We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with all the amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Pay Less!
Ranked #60 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming with all the amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Blue Moon last minute and was very pleased with the outcome. Service was great and the hotel very charming! Rooms were updated, stylish and clean. Be aware that because this hotel is boutique and in a historic art deco building, the rooms are not huge. However, I found the room to be adequately sized for my needs and appreciate the architecture. Also be aware there is no pool other than a small wading pool. But the ocean is a short walk away! The location was excellent, smack in the middle of South Beach. We had a car but didn't need to drive it as everything was in walking distance. The bar also made a mean cocktail! I'd definitely go back here. I would recommend for couples, friends but not necessarily for families depending on what you're looking for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    444
    124
    74
    47
See reviews for
93
442
62
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in April for my fiancé's birthday. It was one of (if not the) cleanest hotels in the area that we've stayed. The room has a cool white and blue decor with stone tile bathroom and a walk in shower. The room itself was on the small side (size wise) but it fit with the trendy city atmosphere of the area in which we were. The large window in our room was nice and brought in plenty of natural light, making things bright and lively (use the shutter blinds if that's not your thing).

Their continental breakfast for $10 was well worth it (there was a great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, juices, and make-your-own waffles)

The staff was professional, courteous, accommodating, and very knowledgeable of the area.

Overall, a great value for the price we paid. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a multi-decade Marriott Platinum member I cannot recommend this hotel. Obviously I like the Marriott brand very much , but this missed the mark for me. In this case botique just means old. Now I expected it to be older, but didn't get any of the charm. The hallways and room are dated and whitewashed. They have not done anything to soften the room. The entire room is whitewashed with no feeling of warmth by adding woodwork or natural stone. It felt like a YMCA or hospital room. The room is small and square. The TV is very small and the sound didnt work on some channels, but the maintenance team did fix it. They said it was due to not having full sound capability on all channels. When I tried to call down for assistance it kept giving me a busy signal. In summary its not a horrible place, and I didn't really have any problems with the staff or service, but things just felt old and worn. If you are accustomed to a standard level of Marriott features and facilities , this might not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, close to the hype shopping district, public parking, restaurants and clubs. I would recommend it for that alone. But it is also an old buiding with a lot of character that is very well maintained. Don't be scared by one of the oldest elevators I have rode in a long time, it was actually fun. The roms are spaciuos with a good layout, modern decoration, staff is very friendly and they strive to provide a pleasant stay. We were at a room that has a detached living area (with a sofa-bed) which makes it convenient if you have kids or needs some privacy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location and 2 mins from south beach. We were in room 136 and no view but quiet and bed was very comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast was included and service was excellent.
We have stayed in larger group hotels in Miami and for couples this is ideal as no car needed and all amenities on doorstep. Trips can be booked from reception and recommend a trip to Sawgrass Mills designer outlet for 30 Dollars per person return and pick-up from hotel. Alfredo the concierge was very helpful as was the reception with information. There was great ambiance in this area and food in hotel was reasonably priced in comparison to area.
We will book this hotel again when in Miami and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friends and I visited during the the transition of new management from Blue Moon Hotel to Marriott Autograph Collection. With this new crossover, was the new opening of the restaurant. Naturally with any transition, there were hiccups initially. But after a few discussions and clarification, management went above and beyond to accommodate me and my group of friends. The restaurant is hands down, amazing. I don't think I've ever wanted to eat within a hotel's restaurant by choice until this one. The executive chef made sure everything was perfect to our liking. The location is a great, prime location without a ton of noise, as if on Ocean Drive. It's central to the beach, eateries and shops from 5th street to Lincoln Ave. Now the big money question...would I stay here again? Oh so happily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Blue Moon for a week in September 2012 while in town for a conference. I was so glad that I'd canceled my reservation at the (more expensive) conference hotel and opted for the Blue Moon. The location was right in the middle of the South beach action and shopping. The hotel had FREE wi-fi for guests. I was pleasantly surprised when the included continental breakfast was served at a table, by the waitstaff - no buffet and make-your-own waffles. Overall - this was a good fit for my needs, and I had a great time in Miami.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.