We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Nicer Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #19 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Nicer Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our experience with the South Beach Marriott was an excellent one. We planned a small (11 people) wedding and the hotel was more than accommodating. Every single person who we encountered was pleasant and professional. When an issue arose with a lost bag the management was quick to acknowledge the problem and took suitable action in making things right. As for the property, it's nothing to write home about. The views are nice but the building does show some signs of wear and age. There is apparently an older basement wing of rooms that are not very nice, but we did not see them. It is kept very clean. Of the hotels in south beach it IS BY FAR the nicest. Drinks are expensive, but so is everything in south beach. Deco Blue was better than we expected.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    402
    115
    61
    34
See reviews for
255
391
38
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The staff was VERY accomodating. After having some problems early we finally managed to settle in. After having seen the corner rooms and the rooms looking straight out onto the ocean, any are nice, but we found the corner rooms a little more to our liking,
Ask for rooms ending in xx35 - xx39 for the best ocean views. 35 & 39 are corner rooms, I think xx39 rooms are 2 double beds, at least the one I looked at was, not sure if they all are. xx35 looks along the beach northbound & xx39 southbound (best views of cruise ships departing every evening or returning early in the am).

This is more a boutique style hotel, on the beach & next door to Nikki Beach. Rooms are on the small side, but come with a regular size bathroom and a balcony. Be sure to keep the sign on the door if you are a late sleeper, otherwise housekeeping WILL come knocking and/or open your door early (this happened to us twice, both times by 9am)

The elevators are slow and few (only 2, it really needs a 3rd) but were in fine working order and didn't appear "worn" or "scary". Just not enough for the size hotel and number of people.

The concierge room was definitely a step down from other Marriott's and is not open on weekends, but when open serve the customary complimentary snacks and soft drinks. Liquor is available, but for an extra charge. One reminder people, they are SNACKS, NOT YOUR DINNER! There are always those that use it to eat their full meals and to fill their room fridge's.

The plus side for the concierge room is the outdoor patios. While they don't look out on the ocean, it is still nice to sit outside as the sun wanes into sunset. There is also a computer/printer available. Again the staff were friendly as ever.

Again, the entire hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating and went out of their way to really help us out. It's also the bartender's job to card you. Don't be offended, just comply. The police are known to occasionally stake out bars and take away bartenders in handcuffs on the spot for not carding and serving underage drinkers.

The beach is beautiful and the pools serviceable with waitress service and televisions. There are also a host of outdoor lounge areas with fire pits (they were out of gas when we were there, but that option seems very nice). There are two large screen tv's overlooking a couple of these lounge areas, great for sunday football, as well as 2 tv's over the outdoor bar and one inside at the bar.

Just down the beach (about 1/4 mi south) is where all the cruise ships leave port and head south to various islands. Arrive around 4pm and watch as many as 5 ships depart.

One last bonus, the front desk has a computer/printer for printing airline tickets!

Overall, I give this hotel a B+

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here to check out the South Beach area. Nice location, if you do not want to be smack dab in the middle of South Beach. So a little quieter. Close to many other restaurants such as Joe's Stone Crab. It had a small workout facility and a small business center. Room was OK but A/C blowing right on my husband which gave him a cold. Concierge could be more educated to happenings in the area. Starbucks attached so easy to get a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The South Beach Marriott is not a typical Marriott Hotel, nor is it a typical South Beach boutique hotel. It is small and intimate, and feels club like. But it also has the amenities that you come to expect from a full-service Marriott--like a concierge club and those very comfortable beds.

There is nothing fancy about the hotel--but the beach is marvelous, the pool area adequate, and the staff friendly. I particularly like Sofia at the pool (who would appreciate it if you would buy one of her pool toys because that's how she makes a little extra money.)

The location is what keeps us coming back (our 7th trip)--South of 5th street--close to everything but away from the noise and craziness of the main strip. Steps away from The Big Pink and fine dining like Devito's.

At the South Beach Marriott, there is no pretension---just come and be yourself.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed here again, I am sure the 12th time. The service and staff just get better and better. Front desk staff are amazing. Seth is a star and so is Eyal. What caring attentive people. We love the location. Just away from the noise of south beach but near enough to walk to the action. Breakfasts are great, never had other meals there as there are so many other places to go. Lots of the rooms have great sea view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hotel and situation in general: like others have mentioned, this is not a typical "ultra luxurious" Marriott, but it is an absolutely lovely place to stay and we would return in a heartbeat. It is slightly away from the chaos of South Beach, but close enough to walk everywhere. If you walk North, you'll hit all the nightclubs, restaurants and shops. If you walk East, you'll walk straight into the ocean. Walking west will lead you to a lovely residential art deco neighborhood which is also home to the diner PINK which is a legend in itself, and to a small shopping center on Alton Road which offers great deals on clothing and has a Publix supermarket. If you walk south, you'll hit the southern tip of Miami Beach which is lovely and breezy, upscale and mellow, and is also home to Smith and Wollensky's which offers good steaks and a nice view of the cruise ships passing by. There is a nicely maintained park right next to the hotel, where dog-walkers congregate and end up at the hotel's Starbucks.
The rooms: just perfect enough for 2. Always clean, nice amenities, good view, sound proof windows, nice and adequate bathroom, could use a bit more closet space (we like to shop). The cleaning team were helpful and friendly. One does notice some wear and tear in the rooms, although this is not obvious at first glance. The interior door frames should be cleaned once in a while, and the balcony could use a good once-over. Otherwise, we felt totally comfortable in the room and I never had the urge to check under the bedcovers for dust, dirt, or bed-bugs. It was clean.
The staff at the deco-blu restaurant, the front desk, the concierge, the pool, the maintenance staff, and the bus-boys were amazingly friendly and helpful and I really have to thank them for making us feel totally welcome and comfortable at the facility. Nothing was ever too much for them.
The pool area, although nice and clean, could use more shade umbrellas and even more space for lounging.
Free wireless internet is not included in the room, and this was a bit of a disappointment.
The food at the DecoBlu was good and moderately priced for a resort like Miami Beach.
A note for the ladies on 3 salons in walking distance from the South Beach Marriott: I had a (regular) manicure at Nails 111 at 111 Alton Road, which was good, but not excellent, rather a bit uncomfortable due to their unusual-style chairs. The pedicure was excellent (but still uncomfortable due to the sitting arrangement). My next manicure was at the E & M salon, at Alton Road and 9th Street, near Whole Foods. I had asked for gel nails which is a common procedure but it took the owner of the salon 3 hours to complete this, which was almost excruciating to sit through.Perhaps a simple manicure is ok to have done there, but I would not recommend it for gel nails (and I only had a "fill" which should not take more than an hour!). Additionally, the end result was so-so. This was a rather negative experience for me. I had my hair done at the SoFi Salon which is on 300 Alton Road. The hairdresser, José, did a fabulous job and the prices are reasonable. This place is very clean and friendly.
All in all, my husband and I would return at any time to the South Beach Marriott. I am sure there are more exclusive resorts in the area at about the same price level. But for a down to earth, friendly, clean getaway in a really nice area, this did it for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We went to Marriott South Beach Oct 1-7 2010. The rooms are very reasonably priced for being directly on the beach. I have never been treated better by hotel staff in my life, everyone working was very friendly and helpful with things to do in the area. I would most definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.