We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tried 5 rooms and got the heck out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Save Saved
You added Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Wales , UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“tried 5 rooms and got the heck out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We arrived in Miami ,south beach to stay in The Wyndham gardens but due to room availability issues we were put in The Seagull (as it is now known ) instead . On arrival the smell in the lobby hit us and the general unclean feel to the place was obvious . We were given a room on the 4th floor and after braving the dirty elevator and the sodden hallway carpet we entered our room and I wish I could put over the smell on this message but mouldly urine kind of covers it . The windows were filthy ,stuff was damaged and the whole feel was not nice . We got out quickly & tried a further 5 rooms with the same level of uncleanliness . By now my wife was very upset and we decided to check out and seek a room in another hotel at our expense .We trudged the darkened streets ,luggage in tow and found The Townhouse . It was excellent indeed and well located and priced and very welcome after 14 hours on the go .To summarise ,The Seagull is suited for the traveller seeking unfit rooms at knock down prices .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
i am sorry you were not happy with the room, the Wyndham hotel is a higher level than us and i am sure you were disappointed not to be staying where you reserved.. We are happy that you found a hotel that was more suitable for you and were able to enjoy your vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    108
    88
    224
See reviews for
109
135
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
1 review
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

After reading some of the reveiws i should not expected to much. It is a great location. our room faced the beach. It,s basically a dump I dont expect it to be there much longer. The parking sucks they dont have a lot,you have to pay the meter \,we over paid and still got a ticket.Breakfast was horrible its is only buffet no alcarte menu.the sausage was old and sour I wasted $14 .Also they were working on the roof starting at 7:00am

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
thank you for your comments we will look into changing our breakfast, unfortunately we do not have a parking lot and can not control any tickets that you might have gotten. If you did overpay you can contact the city of miami beach and they will look into it for you. We are going to be renovated starting with the roof and I am sorry the work started to early and disturbed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

OH MY - May 28, 2011
If this was your last resort don't bother. Of course the hotel gave our room to someone else. After flying from NJ, tired and hungry; they asked us to check out rooms that were full of mosquitos which was on the first flloor. We checked out another room that it looked liked the storage area. After about 45 minutes we finally got a room which was not what we asked for on the 5th fl but at least it was quiet. Well, in the morning they told us that we had to move because they were going to paint and renovated the entire 5th fl. After lots of negotiations we finally got a room on the 8th fl. top floor. The room was fantastic BUT the workers starter working at 7:25am. They were drilling away. I couldn't believe it. I called the front desk and of course the manager wasn't in but at 9am I gave her a piece of my mind to no avail. It was Black Beach Week and the room was overbooked. We had a police officer come to the 8th floor because the entire floor smelled like pot. Finally, we were leaving on May 27th and we got locked out of our room. I just can't make this up. This really happen. Again, if this is your last choice DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE. You will be sorry.
Thank you - Diana

Room Tip: do not book a room at this hotel. you will be sory
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

A lot of people here are smashing this hotel but most of them are people from out of the country that are not familiar with prices in Miami Beach. (I am a foreigner too). I have stayed in almost every hotel in Miami Beach and the reality is you get what you pay for, $100 here won't get you much. If you want high quality, go pay $350/night and up at the Marriott or across the street at the W.
The Seagull has the best view for the money, almost every room has ocean view. And the cleanliness and quality is comparable to more expensive options. Enough said.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
thank you so much for your kind words, we are happy you enjoyed your view and will look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 7 night stay at the "Seagull" Days Inn and I have to say we enjoyed it just fine.
Me and my boyfriend booked it for $65/night on otel.com, then I emailed one the managers at the hotel and asked to put us in a room with a nice view and a balcony, without paying the $20/night extra for ocean front.
We got room 815 on the top floor, their biggest room. It had a wrap around balcony, 180 degree view of Collins Ave, Collins Park, and the beach. It was a 4ft high balcony wall, so totally private to just us. It was one of the the best parts of our trip, because we got to lay out privately, and it was sunny on the deck all day, because it faced north.
The room was big, probably 600 square feet, bigger than my apartment, with a lock-off entry room with a loveseat and coffee table and french doors to close it off if you want.
The beds were nice, we had two doubles, both had pillow top mattresses and nice pillows.
There's nothing special about the TV or other amenities, but we didn't come there to watch TV all day (except for the NBA playoff games).
There was enough room in the drawers of the TV armoire, we didn't use the open walk-in closet.
The shower has a good round curtain rod, but the bathroom is basic. No complaints, though. The toilet ran a little - just jiggle the handle.
The pool was nice and big, but full of little kids in the evening. I liked the tropical garden feel of the courtyard leading to the pool.
The lobby is Miami beach cheese decor, but charming enough with a fountain and bridge. We didn't get the $12 buffet breakfast at all - too expensive. But there's a Walgreens a block and a half away with basic necessities and food stuff.
The only big problem was the balcony door - it needs to be replaced, and the door sweep had rusted off, so when it rained, water leaked into the room, soaking the carpet. We weren't bothered by it, but it smelled like mildew until it dried a couple of days later. We didn't complain. You get what you pay for.
We didn't rent a mini fridge for $10/day, but a thermal bag full of ice sufficed for beer and some food.
It's just steps from the beach, which was our biggest vacation desire, and most convenient. However, that part of beach was almost full of rented umbrellas and loungers ($30 a day we didn't want to pay) so we had to maneuver our little towels and umbrella to a spot untaken by big rental ones. And there are jet ski rentals right there on the beach too, which seems cool, but they are really loud and annoying after a while. Not related to the hotel. There's plenty of open beach space a little further down.
The concierge was friendly and helpful, as well as the front desk staff. I even stopped by to thank them for booking me into the best room they have. I didn't have to pay extra for it, so all you have to do is ask...
I would definitely stay here again - BUT only in room 815!
I saw inside a lot of the other rooms, and they were small, no balcony, facing the big high-rise parking garage to the south. No thanks.
The hallway carpets need to be replaced, and all the walls repainted, which they were doing while we were there.
You can tell it's an old building, surrounded by fancy high-rises, but we weren't there for luxury and to blow a ton of money. We were there for the sun and beach, and this room had all we needed, with plenty of extra space to spare.
I'd recommend this place for young couples wanting to travel on a budget, or groups of friends travelling together, but not for someone looking for a fancy getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fkennedy, Manager at Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your room. On your next visit you will see an improvement as we have replaced all of our hallway carpets. we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Filthy bathroom and terrible customer service. It might be on South Beach, but for the price we paid we expected much better. We were advised that the hotel was 100% non-smoking, however upon entering our room we discovered it stunk of cigarette smoke. (Not a problem for us, however many would be turned off by it.)

The bathroom was disgusting, even compared to 1 star hostels we have previously stayed at (see photos). On one night, the toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor. We called reception, who told us we would have to wait until 8am when housekeeping arrived, and that we should just put some towels down. The next morning, we called reception to ask if we could be moved to another room. They were very rude about the whole matter and advised that no, we could not be moved, as they were still taking reservations (!). Housekeeping took more than an hour to arrive to clean the bathroom.

The only positive aspects of the hotel are the large pool area and the location, which is literally a minute's walk away from the beach. There is a pub next door which offers cheap beers, and a great Mediterranean restaurant a block away. Tip: if you need to get to the airport from here, take a bus rather than a taxi. It is only approx. $1 and the bus stop is right across the street. By the way, this is now called Seagull Hotel Miami Beach (not Days Inn).

Room Tip: Don't bother. Pay more to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We booked this on the Internet as it showed up as Days Inn in the picture, which was probably from the 1980's. The reception area is quite pleasant but the lift was like a service lift in a store, outdated. The landing was disgusting there were yellow stains in patches of the green carpet everywhere, outside of rooms and in general in the hallway. The majority of the doors to the rooms looked as though they have had a good kicking in, very scary thought. Our room was thoroughly disgusting damaged door, broken security lock, horrible beds, horrible bathroom, funny smell in room. In it's hey day most likely 1980's the place was maybe once something because of the prime beach views. We did not stay, we left and checked out immediately and went to the Continental hotel down the road.

Room Tip: Disgusting, doors look kicked in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach

Address: 100 21st Street at Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Days Inn South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Days Inn
Miami South Beach Days Inn
Hotel Days Inn South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Hotel Miami South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.