We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do they get away with it in the US” 2 of 5 stars
Review of International Inn on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Inn on the Bay
Save
You added International Inn on the Bay to your Saves list
2301 Normandy Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4410   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sunny Scunny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“How do they get away with it in the US”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had trouble finding somewhere to stay. Price very expensive for the poor service. Hotel receptionist (Jennifer) was lovely and helpful BUT until now I've never been to a USA hotel who DO NOT provide, shampoo, hair dryer, coffee in the room for the price we paid.Also only provided hand sized towels. Had to stay 2 nights because of lack of hotel rooms elsewhere. The "maid" went in our room and didn't even make up the bed!!!.

Only if you are very very desperate would I recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for poolside but LOOK FIRST
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    9
    8
    18
See reviews for
9
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one nite because of the price and could not find another hotel that as available as a cruise ship sailing the next day assured 100% occupancy from Miami to Fort Lauderdale.

Everyone has said what needs to be said - and more. This skanky place reeks. At some point, it could have been a real gem due to the architecture and location of the hotel with the pool right by the bay. Of which, the pool was inhabited only by dozens of pigeons - so you never ever want to get in the water.

Not sure how safe or dangerous the surrounding area is. I went for a walk to a nearby store and had no issues.

Probably better to stay away - unless you just have to.

Even then, pull a Dexter and make sure you have plenty of plastic sheeting in the room.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that we did not have a lot of choices when we stayed here. It was Christmas Day and we were in Miami Beach. Being that we were in Miami Beach and @ $79, it was the cheapest we can get. All we want is a place to rest. The neighborhood was a bit sketchy as we saw people/guests who seemed to look like on pills. The room really was so outdated, with rust all over the bathroom. Again, for the price that we paid and given that it's Miami Beach, it's okay.


However, the girl in the front desk was always polite. They don't have free breakfast but they have coffee which is in the lobby. The lobby is also worth mentioning. It looks nice and you can also just hang out on their sofa. But if you keep walking towards their pool, they a "storage room" that you can see all the crap. They could have covered it with curtains so you can't see what is inside.

Try to ignore the ugly storage room and keep walking and head towards the pool, the view is spectacular.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a coupon from Florida's hotel travel guide coupons for a room for $51.99 for $10 more you can get a bay view, beautiful, plus tax was $70.00! Super value with an incredible view! I did see a little water bug, but I killed it and didn't see another! Water pressure and the temperature kept changing as people were flushing and spreading, but nothing horrible. They offer fishing from their dock, boat rentals and more! The lady that checked me in was super nice and accommodating, the man in the morning was a jerk and lazy! They supposedly offer tea and coffee 24/7, but there was no coffee when I went to the office.. checked out a little unhappy.... the guy said he hasn't had time to make any, but when we were checking out, he was sitting watching tv.... told me he was busy and hang had time.... sure, whatever guy. Aside from him... stay was great, value excellent, service could have been a little better, overall.. great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Please for the love of god PLEASE stay away from this dump! we called in advance, mind you never seen the place, and lady over the phone saied she couldnt take the travel saver coupon of $65 so it would be $80. Ok fine we will be there in 20 min, why they have the coupons i dont know travel saver should yank them out of there books but thats another story. Anyways when we get there there is a man behind a bullet proof glass telling us, as rude as he can be, that it will be $106 dollars so i told him we just called 20 min ago and was told it would be $80 and his responce was that was 20 min ago we should have gotten here faster! WHAT!!!!! GRRRRRRR! So it was late and we were tired so we forked out the money, bad mistake! He gives us a room and when we open the door it seemed like miami vice, the ols 80's tv show, had thrown up in there. It was very out dated and nasty! There were cigarette burns on almost everything, rust, dirt, dust, bugs, and the bathroom looked like a handicape's flee market! so i tried to turn on the ac and it did not work and staying on miami beach and no air conditioner is a very bad idea it gets very muggy and nasty so we go up to the front desk and talk to this nasty man who ends up giving us another room and finally......Yeah right it was just as bad as the last! I would have taken pictures but i coul not bear to stand in such filth any longer. Please people please stay away from this place. you can find gas station bathrooms cleaner then this motel.

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in February of 2012 and loved our stay, however we were very disappointed this time. Although the room was clean and location is excellent I can't recommend this place any longer.
The service was terrible. Employee at the front desk was incredibly rude. We were not allowed to use our coupon. Upon check out we took our luggage to the car. My husband was going to go back and double check the room. He was told if he didn't turn key in at that time we would be charged for another night. My husband turned in the key because replacing anything left behind was much cheaper.
I will never stay here again and since we are relocateing to the area will make sure no family or friends visiting do not stay here either! Do yourself a favor and keep driving. Don't even stop here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This motel is the cheapest in the area, so you can hardly be shocked that it isn't the nicest. The bed, furniture, linens etc are in desperate need of replacement but they're no better, no worse than the cheaper Interstate motels. If you're looking for luxury, don't go, but if you're on a budget and don't mind a few rough edges it's not so bad. The pool is nice, parking is free, the view is nice if you're on the bay side and it's relatively quiet. It's a short drive to South Beach and it's only $60. You get what you pay for and for that price it's a deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Inn on the Bay

Address: 2301 Normandy Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4410
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
International Inn On The Bay Hotel Miami Beach
International Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Inn on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.