We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #56 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can't recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a multi-decade Marriott Platinum member I cannot recommend this hotel. Obviously I like the Marriott brand very much , but this missed the mark for me. In this case botique just means old. Now I expected it to be older, but didn't get any of the charm. The hallways and room are dated and whitewashed. They have not done anything to soften the room. The entire room is whitewashed with no feeling of warmth by adding woodwork or natural stone. It felt like a YMCA or hospital room. The room is small and square. The TV is very small and the sound didnt work on some channels, but the maintenance team did fix it. They said it was due to not having full sound capability on all channels. When I tried to call down for assistance it kept giving me a busy signal. In summary its not a horrible place, and I didn't really have any problems with the staff or service, but things just felt old and worn. If you are accustomed to a standard level of Marriott features and facilities , this might not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    394
    114
    67
    44
See reviews for
80
394
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, close to the hype shopping district, public parking, restaurants and clubs. I would recommend it for that alone. But it is also an old buiding with a lot of character that is very well maintained. Don't be scared by one of the oldest elevators I have rode in a long time, it was actually fun. The roms are spaciuos with a good layout, modern decoration, staff is very friendly and they strive to provide a pleasant stay. We were at a room that has a detached living area (with a sofa-bed) which makes it convenient if you have kids or needs some privacy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location and 2 mins from south beach. We were in room 136 and no view but quiet and bed was very comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast was included and service was excellent.
We have stayed in larger group hotels in Miami and for couples this is ideal as no car needed and all amenities on doorstep. Trips can be booked from reception and recommend a trip to Sawgrass Mills designer outlet for 30 Dollars per person return and pick-up from hotel. Alfredo the concierge was very helpful as was the reception with information. There was great ambiance in this area and food in hotel was reasonably priced in comparison to area.
We will book this hotel again when in Miami and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friends and I visited during the the transition of new management from Blue Moon Hotel to Marriott Autograph Collection. With this new crossover, was the new opening of the restaurant. Naturally with any transition, there were hiccups initially. But after a few discussions and clarification, management went above and beyond to accommodate me and my group of friends. The restaurant is hands down, amazing. I don't think I've ever wanted to eat within a hotel's restaurant by choice until this one. The executive chef made sure everything was perfect to our liking. The location is a great, prime location without a ton of noise, as if on Ocean Drive. It's central to the beach, eateries and shops from 5th street to Lincoln Ave. Now the big money question...would I stay here again? Oh so happily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Blue Moon for a week in September 2012 while in town for a conference. I was so glad that I'd canceled my reservation at the (more expensive) conference hotel and opted for the Blue Moon. The location was right in the middle of the South beach action and shopping. The hotel had FREE wi-fi for guests. I was pleasantly surprised when the included continental breakfast was served at a table, by the waitstaff - no buffet and make-your-own waffles. Overall - this was a good fit for my needs, and I had a great time in Miami.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Blue Moon just went through an extensive remodel and became a part of Marriott's Autograph Collection. To me, that sounded like a good thing, so I gave it a try. The problem was, the new construction was poorly done. For example, the gap under the door from the hall was way to big, the shelf in the bathroom was loose, the marble window sill was not properly cut to size, and the manufacturer's label's were still on the windows.
All of that is disappointing, but I could live with it. Losing sleep, however, is more of an issue to me. I was assigned a room at the end of the corridor, but unfortunately anyone talking could be heard through the nearly one inch opening under the door. Also, the maid's cart was left directly outside my room for my entire stay. That was unsightly, but more importantly, it seemed that there was a lack in overall quality control.
I did like the design of the rooms and the restaurant was reasonably priced and creative.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Hotel had been recently done up on our arrival. It is in a great location, a block from Ocean Drive/ the beach. Staff were all so friendly and extremely helpful. Staff at reception advised what we could see and do in the immediate location, doorman/bellboy also told us some of the things on offer while he took our bags to the room. Had breakfast and dinner in FIX and would highly recommend trying it, the staff were only too happy to talk through the menu and make recommendations. The freshly made cocktails at the bar were delicious, the barmen again were happy to make many suggestions about what they could make for you. The room we were in was small but was comfortable, there was a dressing table and flat screen so we couldn't complain. We did not use the pool but it is very small. Bus stop is very convenient for Aventura Mall. Would definitely recommend if you are after a boutique hotel in a quiet location of Miami Beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.