We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #58 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here last week for Art Basel. It was terrible! The hotel was recently "renovated". We were in the South building which was supposed to be "nicer and quieter". Instead the whole building smelled like mildew and the hallway carpet was dirty and old. Our room had shoddy construction, cheap new furniture, a broken phone and an air conditioner so loud that you had to shout over it. We asked to be moved to the other building which didn't smell like mildew. We were told to talk to the manager, Ernesto. During our 4 day stay, we left him three messages and two notes but never saw or heard from him. Miami was sold out so we were stuck there.

The rest of the staff is as nice as they can be -- even though they get no support from management. The poor bartender was stuck on the first night of Art Basel with a bar that was out of almost everything. And it wasn't because they sold out. It was because management didn't restock the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    383
    113
    66
    44
See reviews for
72
389
58
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is now a Marriott Autograph Hotel for the last 4 - 5 months. The location is terrific as it is near to the South Collins trendy shopping area, one block to Ocean Drive, and just a few blocks to Espanola Way. There are a few kinks to work out such as no refrigerators or coffee makers in the rooms (coming soon, something to do with wiring) and service at breakfast was not very good (and really $45 for two people?), and staff forgot to tell us about the complimentary continental breakfastl But, the rooms were very quiet and the staff were pleasant and very accomodating.

Jorge in the bar/restaurant was always on the ball and looking to make sure guests had everyting they needed and Elsie at the front desk was extremely helpful.

This is an older building and the rooms are not always perfect. Closets are smaller and furniture placement is sometimes not the best but the shower was full blast and hot water was plentiful. The place is charming and internet connection great.

A bonus is that this Marriott will actually upgrade your room if you are a Rewards member and if a nicer room is available. I highly recommend this Marriott over any others in the area for the service, the amenties, the quiet and the location. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Collins Avenue or get the front suite. The bedroom is away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

If you want to feel like you brought your friends with you on vacation, this is the place to go. Every staff encounter we had was superb, from check in to our fav, Fabian at the bar.
Simple, nicer than the other places we've stayed at in sobe. Offers just what you need, although a fridge in room would have been nice. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends last January and had a blast. Given it was only 2 nights, it was Miami and it was warm. They were going through a renovation, but you could hardly tell. You can't beat the location, it's one block behind the Miami strip. You can walk to shopping, great restaurants, and the beach. The front desk recommended this AMAZING Cuban restaurant (just a few blocks down on the right). I wish I could remember it now, but ask the front desk and I'm sure they will know. It is worth the trip. The room itself was fantastic, very clean, chic, and everything operated as expected. There was a frosted window in the bathroom which is nice, since you don't see that too often in hotels these days. Breakfast was plentiful and filling, nice bar atmosphere at night to get the engine started, and staff felt like friends and family. Highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to visit it again so I can experience their finished renovation.

Room Tip: Front and center if you can, good people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is all about the details - the soothing music upon entering the room, the amazing bath products, the wonderful shower, the sleek fan turning above the room, the tasteful decorations, the staff that go the extra mile. I highly recommend this hotel. It is a hidden gem. It is old, but it is kept up to well that it feels brand new. It is close to a number of restaurants and bars and a block from the beach. Not fitness center, but the hotel offers a discounted rate at a nearby gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I travelled to Miami Beach for a "guys trip" to watch some football, check out some nightlife, and get some sun & sea. I was able to get a great deal on this hotel through a thrid-party. All-in-all i came away impressed and would likely stay again at the price I paid, however there were a few things that could have been improved.

First the good:

-Hotel looked very modern and recently renovated. It was welcoming, chic and had a nice "upscale South Beach" feel.

-Room cleanliness was excellent, and maid service was reliable and thorough.

-Almost all of our interactions with the staff were very positive. They were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to say good morning, get doors for us and they responed quickly to any questions or requests.

-The location is perfect. 1 block from Ocean Drive (main tourist strip) as well as the beach, also close to plenty of resturants, shopping and other amenities. It is right in the heart of the art deco district and other than a few of the huge chains which are right on the ocean, the location can't be beat.

-Free calling in North America. I have never been to a hotel that offers this!

Here are a few of the complaints I had. Some are just a limitation of the property, others could be easily corrected.

-Rooms are small, as it is an older building. With 4 adults in a room it's very tight and there isn't much space to put luggage.

-No fridge in room, and no guest-access to an ice machine. Ice must be requested from front desk and brought to the room. Some may find this a convenience, but I would prefer to get my own ice when needed, then to call front desk several times a day, and feel like you should tip each time. In fairness the ice delivery was usually very prompt.

-There is no on-site parking lot, so if you have a car you either have to valet it for $27 per day, where they park it off-site and need 30min of notice to get it back to you, or park it on the street with metered parking (a bit of a risk for a rental car).

-Upon checkout I had a $16 hotel bar charge on my room. When I told the front desk that it was not from us (we never went to the bar at all), I got the vibe that they had to open an investigation which included talking to the bartender and have a 2nd employee confirm their room-charge procedure when we suggested it could have been a simple human error... they could have just said "Oh our mistake, I'm sorry, i will remove the charge" ... they never said they didn't believe me, no accusations were made, and the charge was eventually removed, but I just felt that the process could have been handled a little smoother and less awkwardly.

This is a quality, chic, hotel with a great staff and a prime location but also with a few flaws. At their full price I may check out some other options, but at a discounted rate this place will not disappoint.

Room Tip: If you are booking through a thrid party like priceline and need a 2nd bed, make sure you call the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got this hotel on Priceline for a great deal, so really can't complain since it wasn't easy to get one during the Thanksgiving weekend! This hotel is in an awesome location, walking distance to all South Beach has to offer. The pool is tiny but the water was very warm so that's a plus.

The biggest downside is the valet. They take your car like 6 blocks away and require at least 30 minutes to retrieve...we waited 45 minutes before our car showed up, it would have been better to just take a cab. The rooms are also very tiny, think NYC style with paper thin walls. We could hear everything in the rooms next to us and the staff outside our door at all hours of the day/night. They do have free wi-fi, which is unheard of these days!

If you're just looking for a place to sleep in an awesome location, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. But if you're looking to actually spend some time in the room/hotel, I'd look elsewhere as there are 100s of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.