We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stanton South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Stanton South Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Stanton South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was not sure what to expect from this hotel as it was my first time in Miami Beach. I had booked a city view room online at Marriott.com. When I checked in I was asked if I would like an ocean front room. I asked what the difference in price was and the front desk clerk said "No difference, complimentary upgrade" That started our stay off on a nice note. They also were passing out cocktail samples in the lobby. Bonus #2! Our room was very nice. Not especially large but big enough. The best part was the direct ocean view. Beautiful. Every staff member we encountered, save for one grumpy housekeeper, was very pleasant and helpful. Two mirror image outdoor pools with steps down to the beach. Nice patio for relaxing. Starbucks on property for morning coffee. Had poolside lunch that was good. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    429
    124
    61
    35
See reviews for
269
432
41
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and usually travel for pleasure 3 times a year with my family group (5 of us)...We were staying at the Marriott South Beach Post-Cruise for one night and did not realize that a triathalon was being held the next morning. I had a large car hired from a limo company (Transmiami Limos) and pick up was scehduled for 8 a.m. at the hotel. At 7:45 a.m. my driver called to say he had been stopped at Collins Ave. and 5th St. (The Marriott South Beach was about 5-6 blocks away). The driver could not get to us due to the street closure for the triathalon and we had too much luggage to walk the 5-6 blocks with. Al, The manager of the Marriott South Beach got his PERSONAL car and one of the Bellman volunteered his services, and they loaded our luggage in one car and my family in the other and then drove us the 5 1/2 blocks to the closed street and explained to the police our plight and the police understood and helped us get across the street to the waiting limo. The limo backed up and turned around (no small feat) and we made it to a 10:45 a.m. departure. I can't express my gratitude enough to all those mentioned here, but to The Marriott South Beach...You are AMAZING! Thank You. You have done the Marriott chain proud and I will stay with you and other Marriott hotels again because of your Unequalled service to my family! Incidentally all staff were friendly and very helpful, the restaurant food was very good, the location on the beach and proximty to South Beach and Linclon Rd shopping was super convenient, the pools were clean and well maintained and the rooms were clean and comfortable...Thanks again! You have given me a vacation story that I will enjoy sharing for a long time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

stayed at this hotel just last week and found it to be very good, albeit expensive its cheaper than most sea view south beach resorts, the pool area is fantastic along with the fitness centre and buisness area.

Room Tip: request a spacious balcony not a smaller one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had my Bose headphones (valued over $300) stolen right out of my locked room. Obviously stolen from hotel cleaning staff. Marriott management and Claims Center denied any liability because an in-room safe is offered. It was extremely difficult dealing with them. An after-the-fact research on internet shows this is common at Marriott hotels. I will NEVER stay at another Marriott again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very nice hotel. Most if not all rooms have balconies. Short walk to busy areas like 7th St or short cab to areas higher up on the beach. As long as you're okay with not being in the heart of the action its a great hotel with great service. Very well run.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've stayed at this location numerous times for long weekends. Location is great, a walk away from all the nite life one would want in South Beach. Easy access to main highway if you want to drive over into Miami. I can not say enough about the exceptional staff they have. Very polite,cheerful, helpful and always accomadating. Hotel is very clean and i love the boutique ambiance that it has. Pool area is nice and relaxing. I like that is has two pools for people that just want to sit and no splashing. Bar attendents are good by pool and on beach. Beach accomadation are nice, yes if you want to use you need to pay. However, I enjoy the tranquility by the beach. Rooms are nice and clean, we usually have a balcony view to the beach and just breathtaking. Being a Marriott rewards client I usually stay on the Consigner level. The Consigner level has a great breakfast and snacks. The staff there is very nice and always smiling. Love and enjoy the professionalism they have. The Views from the room are outstanding you can sit outside to enjoy breakfast or whatever you may be enjoying throughout the day. Well equip and food and drinks are plentiful. I've stayed at other Marriott's in South Beach (particularly the Eden Roc) and perfer this location over all. Would not think of staying anywhere else if not here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

The service was the best I've ever experienced at a Marriott. Felt like I was at The Four Seasons or Ritz. Spring for an oceanfront room. Great views of South Beach! Rooms are small, but adequate. Nice pool and relaxation areas. Beach service is available (chairs & food/drinks) for a charge. Great sleep, due to the fact that this hotel is located on a quiet end of South Beach, just a 5 to 10 min walk to restaurants, shopping and clubs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stanton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.