We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location + Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crest Hotel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crest Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Crest Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location + Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location is great: two blocks from the beach, one block from Lincoln Road and 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive

I stayed one night with my family before going on a cruise and it was great to be close to many touristic sites within walking distance since we didn't have much time. The rooms were a little small but very clean and the bed was great for a night of sleep

Anyone complaining about this hotel for not having parking, bell boy, beach club or other services should be realistic and rate it based on the prices, I'm sure you can find al that in other nearby hotels but for a much higher price... as I mentioned I only stayed there for one night and my selection was pretty much based on location and price since I was not going to have time to enjoy the hotel facilities

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    195
    133
    39
    49
See reviews for
118
140
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is good for beach tourists... I mean you don't spend a lot of time in your hotel room when you're in Miami Beach anyway. The wifi is included in the rates, but not working that good. Five minutes of walking and you're at the Ocean Drive and the beach!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I stayed at the Crest hotel for three nights for business.
The area is rather pleasant, just off Collins and Washington at 17th street.
Plenty of restaurants around, and still pretty close to the beach.

Apart for that, I had a few bad surprises: the hotel indicates a $30 / night valet parking fee.
As it turns out, there is no valet service, it is just a parking lot across the street, and the cost is $40 per night, not $30.
When we asked for clarification, the hotel just told us the parking is in no way affiliated with the hotel, they have no idea of the actual cost, and can't do anything to help.
There's a public parking on Collins and 14St which costs less than half of that per night, it's only a 5 minute walk away.

The hotel itself, as many in South Beach, is pretty run down, and even though they seem to make efforts in renovating the place, it still feels pretty old.
The room was decent and the bed rather comfortable.
The bathroom was extremely small, especially the shower. But that was not a big deal compared the bugs infesting it. They looked like small ants, coming out of the vents.
My colleague had the same issue.
I can understand there's bugs in a city like Miami, but there's no excuse to find them in a Hotel bathroom on a 3rd floor; that is a pretty serious sanitary issue.

When you make a final count and your room costs you $150 + $40 parking + breakfast, I am convinced I can find better places a round.
Will not be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good location, a very basic, small hotel room. No coffee pot in the room. We were on the main level with a king size bed. The bed takes up most of the room. The bathroom is tiny. There isn't even a shelf in the shower for your shampoo or soap. We were there with a large group and was able to get a good price, otherwise, not sure it would be worth the price. At the end of the day, you're paying for the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good location as it's walking distance to the beach and all shopping. Staff is friendly and willing to help however on the pricey side for what you get and that is basic. If you looking to spend one night in South Beach this place will work...anything more then that and I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

At best this is a travel lodge with no amenities and the people that work there are extremely rude! The rooms are small the bathrooms smaller and there is nothing in the room or on property to even get a glass of water. You can tell it has been updated so at least the bed is decent but trying to conform to the small space they would have been better off doubling up some rooms and putting in a few more amenities like a little fridge or coffee pot. There are many quirky hotels like this in south beach that have done a great job taking a boutique hotel and making it yummy. If you are looking at this hotel take some more time and look at the others.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel if you want to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

As many other reviewers have said here, the location is great in the South Beach area, but the facilities are extremely basic. In essence this is a travel lodge but older and even more basic. Two double beds, a fairly small bathroom, no tea and coffee facilities. If you are looking for somewhere just to rest your head then its ok but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crest Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel Suites

Address: 1670 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crest Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crest Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Miami Beach
Crest Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crest Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.