We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, Location Makes up the Difference” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staff, Location Makes up the Difference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days before heading to the Keys for Christmas. As previously reviewed, this is not your usual Marriott. Older building, really needs some updating. Rooms were noisy, could hear people, water running, etc, through the walls. Balconies are small. However, what akes the difference here is the staff, who were beyond friendly and helpful. Never rushed to give directions, advice, etc. and of course, location. Right on the beach, within walking distance of all the sights of South Beach. Also, there is a Starbucks you can access from the hotel. Never tried the restaurant, but the menu did not impress me. Overall, an average hotel, occupying a great location with a wonderful staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel rooms; our hotel will be going into renovations in late 2013, you can't miss the new look of our rooms! The staff at The South Beach Marriott works really hard to create wonderful memories for our guests and we are very happy to learn our staff responded the way we expect, the Marriott Way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    401
    115
    61
    34
See reviews for
244
385
38
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here after spending weeks in brazil and needed to decompress back in USA... I had never been to miami beach before .... Read lots and lots of reviews on all sorts of hotels in the SOBE area and am so so glad I stayed at this Marriott it was great walking to everything plus still had Art Deco flair ... A great plus that pool out back has great view of beach and beach just a quick stroll from pool ( best of both worlds) did not have to cross any busy roads for pool or beach access plus hotel has boutique feel yet the amenities for great group meeting or trip ... I for one am sick of the oversiZed hotels where it takes 30 minutes to get from room thru too large lobby to pool and beach.. This hotel is perfectly thought out.. Only minor issue is the shower head oversized but under pressure... No big deal just a mention ... I am already planning on coming back with my family in january and hope I can for sure get another room reserved

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are very pleased to hear about your vacation experience with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again on January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here prior to cruise departing Miami. The hotel is at the end of South Beach, so was not within easy walking distance of South Beach attractions. Arrived about 1:00 and the room was not ready, so had lunch at the restaurant which has a lovely view of the pool and beach. There is outside and inside seating available. Checked into the room about 3:00 and had a great oceanfront room with balcony. The room was spacious and comfortable. Had dinner at the restaurant since we did not want to taxi down to the main South Beach area. Food was good, however, the menu was somewhat limited. There are chairs/umbrellas available on the beach for a fee. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel, particularly if you don't mind being away from the "action" of South Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have a great view, however, be prepared for "pool noise" during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are very pleased to learn about your vacation experience with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the South Beach Marriott on your next vacation to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wanting a quiet hotel on the beach, we selected this Marriott. Reserved ocean front room as the view looked fabulous on the hotel website. Big disappointment: the balconies on these rooms have a partial wall on each side that give you a very narrow view of the beach/ocean. The rooms on the right side of the building face the wall of the adjacent hotel. The ones on the left get no sun at all but have a better view as they face gardens and the beach. The rooms are very average, not spacious and the bathroom is very small. Only one terry robe per room, even though most people travel as couples. Have to share that one robe!
Front desk people are very nice but not efficient. Requested to change our ocean front room to one with better views but the request went nowhere. Alex at the front desk was eager to assist but either the better located rooms were unavailable or the staff simply did not know which rooms faced east/south.
Clean room and clean hotel. $35 daily parking outrageous. Same parking one street over $20 but the hotel will not tell you when you ask for a cheaper parking . Wi Fi $15 daily. Next you will be charged for the soap and shampoo.
Will I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the parc as all rooms on that side have a view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with our ocean front rooms. Our hotel will be going into renovations in 2013. We really hope you give us a second chance. I would like to mention, we place one bathrobe on our concierge level rooms, however, we are more than happy to send additional bathrobes upon request. Please be aware parking is very limited in South Beach and therefore all hotels in the area, as well as city parking lots charge a parking fee. The parking lot you are referring to, for $20.00, it's for day parking only, since the lot it's closed after 11:00pm. Our hotel does offer a safe place for your vehicle with unlimited in and out access. We offer complementary wireless internet on our lobby level, we also have a business center open 24 hours and free of charge to all of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the South Beach Marriott on your next trip to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days on business and was overall pleased with the hotel. The location is good and the hotel is on the beach which is great. The staff was gracious and the rooms were fairly comfortable. However, you have to valet park at $35 a day (plus tips). The restaurant is average and the breakfast is about $30 for the buffet. My room had a balcony which was nice, but the lock on the sliding door didn't lock. Also, internet in the rooms is not included in the price and costs $14 per day. There is a real Starbucks right next to the property which can be accessed with out having to go outside and you can get a less expensive breakfast there. The pool area is also nice and the area above the pool is comfortable and a good place to enjoy the happy hour.

Room Tip: high floor near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are very pleased to learn about your vacation experience with us. Thank you for pointing out the best assets of our hotel. Please be aware parking is very limited in South Beach and therefore all hotels in the area, as well as city parking lots charge a parking fee. Our hotel does offer a safe place for your vehicle with unlimited in and out access. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the South Beach Marriott on your next vacation to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent hotel. The staff was amazing. Always right there to open a door, answer a question, whatever you need. Location is great. No need for a car as you can walk everywhere. Rooms are nice size and great bar/restaurant on site. Hotel sits right on the beach. Beach attendants set up umbrella, cabana, loungers and get you whatever you need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. We are very pleased to hear about your vacation experience us. Our staff works very hard in being part and help create wonderful memories for our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with great service. I would like to give it a 5 rating but I can't. The shower is horrible. The pressure is very weak and what makes it worse is that it is one of those large round nozzle that spreads the stream out far apart from each other making it almost impossible to rinse off, especially your hair. I'm sure this isn't an issue for some but I like to enjoy my time on vacation and not have to take longer in the shower to get clean. I brought this up with one of the staff and they said they are updating and the showers will be changed. Also, the room service coffee and in room coffee are horrible. We couldn't even drink it. The room service food was good. Between the shower and the coffee, not the best way to start my day. We won't be staying there again. It's a shame because it is a really nice hotel but with $300 a night I expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erenia M, Guest Services Manager at Marriott Stanton South Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and our TripAdvisor readers. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experience with the shower head in your room, I assure you that this does not meet Marriott standards. I have reported the issue to our maintenance department and they have rectified the problem with the water pressure. As far as the complementary in room coffee, I would like to thank you for your suggestion, we will take it into consideration. If you are willing to give us a second chance, please contact me directly, and I'll make sure you have a memorable experience at the South Beach Marriott on your next trip to South Beach. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.