We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach to your Saves list
Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Great price, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

As i was looking for a hotel to stay for my vacation for my anniversay. I notified the lovely reservation agent Shanna, we were on our honeymoon and she gave us a complemetary upgrade. Not to mention her outstanding phone etiquette skills! When i arrived to the hotel i was checked in by Gaby and she was very sweet and helpfull. I was very impressed with the the hotel based on the reviews i read. Yes it is an older hotel, its a a great price for the location. I did have one issue, but the front desk agent Diana had it quickly resolved. If you are coming here for a vacation on a budget, this is the spot for you!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Seagull Hotel. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words and we will let everyone know that they made your stay enjoyable for your anniversary. We look forward to having you celebrate your next anniversary with us please contact Shanna directly again and she will be very happy to upgrade you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    121
    90
    232
See reviews for
113
149
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel could really be something if the staff wasn't so rude and with simple updating like better quality towels, updated head boards, new carpet, new tub's sink's and fixtures. I stayed at this hotel in december of 2011 and 2012 the last time I stayed there me and my friends all got sick from black mold. No parking, lazy staff, housekeeping is a joke!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony! Don't let them push you around, let them know you will leave reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed on your third trip here. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we let you down and we do take your concerns to heart. I am happy to tell you that we will be renovating this year so I am very confident that if youdo decide to give us another chance next year you will find a huge improvement and we will once again be your hotel to stay at in South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

During my stay at the seagull hotel I received excellent customer service from the staff and the one person who stood out was a young lady at the front desk by the name of Diana M., she was very courteous and helpful in making me and my family happy in getting us the the room we wanted. The hotel is very clean and a great atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I will also return next time because of the positive attitude and leadership Diana M. shows. Once again enjoyed my stay in the seagull hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Seagull Hotel. I was so happy to hear that Diana stood out and gave you excellent customer service we certainly like to hear that and we will pass on your encouraging words to her. We look forward to seeing you again soon please contact us directly and we will be more than happy to upgrade you on your next stay with us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect price for a beachside hotel. My room had a balcony with a partial view to the ocean and couldn't be more lovely! The staff are all very friendly and nice and understanding. Diana From the front desk made sure we got a great room to prove the reviews wrong and she was successful! The rooms are nice and yes they are clean!! the housekeeping staff try hard to give you what you need. The buffet in the morning is also great. I will come back to this hotel next Memorial Day weekend !! Enjoyed my stay at the seagull ! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Diana made sure you got a great room. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

To start ,the homeless live next door, your at the end of the strip so, its a long walk. Don't pay for oceanfront rooms because they have no ocean front rooms and will not give you your money back! When walking to your rooms it look like the homeless should stay there for FREE, elevators work sometimes, bugs!!! Bad customer service!!!!! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however we are very confused by your comments as we have 30 oceanfront rooms with balconies and direct view of the ocean as well as 20 oceanview rooms with balconies which have a a partial view of the ocean, so if you had reserved an oceanfront room you would have received it. I apologize for any other inconvenience you encountered if you stayed here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After an 18 hour trip I finally arrived at the hotel and wanted to check in. At the front desk I was told that my reservation was for a week later, which I then proved wrong as my voucher stated the right day. I was basically told that this can't be and it's everyone else's fault except theirs. After another wait for about 15 minutes the lady said it was ok and I can get a room.
The rooms itself... well I didn't expect much for that price, which was alright. Location is also not that bad. Pretty close to the hotspots of Miami Beach.
The reason I am writing this review is mainly because of the rude, incompetent and unfriendly staff all above the general manager.
On one of my last days of my stay, my backpack got stolen on the pool, even though they have a surrounding fence and security. However, the fence is not very high, so it's easy for someone to climb over it. So watch out for your things! Apparently also the rooms are not very secure, so keep your stuff in the safe.
When I reported the theft to the security, we watched the CCTV in the back office together with the general manager. He unfortunately was more concerend to leave work on time to go home being impatient to the police officer and me than being helpful in identifying the crime that happened in his hotel.
And so was the front desk supervisor. Rude, incapable and totally untrained in terms of complaint handling.
But what to expect if a person, who apparently doesn't know anything about hospitality, is managing this place.
One more point, housekeeping is cleaning the rooms whenever they feel like it. If you're not out at 8.30 am (on holidays!!) don't expect to come back later that day into a cleaned room.
All in all I was shocked of the incompetence of the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you for your review, unfortunately as we explained to you our hotel as all hotels are not responsible for items left unattended which is why we provide a safe in the room. Our pool area is secure and we have security. It was unfortunate that someone took advantage of the situation and took your unattended items. We are sorry you felt the manager was not helpful, he did make every effort to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Where do I start, okay so like most of you I decided to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt. I know how some people have unrealistic expectations for cheap prices but believe me that is not the case. I got to the hotel at 2pm and was told to come back in 2 hrs because my room wasn't ready. I was perfectly fine with that. When I finally walked into my room it hadn't been cleaned. There were no sheets on the beds, the bathroom reeked and there was garbage all over the floor. I called the front desk and they sent up 2 very rude housekeepers to the room. It was another 30 mins before my room was ready. The manager refused to see us, stating the problem was getting fixed. I insisted and had to pull an apology out of her and ask to change rooms, which we never did because the AC was broken in the room that was offered to us. I knew my stay was going to be a nightmare when an employee from the hotel stated that everyone complains, the AC doesnt work in most rooms, and the elevators are ancient. The staff was extremely rude and non attentive to the customers. There was mold and mushrooms growing out of the bathroom ceiling. I am not kidding. There was a continous leak from the floor above us, which we soon discovered was urine leaking from the bathroom upstairs. The ATM machine didnt work for most of my stay. And the only Ice Machine working was the one located on the 7th floor. The only plus I had a balcony. This is the first review I have ever written because I felt the need to warn people to stay away. I will pay more to stay at a different hotel next time and I could care less whether they renovate or not, I will never stay here again!!! Plain and simple it was a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
we are very sorry to hear you had so many problems and they were not addressed immediately during your stay. All the ice machines are working however when there is a great demand sometimes they run out while new ice is being made. Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention so we may learn from them and fix the problem where we can. I hope your next stay to our beautiful city will be a happier one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Address: 100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Days Inn
Miami South Beach Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.