We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oversea visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oversea visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid -September. We were disappointed with our oceanview room as we had a restricted view of the ocean. However when we complained the front desk staff Javier sorted us out and moved us to a better oceanview room. We rented a car to drive down to Key West and Brandon was excellent in giving us directions. We enjoyed our stay in South Beach though found it very expensive. Good hotel and good location.

Room Tip: oceanview on left hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest:
I’d like to thank you for sharing your experience at South Beach Marriott. I apologize you were disappointed with the first room you were given, however, I am glad Javier was able to turn it around for you, I am also very happy to learn Brandon gave you excellent directions, I will share your very nice comments with both of them. In regards to your comment about hotel being expensive, I can assure you, our rates are very competitive with hotels in the area, but what set us apart from other hotels is our caring staff . I hope that you will consider returning to South Beach Marriott to stay in one of our reinvented rooms upon completion of our $9 million redesign; we would love your experienced opinion on the changes we make!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    401
    115
    61
    34
See reviews for
244
385
38
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After experiencing this great staff during a June vacation, I decided to make this my business trip hotel when I'm in Miami. As expected the experience was fantastic!! Erenia Moya and Seth Frank are truly the best in the business!! Their friendliness, competence and expertise are off the charts! Marriott should bottle and/or absorb this staff and figure out how to roll this across their other hotels nationwide. Jennifer Cook and Brandon are also outstanding examples of this incredible staff. The restaurant (Deco Blue) is great, the outside bar has a great staff with a fantastic view of the beach with a good breeze coming off the ocean. You just can't ask for anything more in a hotel.

Room Tip: Oceanview are just as good as Oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that our staff exceeded your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I made my reservation several months in advance of my stay. My wife and I were spending one night in South Beach before hopping on a cruise the next day. I called about a week prior to check on upgrade availability and was assured that it mat be likely but not guaranteed. The other reason I called was to request a newly renovated room. I received a letter prior to my arrival stating that the hotel was going through a significant reservation and not all of the rooms were done. When I checked in, Seth, one of the hotel's concierge's was at the desk. He also happened to be the person I spoke with a week prior. Well, let me tell you, Seth took care of the upgrade and assigning a renovated rooms and we had possibly one of the best rooms on the property. We were on the 11th floor ocean front and also a great city view.
I travel very frequently with Marriott being my top hotel choice and this property overall is fantastic and possibly one of Marriott's premier properties. You have a private beach, two oceanfront pools, oceanfront poolside bar and dining and every other amenity imaginable. The new rooms are modern, fresh, and no detail has been left out. The bathrooms are superb with a waterfall overhead shower head and also a hand held shower head. I will not stay anywhere else on future trips to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms on the north side offer an unrestricted view of the beach and the city. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you liked our new re-designed rooms and that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; should you plan to visit our area again, I hope The South beach Marriott will be your preferred choice for your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Even though the hotel was undergoing renovation, the service at this hotel was superior to any received in years. We were greeted at check in with a ice cold mojito to the wonderful front desk service. Arriving at the pool, friendliest pool attendant ever. Richard took such good care of us from towels laid out on our lounges to wonderful recommendations for dinner. The bar staff was equally as friendly and attentive- thank you Edwardo and Marden. I can't wait to go back. Our stay was on September 1,2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that our staff exceeded your expectations, I will share your very nice comments with our team. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We read the reviews, day by day, prior to our holiday and felt certain we had made the right choice. The hotel was good but not the paragon of excellence some had written about. We found that the staff 'fawned' on you but if you had any real problem they simply smiled whilst you told them about it then didn't seem to have the ability or wherewithal to solve the issue! We saw the great 'Seth' whilst there. He was most offhand and we got the impression that, unless you were an Elite member, he wasn't really interested. The staff we did find to be excellent were the guys who organised your luggage and the kitchen/restaurant staff - with the exception of the male who greeted you when you arrive for breakfast. He treated Restaurant staff with disdain and reverted to the 'fawning without substance' which is the way of most of the staff on Reception. The housekeeping staff were very average. One day they simply did not visit our room although we were out and then had the cheek to telephone us and ask if they could clean the room early evening!! We were picked up for transfer to the airport about 2pm and asked beforehand if we could retain our room for a couple of hours after the 11am checkout deadline. The answer was a blunt "No!" despite the fact that some on Tripadvisor have said they did this. Perhaps they too were Elite Members?

Now for the good points. The breakfasts and the occasional evening meals we had were nothing short of excellent. ALL the kitchen/restaurant staff were marvellous ambassadors for the hotel (with the exception of the male 'host' at breakfastime). The room we were in was pre-renovation. It was very good even though it was showing signs of 'wear'. We had absolutely no complaints about the room or its facilities. The view from the room and the proximity to the beach was first class as was the hotel's position in relation to the 'buzz' of Ocean Drive. Close enough to be there in minutes. Far enough to not be affected by any 'noise'.

We were shown one of the renovated rooms during our stay and they will ensure the hotel is in the 5/6 star range. They were fantastic. We heard the daytime renovations being carried out but, unless you stayed in the hotel all day, the 'noise' should not be a problem. It certainly wasn't to us.

Would we return? Yes we would. The hotel is not perfect and Reception staff attitudes and ability to solve problems requires refreshing (that is why the Review gets a 'Very Good' rather than 'Excellent') but, all-in-all, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get at least 'Ocean View' or, better still, 'Ocean Front'. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
South Beach Marriott aims to exceed your expectations, which is why I am disappointed to hear about the service failures you experienced while staying at our hotel. While I am regretful of your troubles, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the readers on TripAdvisor. We take your review very seriously and will share your comments with our team in an effort to better our services going forward. My sincerest apologies that your time spent at South Beach Marriott was not ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is in the process of rennovations. The room I had was completed. Very nice. Clean. Comfy bed. Nice towels. The noise however of the construction was really terrible. It was impossible to relax during the day. The 1st day we didn't have water for 12 hrs; my room wasn't cleaned every day; the service team wasn't great. A few were good, but not all. We stayed 5 days. Views from the room are ok. Location is gret, right on the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
I’d like to thank for sharing your experience at South Beach Marriott. While I am happy to hear that you liked our new rooms, I would like to express my apologies for the interruption you experienced due to the re-design while staying at our hotel. I can assure you that we will share your feedback with our team to correct the noise level and we will move forward with your review in mind. Above all, we wish for our guests to have the most attentive and superior service possible, and we make it our priority to provide that. Let us know when you head back to South Beach; we'd love to have you experience our completed re-design to see the improvements we've made and show you a hassle free vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The building is currently under renovation but I was there for a week and never heard a sound. I'm looking forward to the new look. The front desk, breakfast and bar staff were very friendly and were always there for assistance. The mojitos at the front desk is a nice touch and Seth (concierge) has always been more than helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.