We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick, if you get a discount” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #56 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good pick, if you get a discount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are very basic, but comfy (although my room had no view at all), the hotel has a pool (although miniscule), the service was good, and the restaurant was awesome (try the French toast). If you get a discount (we paid $200 for our room), then it's a great option. It's a basic place, but pleasant and convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emar R, Front Office Manager at Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our staff to be helpful and had a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Emar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    470
    126
    77
    48
See reviews for
108
471
64
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had an opportunity to spend 3 nights at the hotel recently and was quite pleased with the overall experience. We arrived in early afternoon and they front desk person was determined to upgrade us but was not able to make it work-- not a problem as long as a room was ready and we could settle in. The rooms are small so don't plan on spending a lot of time there-- but that's not why you go to South Beach. What the room lacks in space it makes up for in comfort and decor-- simple, clean, white, and quiet. The bathroom was functional and also on the small side but the toiletries and amenities were a good quality. Staff was pleasant and helpful; they were attentive to requests and made some good recommendations while we were there. The only complaint I would have is about the valet parking arrangement. Valet seems to be a franchised operation with a few of the smaller hotels and they are reliably, undeniably, very slow... sometimes as long as 30 minutes or more. If this were a large hotel, I would understand but for hotel with about 75 rooms I think they could do better. The restaurant FIX is really very good and should have been packed the night we ate there-- but it wasn't. You really have to go into the hotel to see the place so it doesn't benefit from walk-bys like so many of the other places serving food of a far lesser quality. We ate at some of the best places in SB and by far this one was the best for quality, freshness, originality, and service. The bartender was terrific and the entire staff of FIX made sure we had a great experience. This is a great location and I expect the place to book fast once it catches on in the area. It should.

Room Tip: If you can get a bigger room than the standard, do it. While the regular rooms are fine, you might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emar R, Front Office Manager at Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent visit. We are delighted our staff helped to make your holiday a memorable one. We aplogize about the delayed with our valet parking during your visit.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards,

Emar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I do not trust this shady guy to make me a drink. Would rather wait for other great bartenders, Fabian was the best. Mohawk was Cold--in a rush to go-- and made me want to leave the bar. said "do you want anything else, before you CLOSE OUT?" and handed everyone their checks. Really unwelcoming. Made up drink charges that weren't on the menu--13.75 for a glass of basic wine? Worst bartender in Miami.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The room was not ready when we arrived. The "cook " does not know how to fix a couple of fried eggs. Someone at the front desk stole a package that arrived to our attention. At night the place was noisy . Nobody gave me an explanation when I asked for the lost package and I am still waiting for an answer.......

Even tough we payed extra money for a larger bed the suite looked and felt like a tiny hotel room. I would not stayed at this hotel never again, even if they invite me .

I almost forgot, you also have to pay an extra 20 dollars a day for a parking place for your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is great, one block from beach, right on Collins Ave for shopping, many restaurants nearby within walking distance. The room on the other hand, was tiny. Small closet with built in drawers was nice. No room to even walk around the bed. Anyone bigger than a child would have problems sitting at the desk, because the bed was in the way. There was a small "wading" pool, 3 ft deep. Our phone was blinking (no message) and our clock was set to the incorrect time. We asked repeatedly for assistance, none came. The clock must be set with an iphone, we did not have one. Our air conditioning clanked as long as it ran. The room was clean! All in all, the staff was friendly. Jorge, at the bar, was excellent, not only providing great service but restaurant advice also. The restaurant at the hotel was limited and a bit pricey. Have not stayed anywhere else on Sobe, so cannot compare. Several members of our business trip were unhappy, and they have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here last week for Art Basel. It was terrible! The hotel was recently "renovated". We were in the South building which was supposed to be "nicer and quieter". Instead the whole building smelled like mildew and the hallway carpet was dirty and old. Our room had shoddy construction, cheap new furniture, a broken phone and an air conditioner so loud that you had to shout over it. We asked to be moved to the other building which didn't smell like mildew. We were told to talk to the manager, Ernesto. During our 4 day stay, we left him three messages and two notes but never saw or heard from him. Miami was sold out so we were stuck there.

The rest of the staff is as nice as they can be -- even though they get no support from management. The poor bartender was stuck on the first night of Art Basel with a bar that was out of almost everything. And it wasn't because they sold out. It was because management didn't restock the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is now a Marriott Autograph Hotel for the last 4 - 5 months. The location is terrific as it is near to the South Collins trendy shopping area, one block to Ocean Drive, and just a few blocks to Espanola Way. There are a few kinks to work out such as no refrigerators or coffee makers in the rooms (coming soon, something to do with wiring) and service at breakfast was not very good (and really $45 for two people?), and staff forgot to tell us about the complimentary continental breakfastl But, the rooms were very quiet and the staff were pleasant and very accomodating.

Jorge in the bar/restaurant was always on the ball and looking to make sure guests had everyting they needed and Elsie at the front desk was extremely helpful.

This is an older building and the rooms are not always perfect. Closets are smaller and furniture placement is sometimes not the best but the shower was full blast and hot water was plentiful. The place is charming and internet connection great.

A bonus is that this Marriott will actually upgrade your room if you are a Rewards member and if a nicer room is available. I highly recommend this Marriott over any others in the area for the service, the amenties, the quiet and the location. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Collins Avenue or get the front suite. The bedroom is away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.