We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hawaii Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawaii Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7430 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Way Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“great small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

the hotel is located right on the beach, it is really great location. hotel is very small. rooms are extremely small ,but comfortable and nicely renovated. The price for the hotel was great and i would came back to this hotel any time. I would recommend it to those who don’t spend too much time in hotel room, like the location and convenience . . Hotel doesn’t provide customers with parking, which was the only one inconvenience. A lot of people come to the beach and parking is full most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    37
    38
    62
See reviews for
18
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked this hotel last minute after an airline debacle that left me in Miami with no hotel. I was somewhat leery of staying here due to the bad reviews, but after my previously booked hotel charged me, then refused to accommodate me, I didn’t have many options for the price I was able to pay. Enough of that. The hotel was a $20 shuttle ride from MIA. The hotel is not well marked, but if you have the addressee the shuttle/taxi should not have any problem finding it. Check in time is 3:00pm and there is a locked closet available to leave your stuff if you like. Fast wifi is avaible in the lobby and some rooms. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The sea is across the street. There are several bargain restaurants and drug stores within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Several busses pass every hour headed for South Beach and Aventura mall, both of which are a $2 ride away. As for the rooms themselves, I was impressed. For the price that I paid, I can not believe the negative reviews that people have posted regarding this gem! The room was roomy, clean, and quiet. The shower was hot, water pressure was great. The bed was to die for! The fridge was cold and quiet. The channels on the TV were slightly fuzzy and the phone appeared to be broken but I did not mention the issue to the staff because I didn’t really care. I highly recommend Hawaii hotel to anyone on a budget that wants to stay in Miami beach. I’ve lived in 6 countries, traveled in 13, and have 7 years of experience in the travel industry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We've always been advocates of small Hotels and B&Bs, but this place just confirms you get what you pay for. First - the front desk agent was the most impolite person we've ever met. Somehow checking you in at 2:30pm is supposed to be a huge favor to you. There were others waiting since 9am. They insist on charging you an extra fee for "using the safe" even if you don't want to use the safe. They refuse to accept credit card for the fee. When we tried to refuse, they told us we can leave or pay the "early check in fee" of like $30. what?!
They are highly unprofessional. Don't expect anything other than a room.
Don't expect anything from the free breakfast - your choice of bagels, Fruit Loops, or raisin bran.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is a small building owned by the same people at the Ocean Surf Resort next door.
It's right next to an abandoned, boarded up building, so it looks pretty dingy.

It has no lobby or reception. You have to be buzzed in or out by a camera linked to the Ocean Surf hotel. There is no elevator. You have to drag your luggage up the stairs. The room is small and grimy. I did not feel relaxed and comfortable in the room.

A free Continental breakfast is included, which you have to walk to the Ocean Surf hotel, another small dingy hotel next door to have it. Both places are dingy and busy with young foreign visitors sitting in the lobby and out on the front porch, that they feel more like cheap hostel. Then there are a number or unkempt, homeless people who hang out at all hours day and night on the sidewalks, who would approach visitors to sell drugs.

For a few more dollars a day, it feel much better and safer to go next door and stay at the Days in North Beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The prices are low for a reason. Overall it was fine. Be sure to lock your valuables in the safe.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at! I booked the hotel on Expedia, and the place had gotten pretty decent reviews on there. The room we were first given was literally falling apart (and they told us that these rooms had recently been renovated and were the best that the hotel could offer!) The blinds were broken so you couldn't let any light into the room (not that there was much of a view because we were facing the wall of the building next door). The walls were moist and falling apart, the ceiling had a huge crack in it. The bathroom smelled like excrement which was a lovely bonus. The bed did not have any sheets on it, just the mattress cover. The phone in the room didn't work. The TV was from the 1920's. My favorite part however, was the TV remote in the room which not only did not work, but had a giant hole in the bottom, when I picked it up, a spider crawled out of it! (see picture!) The air conditioning didn't work; it was being held together with tape. When we asked to change rooms, they put my fiance and I in a room with two double beds. This room, although slightly better than the last was still horrendous! There were two chairs in the room that had foot prints on them and we were lucky because we could choose from two beds; one with tiny blood stains on the sheets (likely from bed bugs) or one with a huge urine stain on it. When we told the receptionist that we did not want to stay here she told us that our hotel was non refundable and just offered to change the sheets for us. We ended up booking at another hotel and lost $430. Also the place doesn't have an elevator. I wouldn't even recommend this place to youths looking for cheap rooms; you can probably find cleaner hostels than this!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I am very surprised reading some opinions about this hotel. It seems like if we went to another place. I think that many people doesn´t want to pay a lot for a hotel night and then they want a five star service. We went to Hawaii hotel for two nights when we were travelling to Orlando. Although we had read some different opinions, good and bad reviews, we went there because of its good location. Is located in a quiet street in Miami, where you can park your car with a ticket provided from the hotel. Just cross the street and a beautiful beach without tall buildings and uncrowded, allow you to enjoy the sea, the breeze and the sun.
We arrived so early and we could not be able to check inn yet, but the person that was there gave us cordially all the attention we needed to understand a map to go shopping. When we arrived we stayed at a little but clean room in the building that is right next door. The air conditioning was working, but wasn´t too cool. At the next day in the morning we did our request and they gave us another, a little bigger and nice room, clean with everything you need to stay comfortably.
The hotel serve a breakfast, coffee/tea, milk, cereal, bread, butter, jam and cheese, and others. For us this was enought to go to the beach, considering the price we paid for our stay there. The breakfast was served in a sunny and quiet terrace where people were reading or in internet, because you have wifi there, even though al the reception of the next building where we stayed.
The breakfast was served in a sunny and quiet terrace where people was reading or in internet, because you have wifi there, like at the reception of the next building where we stayed.
Maybe some pictures we took are a better way to see where you will stay if you go there.
If you want something better in Miami you have to pay much more!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawaii Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Hotel

Address: 7430 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Way Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawaii Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hawaii Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Ocean Way Hotel
Rodeway Inn Miami Beach
Miami Beach Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.