We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Save Saved
You added Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Brossard, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

So maybe it is not a 5 star Hotel for some people, but for me it is a 10 star Hotel.
Comfortable,Clean and not to highly priced. Most important is the staff from the top to the bottom.
Management and staff.When you've stayed there ones you don't want any other Hotel
Dutchie van Eden

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We love having you stay with us as well and are happy to have you as part of our family here at the Seagull. We can not wait to see you and your lovely wife again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    69
    116
    97
    227
See reviews for
108
135
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We oversaw this place from a room at the neighboring W during a recent stay and were very skeptical of this place after reading the reviews. Still, our trip have been extended by two days, the W was at 100%, and we were really enjoying this part of the Beach.

It was clear on site inspection that the place is old, carpets and windows dirty, interior decorating very tired etc. But we were granted our request to look at a few oceanfront rooms. Gone were the feather comforters of the W, replaced instead by cotton-poly quilts. Gone were the 4 oversized towels, replaced by 2 small but highly exfoliating towels. Gone was the sleek, modern mini fridge, but we were told we could rent one for $10/day. Opening the balcony door in a northeast corner room, listening to the surf of the Atlantic and sunrise..albeit in a large, old room lacking adequate power outlets and in desperate need of a multimillion dollar renovation.. well for a bit over $100, compared to the $600 across the parking lot? In this economy? Why not? So we adjusted our attitudes, found no bugs of any kind, but met some delightful folks at the modest pool and generally came to like the place and most of the staff who worked extra hard to compensate for the physical condition of the place.

On days when there are more than a handful of guests at the pool, the bartender even ventures out to the pool and takes drink orders. As always, the beach is available behind the hotel if you would rather rent padded lounges.

Don't get me wrong -- it is modest, stained floor tiles and tub, elevator floors and doors in need of repair. But you get what you pay for.

And in this instance, once we decided to look up and not down, we left feeling as if we got a great value relative to every other hotel around.
We laughed as we left, shaking our heads in disbelief, that we had actually managed to have a great time at this little place. And would return. With the right 'tude.

Room Tip: East/ oceanfront room. Floors 5 through 7, ideally north east corner with glass on both sides. 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

If your looking for a 5 star experience, keep looking. If your looking for a decent room, roof over your head for a low price you found the right spot.

A friend of mine and I go for a mini vacation once a year and this year was Miami South Beach. We are both 31 years old, well traveled and not too picky. Price is generally a determining factor in our hotels as 2 guys don't spend a whole lot of time in them. The things that knock the quality down in this hotel were things that don't really bother us. The window in the room was off its track, some plaster damage in the hallways, only one ice machine worked in the building and the elevators were slow.

The positives were a very friendly and helpful staff, surprisingly large rooms with a great little seating area to pre-drink before hitting the strip which is steps away. The beach is 2 minutes walk and the surrounding area is safe and convenient. There is a Walgreens a block away for beer and a liquor store on the block.

I would totally recommend this place for the traveler who is looking to save on the accommodation which is smart in Miami as it is not a cheap place to party.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

If you are expecting what every other hotel on millionaires row will give you for the budget price they offer, don't. This is a budget hotel for this location, and location is why you want to stay here!

This hotel is ON THE BEACH and is in walking distance of EVERYTHING. That's why you want to stay here. Parking is city controlled...but the new machines make it 90% less a pain...

The staff has always been 100% friendly to me, the rooms have been clean enough to not freak me out. If you want on the beach, affordable room, close to South Beach attractions, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We were right by the pool...sleeping until lunch we weren't bothered by the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
thanking you for staying with us again, we are very happy you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Had a great stay at the hotel for the second time and got a sea view this time in a standard room. The hotel is in a good location, right near the beach. It takes around 10 minutes to Lincoln Road where there are lots of restaurants and 20 minutes to Ocean Drive the main area to go out a night and party. The hotel is one of the cheapest on the beach. It is a bit grubby and basic but it has comfortable clean beds which is what you want and a nice pool... The 150 bus just down the street takes you straight to and from the airport $2.35 (35 minutes)..It used to be a Days INN now its Seagulls, please get a new sign......

Room Tip: Front of hotel reception side has sea views, and the pool side. The right side some rooms have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
thank you for staying with us again and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope to have a new sign by then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

When I booked this hotel in plain South Beach, Oceanfront for only 29€ a night, I knew not to expect anything. Yes, the place is old, yes it could do with a serious renovation, but if you don’t expect anything for the price, you won’t be disappointed. Don't go looking around for every little peace of dirt or broken furniture... you can find it of course, but who cares ? It would never cross my mind to take off the sheets of a hotel bed to see whats underneath. For one thing I don't want to know and secondly I don't care. You’ll only spend a couple of hours sleeping in the room anyway. For the price it costs and especially for the great location, this hotel is just fine. You’re only about 5 minutes walk away from Lincoln Road. The bus stop for the Aventura Mall or Dadeland Mall are right on the street corner. The rooms are big, I got an oceanfront without even asking for it, it has two queen beds so you can put your open suitcases on one of them. The bathroom’s a bit small though ( I suggest you get yourself some pool towels downstairs for the shower, as their shower towels are more like the size of hand towels really...) and you have to pay extra for the safe. The pool is decently sized and surrounded by palm trees, plants and grass. I was only here for four nights, spending about two hours at the pool in the sun right after sun rise and then going shopping for the rest of the day, so for me the hotel was no more or no less than what I had expected for the prize and I would come back here as well. ( I’d rather spend my money shopping than on a 200$ or more hotel room in a posh South Beach hotel)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we are very glad you enjoyed your oceanfront room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ok, so im from chicago and this was our first trip to miami. Well let me say it was the most affordable way to go being that we decided to go at the very last minute. The hotel itself was in poor shape, the hallways, the elevators, it was very dirty! They had a shortage on towels.. Like WTF really? Like i understand the hotel was at its capacity but thats just ridiculous. We had a very large room though, which was in good condition. It was well groomed and finally felt comfortable....BUT the bathroom was HORRRIBLE!! Like we were literally in flip flops every day to take a shower, we didnt even feel comfortable puttin our towel on the sink or tooth brush. Like we did everything we could in the room. IF YOUR GOING FOR MEMORIAL DAY...BRING YOUR OWN IRON....because we literally fought for ours! The hotel staff was very slow...like i said it was expected because it was at capacity, but obviously there were so many problems. OVERALL we said this year this was are absoluuuuuuuuuutttttte last resort. If you want to find a great hotel be looking forwards to spending 3-5 hundred a night!!!! OH YEA DONT BELIEVE ANY OF THE PICTURES ON MIAMI BEACH WEBSITES....THERE ALL 9/10 NOT WHAT THEY LOOK LIKE!!! GREAT LOCATION ON THE STRIP, THE BEACH IS LIKE 3 SECONDS FROM THE HOTEL....BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, Memorial Day is one of the busiest weekends here, we have updated all of our hallways since your stay and are happy you were able to enjoy the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Address: 100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Days Inn
Miami South Beach Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.