We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mohawk Bar Manager-beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free welcome bubble wine!
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mohawk Bar Manager-beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I do not trust this shady guy to make me a drink. Would rather wait for other great bartenders, Fabian was the best. Mohawk was Cold--in a rush to go-- and made me want to leave the bar. said "do you want anything else, before you CLOSE OUT?" and handed everyone their checks. Really unwelcoming. Made up drink charges that weren't on the menu--13.75 for a glass of basic wine? Worst bartender in Miami.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The room was not ready when we arrived. The "cook " does not know how to fix a couple of fried eggs. Someone at the front desk stole a package that arrived to our attention. At night the place was noisy . Nobody gave me an explanation when I asked for the lost package and I am still waiting for an answer.......

Even tough we payed extra money for a larger bed the suite looked and felt like a tiny hotel room. I would not stayed at this hotel never again, even if they invite me .

I almost forgot, you also have to pay an extra 20 dollars a day for a parking place for your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is great, one block from beach, right on Collins Ave for shopping, many restaurants nearby within walking distance. The room on the other hand, was tiny. Small closet with built in drawers was nice. No room to even walk around the bed. Anyone bigger than a child would have problems sitting at the desk, because the bed was in the way. There was a small "wading" pool, 3 ft deep. Our phone was blinking (no message) and our clock was set to the incorrect time. We asked repeatedly for assistance, none came. The clock must be set with an iphone, we did not have one. Our air conditioning clanked as long as it ran. The room was clean! All in all, the staff was friendly. Jorge, at the bar, was excellent, not only providing great service but restaurant advice also. The restaurant at the hotel was limited and a bit pricey. Have not stayed anywhere else on Sobe, so cannot compare. Several members of our business trip were unhappy, and they have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here last week for Art Basel. It was terrible! The hotel was recently "renovated". We were in the South building which was supposed to be "nicer and quieter". Instead the whole building smelled like mildew and the hallway carpet was dirty and old. Our room had shoddy construction, cheap new furniture, a broken phone and an air conditioner so loud that you had to shout over it. We asked to be moved to the other building which didn't smell like mildew. We were told to talk to the manager, Ernesto. During our 4 day stay, we left him three messages and two notes but never saw or heard from him. Miami was sold out so we were stuck there.

The rest of the staff is as nice as they can be -- even though they get no support from management. The poor bartender was stuck on the first night of Art Basel with a bar that was out of almost everything. And it wasn't because they sold out. It was because management didn't restock the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Cahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is now a Marriott Autograph Hotel for the last 4 - 5 months. The location is terrific as it is near to the South Collins trendy shopping area, one block to Ocean Drive, and just a few blocks to Espanola Way. There are a few kinks to work out such as no refrigerators or coffee makers in the rooms (coming soon, something to do with wiring) and service at breakfast was not very good (and really $45 for two people?), and staff forgot to tell us about the complimentary continental breakfastl But, the rooms were very quiet and the staff were pleasant and very accomodating.

Jorge in the bar/restaurant was always on the ball and looking to make sure guests had everyting they needed and Elsie at the front desk was extremely helpful.

This is an older building and the rooms are not always perfect. Closets are smaller and furniture placement is sometimes not the best but the shower was full blast and hot water was plentiful. The place is charming and internet connection great.

A bonus is that this Marriott will actually upgrade your room if you are a Rewards member and if a nicer room is available. I highly recommend this Marriott over any others in the area for the service, the amenties, the quiet and the location. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Collins Avenue or get the front suite. The bedroom is away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneliese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you want to feel like you brought your friends with you on vacation, this is the place to go. Every staff encounter we had was superb, from check in to our fav, Fabian at the bar.
Simple, nicer than the other places we've stayed at in sobe. Offers just what you need, although a fridge in room would have been nice. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012sobelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends last January and had a blast. Given it was only 2 nights, it was Miami and it was warm. They were going through a renovation, but you could hardly tell. You can't beat the location, it's one block behind the Miami strip. You can walk to shopping, great restaurants, and the beach. The front desk recommended this AMAZING Cuban restaurant (just a few blocks down on the right). I wish I could remember it now, but ask the front desk and I'm sure they will know. It is worth the trip. The room itself was fantastic, very clean, chic, and everything operated as expected. There was a frosted window in the bathroom which is nice, since you don't see that too often in hotels these days. Breakfast was plentiful and filling, nice bar atmosphere at night to get the engine started, and staff felt like friends and family. Highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to visit it again so I can experience their finished renovation.

Room Tip: Front and center if you can, good people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missj727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Hotel
#25 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#63 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Dream South Beach
#65 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing