We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel on South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel on South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel met our family's needs for a short visit to South Beach before boarding our cruise. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, and we had a nice view of the ocean. The restaurant was just o.k. for dinner -- better for breakfast. Was surprised by the cute little aviary! Easy access to beach and walking path, and quick walk to all the nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    401
    115
    61
    34
See reviews for
245
385
38
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison, nj
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This art deco hotel is small and quiet. However, it has all the amenities and charm you desire. Walk out the back onto the beach and lounge for hours in the sun. Topless if you want and you won't stand out. Everything about the hotel and beach was first class. Close to all shops and restaurants. My favorite restaurant is on the corner, Joe's Stone Crab.

Room Tip: Take a City view room and when you get there they might upgrade you to ocean view. If not you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again on your next trip to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent service. Staff was super nice and friendly and accomodated my every request. They even comped me the wifi charges. Pool and hot tub was great, location was great and breakfast buffet was great as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stay in Miami quite often for business and found this gem about a year ago and have been staying at the Marriott South Beach every time I am in Miami. The staff is great. The manager, Seth Frank is always ready to accomodate. The concierge level has a great view of the beach and the city. I would highly recommend this hotel. With all the boutique hotels around, its nice to know your staying at a Marriott and still get the atmophere of a boutique hotel. Anything you need is just walking distance. - Balz

Room Tip: Beach view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, PA USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently ran the Miami Marathon. The staff helped me prepare all my needs during my stay to be awesome. The race starts in downtown Miami at 6AM and
passes the front of the South Beach Marriott about one half hour later. To my surprise and delight, the staff of the hotel was on the front sidewalk cheering me on. WOW......
The hotel is spotless, the service in all outlets is exceptional.
Thank you for a world class stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island new york
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel while attending a conference in downtown Miami. Very nice stay, affordable and clean room in this remodeled hotel on the beach in a quiet area a short stroll from Ocean Drive South Beach restaurants. Professional and accommodating staff at the front desk, valet and the restaurant. Highly recommended for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Don't wait on line at Starbucks for coffee. Go to the hotel restaurant for quick and friendly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although very handy for the legendary Joe's Stone Crab, and also situated right on the beach, this place is somewhat removed from other key areas of South Beach and thus manages to be just slightly inconvenient for almost anything you're planning to do. (Of course, $10-$15 and 10-15 minutes will get you a cab ride to most places of interest, you just won't be going out much on foot.)

The hotel itself is a little tired-looking, and the attempt at deco interiors to match the locale has clearly been executed on a tight budget, with the result that the effect is cheap and dated. The restaurant, pool area and outside terrace also manage to look cheap and dated, but without even the pretence of deco styling.

For all that, however, the staff are exceptional, being sincerely friendly, helpful and welcoming. They also managed in many cases to recognise me and remember my name when they saw me around the premises, which is extraordinary for a large chain hotel of this sort (if management ever read this, I would particularly commend Javier on reception and Donna in the restaurant). They were possibly enough to merit a recommendation for this place.

That said, I doubt I'll be back. While not an unpleasant place, it is too soulless and corporate-feeling for a vacation (in particular, it lacks any of the peculiar Miami character enjoyed by other hotels a few blocks north), and too remote to be convenient for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and our TripAdvisor readers. The staff at The South Beach Marriott works really hard to create wonderful memories for our guests and we thank you for taking the time to recognize them. We are located in the neighborhood of SoFi ( south of fifth) although it is a few blocks away from the action you are able to get the south beach experience within a few minutes. We are pleased to inform you that the hotel will undergo a complete room renovation this year. This exclusive Jeffrey Beers design will be sleek, stylish with state-of-the-art décor. We are very excited about this renovation. We hope you give us another opportunity after our rooms redo. Warm Sobe wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.