say - more because it seems to be hot hotel for the 20-something crowd who party outside of their doors until 3am.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear our other guest were noisy. It is not acceptable, and we have set rules that prohibit the guests from staying in the patio outside after midnight. The month of March is Spring Break season, and this year in particular was a crowded year.
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience, but we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Riviere was a nice simple hotel, really small with very few rooms.

What we liked about the place: Nice, spacious rooms, clean sheets and a clean bathroom. They have usually only 1 person manning the place along with the cleaning staff. Both times, the staff at the reception were delightfully helpfull. They told us where we should hang out, things to see, etc. We liked the personal touch. The location couldn't be better, a short walk to oceans drive, the beach or lincoln road.

What can be improved, breakfast is literally a bowl of cereal and some fruits (I didn't mind that since I skip breakfast when on vacation). The cleaning the next day could have been better (Dunno why the cleaning staff didn't notice the sand we brought into our rooms from the beach). I think its a tad bit overpriced since its a no frills hotel with no pool, restaurant, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are glad our staff was helpful and made your stay all the better. We apologize for the lack of housekeeping you had the next morning, as the maids are supposed to thoroughly clean the room unless they are specifically told not to. For our breakfast we also offer croissants, muffins, toast, yogurt, coffee, juice, and milk. We are currently trying to add some other choices to make the breakfast a bit more complete. If you travel to Miami Beach again, we would be happy to have you visit us again so we can show you our improvements.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is just NOT a good place to stay. It's in a nice location, but the breakfast is just some cereal thrown in a large bowl that you can serve yourself from into a Styrofoam bowl (if memory serves). You must go outside to eat it in the courtyard (the courtyard has its charm I must admit - you kind of feel like you're in Havana) but if it's raining, which it sometimes does in Miami, I think you might have to stand in the "lobby" which is a small 2x4ft area with a tiny desk where the clerk can check you in - there are no tables cause there is absolutely no room. In the evening after our drinks and dinner, I went to take a shower to be met by a very large cockroach. I called the front "desk" in the "lobby" and someone did come and got rid of it. Quite frankly it scared me to death and I'm a New Yorker! They didn't offer apologies or even some sort of free stuff or a discount or anything. The noise... We are not an early to bed family (just me, my husband and a 9 year old), but if you're on the courtyard you might be awoken by the revelers. And they should be reveling, they're in Miami. But when you have a kid with you and you're in bed not too too late, it's not practical. I would probably rate the cleanliness higher than a 1 if it had not been for the cockroach... My suggestion is to find somewhere else to stay. Location is great however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry we could not make your stay in the hotel as good as you had hoped. However, based on your comments we think you may be confusing hotels. Our cereal is served in individually sealed, plastic containers. The only Styrofoam we have is for the coffee cups. Our lobby is not suited to have tables like a Cafeteria would, but we have some seats available in the reception and also provide trays to take the breakfast to your room. In the case that is should rain, the nearby Front Desk agent and/or the breakfast setter would gladly provide you with an umbrella and even carry the breakfast to your room. Like you said, Miami Beach is known for its occasional rain, and we are prepared so that it won’t take us by surprise.

We frankly apologize for the palmetto bug found in your room. Cockroaches cannot nest in your property since they are fumigated regularly. However, palmetto bugs live in palm trees and are still sometimes able to crawl under doors or open windows. We apologize once again for the agent who did not offer his/her apologies. That type of behavior from our employees is unacceptable,

As you noted, Miami is known for its nightlife and it is common for guests to arrive very late at night. In any case, we do not allow gatherings in our courtyard past midnight.

We hope this response cleared concerns you had about our property, and we invite you to give us a chance to show a better time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2014. The room was large and clean with digital safe, hair dryer, basic toiletries etc. We had a room at the front which was noisy at times but this could be said for any hotel on Collins Ave.
We stayed in a few other hotels in Miami during the same trip and this was one of the better ones.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiviereApartHotel, Manager at Riviere South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your understanding, we know that Collins Ave can be a bit noisy sometimes due to the Miami Beach nightlife. Hopefully the next time you are in town we can accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Nassau Suite Hotel
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#154 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
City Center
The Delores
The Delores
#133 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere South Beach Hotel

Address: 1424 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviere South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riviere South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviere Apart Miami Beach
Hotel Riviere Apart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviere South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.