We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but don't plan on a good night's sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #56 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location but don't plan on a good night's sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Blue Moon just went through an extensive remodel and became a part of Marriott's Autograph Collection. To me, that sounded like a good thing, so I gave it a try. The problem was, the new construction was poorly done. For example, the gap under the door from the hall was way to big, the shelf in the bathroom was loose, the marble window sill was not properly cut to size, and the manufacturer's label's were still on the windows.
All of that is disappointing, but I could live with it. Losing sleep, however, is more of an issue to me. I was assigned a room at the end of the corridor, but unfortunately anyone talking could be heard through the nearly one inch opening under the door. Also, the maid's cart was left directly outside my room for my entire stay. That was unsightly, but more importantly, it seemed that there was a lack in overall quality control.
I did like the design of the rooms and the restaurant was reasonably priced and creative.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    396
    114
    67
    44
See reviews for
80
396
58
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Hotel had been recently done up on our arrival. It is in a great location, a block from Ocean Drive/ the beach. Staff were all so friendly and extremely helpful. Staff at reception advised what we could see and do in the immediate location, doorman/bellboy also told us some of the things on offer while he took our bags to the room. Had breakfast and dinner in FIX and would highly recommend trying it, the staff were only too happy to talk through the menu and make recommendations. The freshly made cocktails at the bar were delicious, the barmen again were happy to make many suggestions about what they could make for you. The room we were in was small but was comfortable, there was a dressing table and flat screen so we couldn't complain. We did not use the pool but it is very small. Bus stop is very convenient for Aventura Mall. Would definitely recommend if you are after a boutique hotel in a quiet location of Miami Beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Like most of the other reviews here, my experience ate the Blue Moon was great. I had no problems with noise in the room although the potential was there. We had a second floor room overlooking the pool. Had there but a large group of noisy people using the pool at night it would have been heard but we did not have that problem. The room was spotless and everything was in perfect condition.

The room was small and had little storage space but that is typical of all 'historic' hotels. I am much happier that they kept the Art Deco style and didn't end up removing walls to enlarge the rooms. The new decor is very much in keeping with the Art Deco spirit and very well done.

The front desk, wait staff, and bellman were all very friendly and accomodating.

I did see reviews about the additional cost of parking and lack of a fitness center. All I can say to that was both are true of virtiually every hotel in South Beach. If you are interested in those things, go to one of the big chain hotels not the boutique style hotel. The cost of valet parking is listed on the hotel web site so should not be a surprise. If you want to park your cark yourself, there is a city parking garage 2 blocks away. You can save $7/day over the cost of the valet parking.

The bar is comfortable and the drink prices are 30% cheaper than on Ocean Drive. They also have an espresso macine for those of us that enjoy real coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was here on business at the end of September, and it was a very nice experience. The location is very good, a block from Ocean Drive, so if you want all that crazines, it's very close to the center of the action, but much, much quieter. On the downside of the quieter, the bar tended to close early, like right at midnight. So, if you wanted a quieter drink, you had to go somewhere else. Lots of options close by though. This is convenient to the Miami Beach Convention Center and all of South Beach.

The room was also good. A little small, but not anything that made you feel cramped. The renovation in the room was good. The very small, old fashioned elevator, was something of an adventure. But hey, at least they have one. You don't need the pool, since the beach is a block away. Plus, the pool is about the size of 3 bathtubs, with no air ventilation. So it's really really hot! You're likely to be the only one there as it isn't much of a hangout kind of place.

No fitness center is the only other major facility drawback. If I was that motivated I could have asked if they had any affiliation.

Front desk service was excellent at all hours. Got me a taxi to the airport very early on a Sunday morning. Were very helpful with a late check in after an awful flight.

Overall, a good value, good facility, boutique flavor. I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This property was built in the late 1930s and has been recently updated. Everything is new. The rooms, although on the small side and no balconies, are very comfortable. The staff is very helpful and the location is also very nice, one block from the beach. If you are looking for a quiet hotel with the charm of an Art Deco building but with brand new interiors, I think you will like this. It is affiliated with Marriott so you can earn Marriott Rewards when staying here.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Collins Ave and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was really impressed by this place, because I didn't know anything about it other than some reviews on tripadviser. It's really chic up-to-date Miami design, in gorgeous art deco building. The location is fantastic if you're wanting to be near the action, and the beach. Yet, it wasn't noisy.

I didn't dine or have breakfast, but the bar and dining / breakfast areas looked really really cute. I wished I could stay longer.

Great experience. And friendly local staff. Nice surprise ... I will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I travel to Miami frequently for business. When I have to choose a SOBE hotel, it's a nightmare. There are so many properties, and most are old, dingy and spartan inside. This trip, I checked into the President, stayed in my room for 1 hour, then checked out - it was pretty bad. I pulled up the Marriott website and noticed the Blue Moon, which I had not seen before. I booked it hoping for the best. I absolutely love this hotel. I will stay here everytime I go to SOBE. Yes, the building is old, but everything has been redone. It's modern and clean inside and the staff is super friendly. The rooms are small, but they are well appointed - drawers, lots of plugs. Everything is new, clean and very comfortable. I never felt cramped. The hotel restaurant and bar Fix has really amazing breakfast menu. It's also very modern, clean decor and a very accomodating staff. The hotel is in great spot, just a block from Ocean Drive and within walking distance of everything. I didn't spend any time at the pool, but they have a beautiful back patio area as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on Collins Avenue combining two historic hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool or on the sky-lit patio with views over Collins Avenue. Fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.