We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honest Review!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Honest Review!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We read the reviews, day by day, prior to our holiday and felt certain we had made the right choice. The hotel was good but not the paragon of excellence some had written about. We found that the staff 'fawned' on you but if you had any real problem they simply smiled whilst you told them about it then didn't seem to have the ability or wherewithal to solve the issue! We saw the great 'Seth' whilst there. He was most offhand and we got the impression that, unless you were an Elite member, he wasn't really interested. The staff we did find to be excellent were the guys who organised your luggage and the kitchen/restaurant staff - with the exception of the male who greeted you when you arrive for breakfast. He treated Restaurant staff with disdain and reverted to the 'fawning without substance' which is the way of most of the staff on Reception. The housekeeping staff were very average. One day they simply did not visit our room although we were out and then had the cheek to telephone us and ask if they could clean the room early evening!! We were picked up for transfer to the airport about 2pm and asked beforehand if we could retain our room for a couple of hours after the 11am checkout deadline. The answer was a blunt "No!" despite the fact that some on Tripadvisor have said they did this. Perhaps they too were Elite Members?

Now for the good points. The breakfasts and the occasional evening meals we had were nothing short of excellent. ALL the kitchen/restaurant staff were marvellous ambassadors for the hotel (with the exception of the male 'host' at breakfastime). The room we were in was pre-renovation. It was very good even though it was showing signs of 'wear'. We had absolutely no complaints about the room or its facilities. The view from the room and the proximity to the beach was first class as was the hotel's position in relation to the 'buzz' of Ocean Drive. Close enough to be there in minutes. Far enough to not be affected by any 'noise'.

We were shown one of the renovated rooms during our stay and they will ensure the hotel is in the 5/6 star range. They were fantastic. We heard the daytime renovations being carried out but, unless you stayed in the hotel all day, the 'noise' should not be a problem. It certainly wasn't to us.

Would we return? Yes we would. The hotel is not perfect and Reception staff attitudes and ability to solve problems requires refreshing (that is why the Review gets a 'Very Good' rather than 'Excellent') but, all-in-all, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get at least 'Ocean View' or, better still, 'Ocean Front'. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
South Beach Marriott aims to exceed your expectations, which is why I am disappointed to hear about the service failures you experienced while staying at our hotel. While I am regretful of your troubles, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the readers on TripAdvisor. We take your review very seriously and will share your comments with our team in an effort to better our services going forward. My sincerest apologies that your time spent at South Beach Marriott was not ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    371
    112
    58
    34
See reviews for
222
350
34
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is in the process of rennovations. The room I had was completed. Very nice. Clean. Comfy bed. Nice towels. The noise however of the construction was really terrible. It was impossible to relax during the day. The 1st day we didn't have water for 12 hrs; my room wasn't cleaned every day; the service team wasn't great. A few were good, but not all. We stayed 5 days. Views from the room are ok. Location is gret, right on the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
I’d like to thank for sharing your experience at South Beach Marriott. While I am happy to hear that you liked our new rooms, I would like to express my apologies for the interruption you experienced due to the re-design while staying at our hotel. I can assure you that we will share your feedback with our team to correct the noise level and we will move forward with your review in mind. Above all, we wish for our guests to have the most attentive and superior service possible, and we make it our priority to provide that. Let us know when you head back to South Beach; we'd love to have you experience our completed re-design to see the improvements we've made and show you a hassle free vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The building is currently under renovation but I was there for a week and never heard a sound. I'm looking forward to the new look. The front desk, breakfast and bar staff were very friendly and were always there for assistance. The mojitos at the front desk is a nice touch and Seth (concierge) has always been more than helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have friends in SoBe so we like to get a room and enjoy the city.
We went down for the Labor Day Weekend and the Marriott SoBe exceeded our expectations!

The property was built around 2001 and is currently undergoing some updating and renovation work. The building is on a small lot and has very little free or open space. The pool is tight and can get crowded on weekends. The pool and outside restaurant have a panoramic view of the ocean. The design of the pool and restaurant is very nice and they did a decent job with the space available.

It is not a secret that SoBe is known for its lack of commitment to ANY customer satisfaction. As a rule, the service stinks! So we were blown away by the total attention to detail provided by the staff. The team members on the floor would say Hello and ask us questions about our day and made a point to talk to the kids. Nice Touch.
I have to single out, however, the OUTSTANDING job by the pool attendant – Patty. She is a complete Jewel. Towels were provided and folded on your comfortable chair and Patty made sure you had water, towels and she even gave my kids a ball and floating toy. We are already planning another trip to SoBe and Patty will be the reason we choose this Marriott again.
The check in and out was easy and very professional.

I thought the room was better than a typical Marriott Category 8 room. We had a front facing room with a balcony. We did experience some noise during the night but what do you expect, you are in SoBe.

My favorite place for breakfast is two short blocks west called Big Pink. Love it! Huge menu and there is something for everyone. (also excellent for late, late night or easy lunch!)

The hotel is right next door to Nikki Beach Club and is always worth a walk over for an expensive drink and a chance to check out the bikini crowd.

The hotel is close to many high end restaurants such as Joe’s Stone Crab (in season), Smith and Wollensky, Prime 112 Steak House, Prime Italian, and others. If cheesy/touristy is more your style than you will love Ocean Drive. I am a fan of Lincoln Road restaurants. It is great and has many styles and price ranges for your wallet. (not this trip, but recently I went to Yardbird – look for my Trip Advisor review to be posted soon).

Nice Job SoBe Marriott. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that Patty and the rest of our hotel staff exceeded your expectations and that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had a great experience staying here, with very helpful staff (in particular the concierge, Seth.) They had splendid breakfasts in the morning, and a nice aperitif at the front desk to welcome you back in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, especially our staff services and our splendid breakfast. Please let us know when your travels bring you back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location of this hotel and its fantastic staff is unrivaled. After 35 consecutive nights (business trip), I can honestly say that it provided all the comforts of home. Amazing access to the the beach, restaurants and Miami night life. Daily breakfast is literally out of sight--can't miss. Ask for the lead concierge, Seth Frank, for any information/recommendations on local attractions. Seth is outstanding! I'll be back in Miami and can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted you had time away from your meetings to relax poolside, and enjoyed our hotel amenities during your long term stay with us. Thank you for mentioning Seth, he is a great amabssador for our hotel, he has excellent guest services skills. For business or pleasure, should you plan to visit our area again, I hope The South Beach Marriott will be your preferred choice for your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stay at Marriott any chance I get because im a rewards member and honestly i find their beds very comfortable to sleep in (so much so that i purchased their pillows for home), but this happens to be one of my favorite hotels so far. The balcony view is amazing, its on the beach, 2 pools, jacuzzi, bar and best of all the location is nice and quiet while i can simply walk a few blocks to the craziness of ocean drive.

Room Tip: The ocean view balcony room is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at South Beach Marriott! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate South Beach experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you enjoyed are view and our excellent location. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back to experience our newly re-designed rooms in 2014 to get your "before" and "after" opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott South Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott
Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.